Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read...exciting stuff!
I like to read books by real people about real things. This is exactly what The Bodyguard is. I found the book interesting, relative and great reading. It is good to hear behind the scene scenarios and what is going on to help bring these stories alive. I would say there is a few good chapters that would give great ideas for future movie roles! As for using BBC money for...
Published 7 months ago by Andy

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
There's certainly a story to be told here with so many interesting experiences but unfortunately it's not well written. Sometimes the train of thought is illogical. Slang expressions make the meaning unclear and the persistent use of the "F" word is unnecessary.
Published 23 months ago by JPW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 May 2012
There's certainly a story to be told here with so many interesting experiences but unfortunately it's not well written. Sometimes the train of thought is illogical. Slang expressions make the meaning unclear and the persistent use of the "F" word is unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Good read"...not!, 10 Nov 2012
I can only shake my head in shame at this pile of absolute garbage. Ghost written in the most sensationalist fashion, it reduces serious news stories and global events to the level of understanding of a failed high-school student. Summers may have had an interesting life but it's hard to tell from this tedious and badly written nonsense. If jetting round the world sucking up to stars constitutes a security capability for the BBC, I would feel safer wandering around Afghanistan on my own. He appears to be more of a liability than an asset and it is hard to see how he survived around experienced newsgatherers for so long without being exposed as the `wannebe starlet' he so clearly craves to be. Perhaps this spin on the story was down to the ghost writer, but it reflects poorly on Summers and the Jersey Shore meets the BBC news would be laughable if it wasn't so tedious to read.
Additionally, I would point out that many of the `unbiased' positive reviews are clearly written by Mr Summers' friends and family. If I wrote a book and got all my guys from college to support it, it hardly represents an impartial recommendation. The majority of the other comments are not favorable and I am firmly in that camp. Absolute rubbish, badly written and worst of all boring. Avoid it at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Embarrassing, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodyguard: My Life on the Front Line (Kindle Edition)
As a security risk consultant/manager with over fifteen years of experience, the majority in hostile environments, I can honestly say the contents of this book are an embarrassment to the security profession. The author indicates he was far more interested in being a `story maker' in the BBC, and hanging on the coattails of its `TV faces', than actually protecting them. So many of the things he was involved in go wrong a pattern emerges of him simply not doing his job, either within the realms of risk mitigation or `undercover work', correctly. Indeed, there are few examples of him actually mitigating risks, he's simply along for the ride until it all goes wrong (the John Simpson incident being the worst of several examples).
Towards the end of the book he is complaining of being moved into a desk job and how, with so many security incidents occurring, there was clearly a case for him to remain `in the field'. The fact that he described being constantly in the bar drinking with football pundits whilst these incidents were occurring around him makes it appear that he abdicated his responsibilities in order to be `bessie mates' with some BBC characters, as rubbing sleeves with them appears to feed his ego far more than performing his role as a security advisor.
The almost childish references throughout the book of him not believing his good fortune in how he was travelling the world at the BBCs expense, often on wild goose chases of his own making, makes me want to demand my TV licence money back for all the years he was employed by them, let alone claim a refund for this badly-written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bored bored bored, 24 Aug 2012
Somewhat tiresome and certainly not the most well-written of books, this definitely did not live up to my simple expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read...exciting stuff!, 30 Aug 2013
I like to read books by real people about real things. This is exactly what The Bodyguard is. I found the book interesting, relative and great reading. It is good to hear behind the scene scenarios and what is going on to help bring these stories alive. I would say there is a few good chapters that would give great ideas for future movie roles! As for using BBC money for quality travel.....well why not, anyone willing to go to theses parts of the world and get right to the heart of the news, then its money well spent. Overall an easy to read book revealing the high risk security business that exists every day. A superb read and well recommended....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift. A very inciteful read. Giving a very personal in depth description of a life as a bodyguard . I Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bodyguard:my life on the front line, 7 Dec 2012
I have met Craig and after speaking to him I could not wait to read the book...It was even better than I had expected...The author makes the situations he was in come to life and it all feels very real and exciting..very enjoyable read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camera never lies, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author speaks the truth, he dont hold back, the book explains the exciting times working on the front line looking after the media. It also explains the dangers and difficult situations that you are placed in, the decisions that you have to make, Not always popular! Fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An honest account of life as he saw it., 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the book to be like a soap opera on the TV; you can pick it up and begin reading any chapter and you quickly pick up the story. It is obviously not written to stimulate intellectual debate, it is penned for the average guy to pick up and read when going on holiday for two weeks; it makes for a funny, occasionally sad and often exciting read with the lead character, Craig being someone most will be able to easily identify with, a cheeky chap, a bit of a chancer, a bloody good laugh but, when needed, a very useful man to have around.

The continued reference to flying business class on the BBC should not be taken as a waste of the public's money. Those that know the security industry will be aware that if you travel with the principle you travel in the same cabin class or, if you are expected to arrive and hit the ground running, you need to travel in business class to review the orders and then get some rest.

I thoroughly enjoyed this simple to read expose into the world of the media. Craig has given us an insight into some of the exciting things such as the football world cup, some of the daily news stories that are tinged with sadness (the Tsunami) or tragedy (Iraq/Afghanistan) and some of the less reported issues such as child trafficking. There are few people around who could offer such a broad-church of stories that the average person can pick up on and relate to in one way or another.

There are always contentious aspects to such publications but I suggest that the absence of any objections by the BBC to the final publication connotes an accurate (though possibly dramatised) record of Craig's achievements during his career at the Corporation. I was however confused by the description of Craig being an East End boy....born in a south London hospital to a Scottish father, then living in different countries around the world before settling down in Ilford, ESSEX???....MMmmmmmm....The East End will soon cover Southend-on-Sea LOL

In closing and recommending the book to all you lads (and ladets) off on your holidays I would say I found myself laughing more than criticizing the book and felt like I had been on a roller coaster ride at times. GET OUT THERE AND BUY IT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars And all on the TV license Money!, 14 July 2012
Struggled to finish reading this poorly written book and having read thus, I am ashamed to admit to being in the same industry as Mr Summers.
While others might find his story entertaining, this is appears to be, for the most, a jolly around the world on TV license money, socialising with the well known faces of the BBC and footballers, rather than doing the job he is paid with all due care and attention.
Towards the end, the big ego here, seems to not like that the BBC was catching up with the real world.
I do wonder what the real truth was and what Mr Summers did not want the reader to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5943660)

This product

Bodyguard: My Life on the Front Line
11.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews