Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's hilarious!
This book, like all the others in the series, is hilarious.
Herriot has a wonderful style, easy to read and with great comic timing. Whether you like animals or not is irrelevant; Herriot's descriptions of varied happenings concern not just the treatment of many different beasts, from farm cows to canine house pets but also the developing love affiar with his...
Published on 22 April 2004 by BenO

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good!
i am a big fan of James Herriot but this book was terribly written to include his time in the RAF. The chapter introductions were awful and I couldn't wait to finish the book. I don't recommend it.
Published 13 months ago by soocraig


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for winter, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
Funny, witty, well laid out - good for any level of reader. Really, really enjoyed this read - easy to pick up when time allowed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
I loved these selection of books! Well written and a lovely snapshot of life in the Dales in the 1930s and 1940s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love James Herriot!, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
Laughs throughout. Leaves a feel good factor each page. Brings his experiences to life . Feel you are actually living the experiences with him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 26 Aug 2013
By 
L. Chapman "Elsie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as I had missed out this from the series of books I had already and this filled in the gaps whilst he was away at war. As ever a good read and worth the money, especially as these stories arent necessarily in the DVDs of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All things wise and wonderful, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
A very relaxing read, irrespective of weather you are interested in animals or not. Wonderfully written you can imagine you are actually there with the author.
Recommended to all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining book., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
As always, easy to download. An excellent easy-read book to take on holiday. Amusing book that can be read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Herriot 'All Things Wise and Wonderful' (Kindle), 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
I just love this book, as I do all the James Herriot books; so much so that I bought the complete BBC TV series of All Creatures Great and Small. Such entertaining stories and colourful characters. The books are difficult to put down. James Herriot (real name Alf Wight) was a great story teller and, apparently, they are true. They take the reader back to simpler times, when Yorkshire Dales' farmers had a hard life trying to make a living on small farms with cattle and sheep. The veterinary surgeons also had a hard life, very often going out in all weathers at all hours of the night to treat sick animals. There is also a lot of laugh-out-loud humour in the books. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a lovely book, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. James Pilgrim "Jimbo" (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
We had a hard copy of this but as it was one of our favourites, we wanted it on our Kindle Paperwhite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy reminiscing with James Herriot, 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
Lovely to have these books on Kindle to enjoy again without the pages falling out as they were beginning to do on my paperbacks.
Just as relaxing, amusing and informally informative as they were when they first came out. A delight in store for those who are new to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book but be aware it is an omnibus of, 17 Dec 2010
I was going to buy this but then I realised it was an omnibus of two others books I already had.
All Things Wise and Wonderful (1977) (incorporating Vets Might Fly and Vet in a Spin)
(Thanks wikipedia) -bear this in mind if you are thinking of buying it.

However if you have not bought those books but it is wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Things Wise and Wonderful
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews