Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it from start to finish
Beyond: Two Souls was one of the most entertaining games I played in 2013. The game tells the story of Jodie, a girl who is linked to a supernatural entity called Aiden who possesses powers such as telekinesis. You learn more about them as the story progresses over a 15 year period starting from Jodie's childhood. One thing I immediately loved is the game is split in to...
Published 16 months ago by sjh46

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let down by the story
If this was a film it would be a very poor one. Cliched and derivative story with mostly cardboard cutout characters. Very slow and unimaginative. Why was so much creative game design effort hung on this meagre plot?

Not without merit but there's nothing new here. Heavy Rain is much much better. If only the Breaking Bad crew had written the script!
Published 8 months ago by Matt Testifies


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it from start to finish, 6 Jan. 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Beyond: Two Souls was one of the most entertaining games I played in 2013. The game tells the story of Jodie, a girl who is linked to a supernatural entity called Aiden who possesses powers such as telekinesis. You learn more about them as the story progresses over a 15 year period starting from Jodie's childhood. One thing I immediately loved is the game is split in to scenes which are not played out in chronological order. You'll move between events in Jodie's childhood, adolescence and adult life throughout the game. This works well and keeps you guessing where it will go next.

As a story driven game the player makes decisions that develop the characters personalities not just advance the storyline. This is the key ingredient that makes BTS work - you really start to believe in the characters the more you play. They have charisma and you care about what happens next and how the story will unfold. Ellen Page (Jodie) and Willem Dafoe (Prof. Dawkins) are perfectly cast in their roles, but the voice acting is quality all round.

As BTS is an interactive story the gameplay side has been kept limited. I didn't mind this as it kept the emphasis on the story, but as it's no FPS or stealth game it will not appeal to everyone. A lot of scenes rely on fast reaction button pressing and movements from the player although more standard gameplay is offered throughout too.

Another good thing is the story continues regardless of the player decisions. There's no "Game over and restart the level" here - each choice will simply lead to a different outcome. Although this means you finish quickly, the game can end in many different ways depending on your actions and choices so you can enjoy a second or third play through. You'll find making different decisions the following time round changes the story's feel completely so you won't just be going through the motions to see an alternative ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obviously a divisive game..., 14 Oct. 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm not going to decry any of the lower scoring reviews this game received in the press, or indeed in this review section. Reviews are by their very nature entirely subjective, so it's entirely pointless to go down that road.

That said, I thought it was a phenomenal game. Although I wouldn't necessarily say I "enjoyed" it. The thing is, large parts of this game rely on your willingness to accept that a lot of mean, spiteful, heartless, manipulative and outright repulsive things are going to happen to the lead character. There are many sections where what you'll take from playing is how wretched and alienating the human spirit can be when faced with the idea of someone who's "different". I know a lot of people had a problem with the, er, distinctly downbeat tone of Heavy Rain, and I doubt those people will feel much different about Beyond.
But then there are also genuinely touching scenes that moved me. Scenes where simple love, kindness and acceptance can drag you back from the brink.

Then there's the control system. This isn't so much direct control of a character, as pointing the character in the direction of how you'd like things to play out. If you're willing to relinquish the micromanagement of every action in favour more detailed and varied second-to-second feedback onscreen, this can be a hugely rewarding game. If, on the other hand, you think games only work when the characters do stuff while the player is actively prodding buttons and twiddling sticks, you might not like this. Personally I'm happy with both, as long as they're done well.

Look, what I'm trying to say is this isn't your typical game, and it won't be for everyone. The graphics and acting are pretty much peerless in the video game world, the script and storytelling are on par with your average decently budgeted TV show, and - if you can accept the control system for what it is - it can provide an intimacy with the characters you just don't find in other media. If you're OK with that you'll think this is great, if not you probably won't. Neither is the better opinion - it's just personal preference.

Personally though, I think Beyond : Two Souls was bloody fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of The Best Games Ever, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
I never tought that this game would be so intense and amazing. My first game of QuanticDreams was Heavy Rain and so far was a great game that i really enjoyed a lot and something completely different then other games where you decide what is your destiny basically like real life, of course you do have the own choices by the game but looks so real and any step that u can do can change completely your destiny or someones else.
Beyond Two Souls was so intense and emotional in many parts that show us a big reality of world and for those who are not here anymore but that look for us every time. This game made me cry and feel all the moments like if i was Jodie the main character of this game... If you like a good story and intense where u can be free to choose whatever u want, if u wanna live or die is your choice and u can love who u really feel to and that deserves ur love. Is a great choice of a game and i really hope that can be a sequel of this game because i will buy all of them. David Cage have done a great job creating this game, congratulations. I totally recommend this game i am sure you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PS3 HAS TO OFFER, 9 Jan. 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is simple amazing, the best game I have ever played. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you play this game as the story and characters are outstandingly written The acting and emotion is 5 star for me.

However you MUST pay close attention to the story as it can be hard to follow at some points.

Almost all the day reviews I've seen for this are from people that didn't understand the story.

Final the ending is one of the best endings to a game possible, with your choices weighing heavily on your final choice and can even be heart breaking to some as you have come to love the characters.

For my comparison to other games in this genres I would rate heavy rain a 8/10 and this a 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An experience worth trying even if it's not to everyone's taste, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
This game will not be to everyone's taste but personally I greatly enjoyed my experience with Beyond. I think that's the right word for it - experience. Whether you respond positively or negatively to creator David Cage's vision it is clear that this game will draw some sort of emotion from you and will take you places few other games dare to approach. Ellen Page's central performance is stunning and has been universally praised which I feel is fitting. The supporting cast is also strong and for the most part the writing is as well. Everyone will have their favourite moment which is a credit to the game as it offers a diverse range of scenes most of which are impactful and memorable. I loved Heavy Rain and so I would recommend this to anyone who has tried Cage's previous games and enjoyed them. To be honest, I would recommend this to all as I feel you are unlikely to play anything like this anytime soon and Quantic Dream should be commended for bravely putting forth this divisive piece of art. Anyone with a taste for narrative driven games and beautiful visuals (as well as generally very enjoyable and effective gameplay) should pick this gem up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET THIS GAME, 11 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
In my opinion, Beyond: Two Souls is a masterpiece. Sure you can argue that it's too linear, and that your choices have limited impact, but this game is seriously impressive. The attachment you form with the characters, particularly Jodie, is simply incredible, especially seeing as they're fictional. Ellen Page's portrayal was outstanding, as was Willem Defoe's, and I played it again as soon as I had finished it.

Now this game may not be for everyone, as it's certainly not the most uplifting game to play. But my God, after you finish it do you want to go back and play it all over again. No other game, with perhaps the exception of Mass Effect 3, has given me such a feels trip and led me to feel such raw empathy with the characters. It is a testament to this game that this is the first review I have ever written for any item EVER, despite me having an account for 5 years.

The game looks beautiful, the facial animation is great, the voice acting is superlative and I'm not ashamed to say I had a tear in my eye at points- bare in mind I'm a very British 17 year old.

Seriously, I cannot recommend this game enough, if you like a game for the story as opposed to the mindless mowing down of people in online multiplayer. Get it. Get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring but may not please all..., 13 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
I personally love this game. He story is right up my street, dramatic as hell, full of action, the paranormal, science fiction and how can we forget the beautiful and talented Ellen Page.

It's the full package for me but I can see why it's not for everyone. It can be a bit confusing at times and the story is not in chronological order. This can frustrate some people but I didn't mind one bit.
There are other things that may put people off but I can't say without spoiling them.

The best thing to do if you want this game is to ignore every review you see, good or bad, and even better, don't read any at all. Just sit down and enjoy and see what you think for yourself. If you need some confirmation that it's good, you got a big thumbs up from this guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's like playing a movie and after giving it a try, it's a good thing!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
so Beyond: Two Souls is a game that you probably heard of, if you're looking for a good story and beautiful graphics then it's a must-buy for you but if you want something that gets your blood bumping, look else where.
for what it is, it's a fantastic game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Beyond: Two Souls is another masterpiece from Quantic Dream that puts story telling and character development first. This game is a brilliant example of how movies and games can be combined. The smooth interface allows you to interact with the world around you, whilst allowing you to fully experience the numerous environments in the game without blocking anything. The story is brilliant and the game play, whilst unorthodox, works really well. Quantic Dream deliver exactly what their fans have come to expect of them (great interactive strory where the players decisions can completely change the outcome) and takes the graphics and animations to a whole new level. Beyond pushes the PS3 to its limits and utilises movement capture to give us hundreds (maybe even thousands) of animations, for example, the way the player moves Jodie around the environment she is in is changed depending on her physical, mental and emotional states. Brilliant performances from Ellen Page and Willem Dafoe (and all the other actors in the game) make you really believe in the characters of Jodie and Nathan and make you actually care about them. Anyone who appreciates good story telling will really enjoy Beyond: Two Souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) (Video Game)
Was so eager to play this after heavy rain as I loved the game so much. That was my game of 2013. I have to say the story wasn't quite as engaging as heavy rain. In Beyond two souls you feel like your just being brought along for the ride rather than having any real consequence as a player.

I think with heavy rain the mystery really added to the game. My main issue with Beyond was that it just wasn't challenging enough. The game pretty much tells you what to do, guiding you the whole way with button prompts and gentle persuasion if you try and go in a different direction.

Enough with the negatives

The game simply looks stunning. It's really more of an interactive cinematic experience than a standard "game". This may not suit people but I loved it. The quality of the acting and the motion capture was outstanding.

I would recommend Beyond: Two Souls to someone who is new to gaming or someone looking for something other than your basic first person shooter. It's an experience you wont forget.

Ill certainly be returning to it to discover the many endings hidden in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond: Two Souls (PS3)
Beyond: Two Souls (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews