Customer Reviews


1,149 Reviews
5 star:
 (987)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


290 of 314 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The short version of the review is that this is a fantastic game - the long version is that it's even better than that
Short version: It's not just Uncharted With Zombies, but it does have great graphics, amazing sound design, wonderful story, brilliantly sedate gameplay that explodes in bursts of fighting, and at least twice during it I was wondering why I need to upgrade to the next generation of console at all.
If you have a PS3, buy it immediately. If you own an Xbox and only...
Published 17 months ago by John Clayton III

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Am I expecting too much?
I bought this on the back of the great reviews and game of the year awards: I'd played the first Uncharted and found it competent but a little tedious, and I hoped that the more serious tone of this game would create a more compelling story.

And at first it did. The enemies come from the story being told, and the setting is brilliantly realised by the graphics...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. P. F. Mellor


‹ Previous | 193 94 95115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really must buy for PS3, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
Sadly due to work commitments (Grrrr) I haven't been able to play a huge amount of this game yet, just the first few chapters. But the characters in Joel, Ellie and Tess are really interesting so far, the game play as you'd expect from Naughty Dog. (By that I mean plays really nicely if you're an Uncharted fan) Graphically impressive considering we're really reaching the end/limits of the PS3 lifecycle. Some jumpy moments, amazing introduction, and a lot to take in as you wonder around...
This looks like it could be a masterpiece in gaming for 2013, now I just need to find the time to play more of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last of us, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
Brilliant game just wish it hadn't of ended! Graphics were amazing. Can't wait until they bring out the sequel :)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool!, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
I like this game but it not what I was expecting. I should have waited till it went down in price. as I thought £39.00 I thought it better be worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed, 9 July 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
The single player version of this game is excellent. It's visually stunning with an absorbing storyline, good characters that you actually care about and some really unpleasant bad ones, both infected and human.

It's also unlike most other `shooters' in that ammo, even on the easiest levels is always in short supply. On the hardest levels finding even a single arrow is a major result.

The single player is for me one of the best games I've played. Unfortunately the game as a whole is let down by a poorly thought out multi-player. Having to slog through a minimum of 168 games to get a trophy smacks of laziness on the part of Naughty Dog. They didn't do this on the Uncharted series so why now?

I can almost forgive them because the single player is so good, but it still loses a star from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 5* Review for this fantastic game! NO SPOILERS, 9 July 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
Could you be the Last of Us?

I doubt anyone will see this review in amongst the swathe of positive feedback being left on Amazon, but alas, I cannot stay silent, this game is fantastic. I would describe it as 30% Survival Horror (Original Resi' style) 30% Uncharted (minus the epic set-pieces such as the Plane and Train sections) 30% resource management (akin to perhaps Resi 4 & 5, crafting new items from recovered resources etc) and 10% Fresh. That is my only criticism, that it borrows from a few other games, but it does it so well, that there is no issue to take with that.

The premise (with NO SPOILERS) is basically one long escort mission, but whoever you are playing as and whoever you are escorting is irrelevant and for once, a joy rather than a chore. The AI on both sides is sharp, with your partner moving to attack the various enemies (both human and non-human) from behind, while your enemy uses intelligent search patterns to close you down.

The campaign is well paced and lasts for a decent amount of time (I won't specify so as not to spoil it, but I certainly wasn't disappointed having paid release date price for it) and offers up some superb voice acting and motion capture performances, not just from the lead characters, but from NPCs as well.

I thoroughly enjoyed the Single Player experience and found it tense in a way I have not found or enjoyed since METAL GEAR SOLID 1 on PS1! That's right, I spent hours at a time creeping around with the same feeling I had all those years ago, really taking me back to when I first started gaming in 3 dimensions.

As for Multi-Player, it is set up as a Faction system, you can only unlock Multi-Player after completing the Single Player campaign (which is a stroke of genius to avoid people who don't know the controls or have a good feel of the game) and the missions are similar to the story, but in Team Deathmatch style. For example, once you choose your side (Hunters or Fireflies are the options, with no major differences in how you play) you are shown your camp of survivors and each time you complete a mission, you recover items and supplies to feed and heal your villagers (which can be made up of people you know by linking Facebook to the game, which is a really neat touch and doesn't intrude onto your Facebook account in any way)

So there you have it. Hopefully someone will find this review useful enough to help them decide to buy this great game. If so, then enjoy it! It may be the last great game of this generation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 9 July 2013
By 
Miss K. L. New (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
very good game you will like it if you liked the uncharted series only part i dont like are the trophies are hard to get
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT EXCELLENT, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
THIS GAME IS FANTASTIC,IT HAS EVERYTHING AND THE GRAPHICS ARE GREAT. IT HAS TO BE THE GAME OF THE YEAR BY FAR....WELL TILL DESTINY ARRIVES ANYWAY. ALL I CAN SAY BUY IT AND YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immense!!!!! 10/10, 1 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
This has to be the best game ive ever played, blows every other game out the window, I bought this and I couldn't stop playing it, seriously that good, you get so into the story you actually feel for the characters, its that good, superb graphics, exellent story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art, 29 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
Im not going to write a long list of reasons to convince you that
this is the best game ever. so i`m just going to say THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the classics, 28 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Last Of Us (PS3) (Video Game)
I think this is one of those games that will be remembered. The game mechanics are fun although the enemy AI is lacking sometimes, but the story and the immersion are what make the game. You will feel attached to the main characters and there are some good emotional points in the story. There is a bit of a noticeable cycle of calm looting building up to a crescendo, which I think comes from the chapter structure of the game, but all of the set pieces are good and all pose a challenge and are a little bit original at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 193 94 95115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Of Us (PS3)
The Last Of Us (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
£23.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews