Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing!!!
This book is a collection of short stories about the life and work of the vet James Herriot. These stories, which lead on from each other, are both about looking after farm animals in cold fields, and dealing with both pet animals and their owners in the surgery and in the owners homes.
All things bright and beautiful will either put you off ever wanting to be a vet...
Published on 22 Aug 2005 by Clare

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TO BE A VET
AS A LOVER OF ANIMALS ON OUR COUNTRY SIDE IS GREAT TO READ A BOOK ABOUT CARING SICK ANIMALS IT IS WELL EASY TO UNDERSTAND.MAKES YOU THING IF ONLY I DID THIS IN STEAD IN THIS OFFICE WORK,ONLY CAN C
KEEP DREAMING HA,HA.
Published 11 months ago by Mr. Kevin W. Hayes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing!!!, 22 Aug 2005
This book is a collection of short stories about the life and work of the vet James Herriot. These stories, which lead on from each other, are both about looking after farm animals in cold fields, and dealing with both pet animals and their owners in the surgery and in the owners homes.
All things bright and beautiful will either put you off ever wanting to be a vet or will make you want to be a vet. It glamourises being up in the middle of the night, standing in freezing cold fields and not being able to save people's pets. When this was first published there was a massive increase in the number of people applying to study at university to be vets.
It is a hugely funny book. You can not help but laugh at every small detail and you have great sympathy for Herriot in his struggles. His wit never fails, even when he recalls being squashed behind a bull.
All Creatures Great and Small is the title the book was published under in America. In England it was called Vet in Harness.
I would recomend this book to everyone even if they think that it is not their thing. I did not think I would like it and was supprised. It was very popular at one time and was made in to a TV series for a reason.
Sequals are available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like a laugh and a cry read James Herriot, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Bright and Beautiful (Kindle Edition)
James Herriot's stories can bring simple joy in an otherwise hectic world, I have lost count of the times I've read these stories but they still make me laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good light hearted read, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Bright and Beautiful (Kindle Edition)
These books are so very readable when you need a rest and some light relief. They always have a feel good factor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous and touching at the same time, 8 Mar 2013
By 
P. S. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Bright and Beautiful (Kindle Edition)
As a nation of animal lovers you cant help to be touched by some of the stories in this book, which take you back to a bygone age of traditional Yorkshire Hill and Dale farming. There are stories too which are just downright funny, and give you a good belly laugh. All in all a good book by a man who clearly loved the work and area in which he found himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. James Pilgrim "Jimbo" (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Bright and Beautiful (Kindle Edition)
We already had a hardcopyof this lovely book,but as it was one of our alltime favpourites, we wanted it on our Kindle paperwhite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His books are the prefect read, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Bright and Beautiful (Kindle Edition)
The descriptions of the Yorkshire landscape down to the stone walls are so good you feel like you are there with him. If you like animals and enjoy the countryside then you will enjoy his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jun 2014
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as before, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Bright and Beautiful (Kindle Edition)
Reliving my younger years with these books. Just as good as before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars james herriott, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good book. In good condition. Really funny.stories. Would recommend it. Bought the rest of the series. As described in advert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Herriot, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Things Bright and Beautiful (Kindle Edition)
have read all his books and have always enjoyed them, sometimes sad and sometimes very funny. Great read , always re-readable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Things Bright and Beautiful
£4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews