Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anti-hero turns hero? Turned out good in the end
Despite animosity among fans regarding the protagonist, the game did well to hold true to the original series with challenging and stylish combat. Game does well to represent 'demons' portrayed as bankers, journalists, delegates of Wall St etc as boss fights ensue. Enemies new and fresh with challenging aspects in their behaviour towards you, AI is smart and will try to...
Published 11 months ago by Kyle Moffat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough orbs
Too many flowed story line issues. The character himself is great, full of personality and youth and great combat gameplay....But unfortunately you don't get enough Orbs throughout the game to fully upgrade all your weapons unlike its predecessors which was full of orbs and by the time you got to the final boss you were fully upgraded...You will end the game with the same...
Published 10 months ago by Iqbal


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devil May Cry (narrative) premise done right!, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
Yeah I have no issues throwing sacred cows under the bus. Lets face it, the old Devil May Cry games put as much effort into world building and narrative in general as one does in passing out that McDonalds lunch you had earlier today.

Not only did NT create compelling characters, the story and direction they chose to take the DMC franchise was one that finally made me stop and cringe anytime I wasn't fighting monsters in the previous games.

Character models, animation, art design are absolutely top notch.
Story is enjoyable
Fighting mechanics are a lot of fun, even if simplified and with a lower entry difficulty when compared to previous games.

Nothing bad to say about the PS3 version. Runs as intended and looks sharp and detailed,

Overall package was an absolute surprise for me. And an extremely positive one at that.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
This is my favourite game of 2013. Sure it's not the same as the original Devil May Cry series, but it is worth the time to play this game. It has interesting visuals, dynamic gameplay and a pretty intriguing storyline. A great take on the original series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capcom best step ever!!!, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
I can't stress how great this game is.. I've played all the DMC series (apart from DMC 4 cause I couldn't stand it) and loved every one.. especially the first and third DMCs. Capcom did a great job rebooting this epic game. Its a combination of all the 3 devil may cry games.
The graphics, story and gameplay are mazing.. the levels and music are so atmospheric.. I enjoyed every single minute I spent playing this game that I actually purchased the DLC which was great as well. I wish that capcom do the same thing to Resident Evil and take it back to the survival horror.
This game is so underrated. I would play it again on the PS4 if it got remastered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DmC, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
DmC is a good game on your first playthrough but it gets repetitive really fast. What I liked about the game is that there are lots of really different weapons. What I disliked about the game is that the style system makes the combat really linear as you will need to use lots of different moves and most of those are really weak. Another thing I disliked about the game that there were ugly environments, ugly monsters and ugly graphics. Overall, DmC is a great game on it's first playthrough but it gets repetitive on your second playthrough and eventually getting boring so I would only recommend this to die-hard devil may cry fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always loved the Devil May Cry saga, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
Always loved the Devil May Cry saga, so to see a remake of the game was very impressive. The story line was good, and does leave it open for more drama and kick ass action. Can't wait for the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but not DMC quality, not worth full price buy, 21 Jan. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
So is DmC the amazing game the press is trying to make it to be or the terrible, horrible game the fans are saying? Well its neither. Its a decent hack and slash game that fails to live up to the previous games quality. Design: DmC in game design is pretty much the classic hack and slash formula, follow a path, do some platforming, solve some puzzles, defeat a group of enemies, move on, power up using orbs, face bosses. While the game design is very standard, its the character design and overall look of the game that initially caused a lot of controversy and while some may like the new designs, its hard to argue they don't fit the series. Its not just the new Dante design but also the enemy and scenery designs that seem out of place leaving that Gothic looks of the original that fitted so well with the demonic teams to some random copy and paste ideas from other games and movies. Things seem torn between being western and "new", and trying to resemble a DMC game, and it fails on feeling like either. 7/10 Story: Without a doubt the worst part of the game. Previous DMC games had simple stories that follow a very anime approach to them. Leaving most of the story on the background and focusing more on a strong lead character that stereotyped the cool, confident, strong anime character that does what is right and loves a good challenge. it all worked great to produce amazing looking cutscenes with over the top moments that looked great, were funny and didn't take themselves very serious. The new DmC tries to alternate between serious and imitating the cool moments of the old series but fails miserably in both. Clearly the sense of cool of the witter and his understanding of the anime style of writing is terrible, and the final result were non interesting characters with the worst of all being Dante that comes as a Dick almost all the times with infantile swearing, a prick attitude and some of the worst writing in videogame history. The ending will literally make you trow objects against the screen (don't). 5/10 Gameplay: This might be the best thing about DmC and it should be what matters as DMC as always been about great fun gameplay right? Unfortunately while the gameplay as its fun moments its still a downgrade from what we got on the previous games. After just a few minutes of playing the fresh sensation will start to disappear as you start remembering DMC 4 and the problems start becoming evident. There is no lock on, and sometimes (a lot) you can't hit the enemy you want, suddenly you realize that directional input is not there and because of it Dante was less than half the quantity of combos he could perform on 4. You then see there is no taunt, that there is no style system and that the angelic and demonic weapons are just the strong and weak/range attacks from Heavenly Sword and they just seem pasted with no balance in the game. After a while you also realize the guns are broken and do almost no damage, that its too easy to get SSS ranks, that enemy AI is a joke and the only challenge comes from enemies that can only be hurt from a specific weapon and that the framerate doesn't even stay steady at 30 fps. The initial feel of quality is a delusion from not playing the old titles for a while as after playing DmC playing DMC 4, 3 or even 1 will feel like they were the sequels and the improved versions, with more depth, precision, fluidity, and challenge. 7/10 Graphics: This generation you expect that games look good and its not difficult to make them look good. DmC looks good, it as nicely detailed character models (weather you like them or not), it as nice interesting environments, and it can be appealing to look at. But again its when comparing it to previous entries that it falls apart. Putting footage of DMC 4 side by side with DmC its clear that DMC 4 had much sharper graphics, with more fluidity, more detail, and a bigger scale of things. It is a difference that is well masked from all the filters of DmC limbo world, but when things switch up to the real world footage the illusion falls apart and you see that while looking good it doesn't look great. 8/10 Sound: DmC again misses to understand DMC world and while retaining some metal themes it fails to have that epic gothic orchestra feel the previous games had and DMC had amazing soundtracks. the dubstep is a terrible terrible thing that will at least be saved by the option of turning the music off. 6/10 Lasting appeal: As all Ninja Theory games it is very short, last around 8 hours on the higher difficulty settings. Almost half what would take to finish DMC 3. While there are things you can only unlock through multiple plays the game is just too easy even in the higher difficulty levels making the weak challenge not worth the effort. Also you can't skip cutscenes meaning you have to listen to the terrible story all over again. DmC is a 6/10 or 7/10 (if your not a fan of the originals) game that gets a 3 due to the mistreating, decieving of fans and corruption of press reviews Collapse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
Love this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DMC Devil May Cry, 4 Feb. 2013
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm surprised this has scored such high reviews to be honest. It's not a bad game by any means and I did have some fun playing it but once completed I couldn't really muster up enough enthusiasm to play through it again. Maybe I'm wrong but the graphics seem to be a slight down grade from the previous game and nowhere near the current standard in other games on the market.

I'm a big fan of the previous version of Dante and was not really taken with this new guy although he has his moments in the game. Maybe with another game he will become more likeable. The story was OK but again I had no desire to play through it a second time.

Overall it's not a bad effort but not really what I was hoping for. Definitely worth a rent or buy at lower price but then again many people seem to love this game so perhaps I'm just in a small minority who aren't to struck with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Reboot True to its Orginal, 16 Jan. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
I have been a huge fan of the DMC games since 2001 and DMC1 and DMC3 being my favourite of the 4. When I heard about the reboot unlike many I was actually excited that the protagonist has changed as I believed the story could not progress any further than DMC4. However many complained about the appearance and the way the game appeared and I give full praise to the western developers for actually listening to the old fans and adding and amending for the final release.
I was also aware the original game developers from Capcom were involved which meant the game could not stray from its roots. The Game mostly reminds me of Devil May Cry 3, with its ambience, humour and game play.

I have played well over 10 hours of the game since release and believe I can give detailed review for those who are still sceptical on buying the game.

Story 8/10: I'll try not to spoil anything except which was already told on trailers. The story starts off very different from all the DMC's with a much futuristic era and financial based plot, the plot is very much like Devil May Cry 3 with the returning rebooted characters Mundus and Virgil. However each has a very different role compared to the previous games. Virgil and Dante are still twin brothers, however both an offspring of an Angel and a Demon unlike previously a Human and a Demon which I did prefer. The plot on the other side supports the birth type calling them a Nephilim a cross between an Angel and a Demon a form which can only kill a the demon king, with Mundus controlling the world by keeping everyone in debt, hence only Virgil and Dante are the only two that are able to stop him. By you (Dante) joining your brother's cause to stop the demons, you begin your journey trying to retrace your forgotten memories and bringing vengeance to Mundus.

Game play 9/10: A cross between DMC3 and DMC4; however in this game you are able to switch from one weapon to another and not breaking your combos. I really enjoyed playing the game and inventing random combos, especially on "TRAINING MODE" which I will mention soon.
The movement are quite fluid and chaining each combo gives a very satisfying feeling when you can avoid the enemy from hitting you and ending with a flawless and the returning of style SSS class combos.
Similar to DMC3 the red orbs you obtain per kills and destruction of environment are used to purchase health's and continues. White orbs which obtained from chaining combos and mission completion are automatically given on an upgrade bar; once the upgrade bar hits the end you obtain 1 skill point which is used on a variety of abilities for yourself and all your weapons. This time round you can freely use your skill points by selecting a move and if it doesn't seem beneficial and you noticed another skill you can remove it and re-use on another skill; this can be done in midgame near an altar or at mission selection; this gives a huge freedom to perfect your own play style.

Graphics 7/10: Some parts of the game are just jaw-dropping to see such detail from Limbo to normal, the water, the sky and the characters. However some parts of the game seems unfinished as you notice cars driving by looking like a square box with wheels, however this does not ruin the appearance overall or take you away from the ambience of the game, there are some small frame rate issues with slight pauses in game and sound. But yet again it does not ruin the gaming experience.

Other modes/Replay Ability 9/10: The thing that sets this game apart from the others are the added features which will keep bringing you back even after the game is completed, the fact you can replay any mission anytime once completed to gain more experience or to obtain every secret item in the game keeps u re-doing the missions.
You also have challenges which unlock art work, which are simply amazing to look at. You also have 7 difficulties ranging from Human (Easy) to Hell and Hell (Very Very Very Very Hard) if you consider the mode Nephilim as hard. You also have the "Training Mode" which allows you to use all the combos you have unlocked so you can generate your own chain of combos or to simply practice each move outside of story line. You also have skins and outfits which you can unlock by completing certain challenges and once you unlock a secret mission, just like normal missions you can replay them anytime form the main menu.
Lastly you have the leader boards which remind me of Resident Evil 5, you get ranked amongst the world on your total score which is determined by style points, completion time, collected items, deaths and item used along with the difficulty ranks. This keeps bringing you back trying to get that max score and SSS finishing rank so you can be top of leader boards amongst your friends or the world.

Conclusion 9/10: if I could I would give it 4.5/5 simply for the fact the slight frame rate issue but besides that the game is a refreshing reboot for a DMC fan like myself. I recommend to anyone that enjoyed DMC3 and wanted that feeling of challenge and satisfying combos to buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not better but different, 18 Feb. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DmC (PS3) (Video Game)
Wasn't impressed when the first videos of this game were shown. However I'm very pleased that I went ahead and purchased, combat is fluid and better than the old devil may cry, I'm not all that sold on be story however I'm only at an early stage in the game so far, although I do have faith that it will pick up. If you're on the fence and not sure then definitely buy it you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DmC (PS3)
DmC (PS3) by Capcom (PlayStation 3)
£11.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews