Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's hilarious!
This book, like all the others in the series, is hilarious.
Herriot has a wonderful style, easy to read and with great comic timing. Whether you like animals or not is irrelevant; Herriot's descriptions of varied happenings concern not just the treatment of many different beasts, from farm cows to canine house pets but also the developing love affiar with his...
Published on 22 April 2004 by Mr. Ben S. Orr

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good!
i am a big fan of James Herriot but this book was terribly written to include his time in the RAF. The chapter introductions were awful and I couldn't wait to finish the book. I don't recommend it.
Published 9 months ago by soocraig


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's hilarious!, 22 April 2004
By 
Mr. Ben S. Orr "Benjymann" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book, like all the others in the series, is hilarious.
Herriot has a wonderful style, easy to read and with great comic timing. Whether you like animals or not is irrelevant; Herriot's descriptions of varied happenings concern not just the treatment of many different beasts, from farm cows to canine house pets but also the developing love affiar with his wife-to-be Helen. All the events that occur in his life are very enjoyably described and the author has a nice line in self deprecation. I laughed out loud so regularly my wife banned me from reading them at night!
Perhaps Herriot was blessed to carve out a career and a life amongst such a rich range of charachters. From his colourful boss Siegfried to his many vastly different clients, Herriot brings every nuance and wrinkle to life on each page. But his writing also has the capacity to make the readerfeel a different range of emotions as he describes the odd tragic occurrence..
All this combines to evoke vivid images of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Surely even residents of Lancashire will love these books!
The reader really feels as though he or she is amongst the people brought so vividly to life, and the fact that the books describe events from the 40's and 50's is unimportant compared to the enjoyment and pleasure that reading them engenders.
If you've seen the T.V. series and enjoyed them then you will love these books. If you've seen the T.V. series and not enjoyed them you will love these books. If you're thinking "what T.V. series?" then you will love these books. In short, everyone will love these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herriot Hits the Mark Everytime, 26 Jan 2006
By 
James Herriot's almost timeless easy reading style has been a draw for me over and over again, I first read his books at high school ten years previously, I have read them over and over again countless times.

This book is perhaps my favourite, it's pure Herriot and his life, the rough and tumble of life as a country vet has tears of laughter rolling down the readers face one moment, tears of sorrow in the next.

Herriot's earthy no frills real life introduction of Helen, soon to be wife, has the potential to turn the book into a slushy love story however Herriot's introduction is tasteful, soft and doesnt ruin the 'vetty' feel of the book.

As a lancashire lad with yorkshire heritage, my girlfriend adores my reading the book aloud with farmer accents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received promptly, book in as new condition as always the case from this particular supplier. Sorry for my local bookshop but they simply cannot match Amazon for service .Besides I am partially disabled and cannot walk there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
I first read the James Herriot books about 30 years ago before the film was made and before the TV series. I loved them so much I promised myself I'd read them again. They're just as enjoyable and far better than the film and TV series because the stories are so rich in description that you can imagine being there yourself. They give you a very vivid insight into the lives and work of the people who are now long gone, and of course there is always a lot of humour together with the stories tinged with sadness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
I have read it in the past and it is very good but have not had time to read this version yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for winter, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
Funny, witty, well laid out - good for any level of reader. Really, really enjoyed this read - easy to pick up when time allowed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
I loved these selection of books! Well written and a lovely snapshot of life in the Dales in the 1930s and 1940s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love James Herriot!, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
Laughs throughout. Leaves a feel good factor each page. Brings his experiences to life . Feel you are actually living the experiences with him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 26 Aug 2013
By 
L. Chapman "Elsie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as I had missed out this from the series of books I had already and this filled in the gaps whilst he was away at war. As ever a good read and worth the money, especially as these stories arent necessarily in the DVDs of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All things wise and wonderful, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Wise and Wonderful (Kindle Edition)
A very relaxing read, irrespective of weather you are interested in animals or not. Wonderfully written you can imagine you are actually there with the author.
Recommended to all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa92b8654)

This product

All Things Wise and Wonderful
1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews