Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British nostalgia from a bygone age
I purchased the box set primarily to obtain the hugely bonkers and surreal movie "Sir Henry at Rawlinsons End" which is included, but at the time of purchase was not mentioned in the product description. So, the rest of the boxset. Simon Simon is is one of those "sound effects"/sight gag comedies that the UK industry used to churn out as "b movies"...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. I. L. Honest

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some better and insightful
Reflective of the era. Some rubbish, some better and insightful.
Published 9 months ago by Tracy F.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some better and insightful, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964] (DVD)
Reflective of the era. Some rubbish, some better and insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British nostalgia from a bygone age, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964] (DVD)
I purchased the box set primarily to obtain the hugely bonkers and surreal movie "Sir Henry at Rawlinsons End" which is included, but at the time of purchase was not mentioned in the product description. So, the rest of the boxset. Simon Simon is is one of those "sound effects"/sight gag comedies that the UK industry used to churn out as "b movies" to pad out time at the cinema, and is inventive, has some funny moments that have been recycled many times since, but watched in context is well worth watching. Also included is Futtocks End, again a "sound effects"/sight gag comedy, which looks really old fashioned now, but again, viewed in context has its moments, and is a fair reflection of the humour of Ronnie Barker, and the type of stuff we used to find funny in th early 70's. I would definitely watch it again. The only other film I have watched so far, is the aforementioned Sir Henry at Rawlinsons End which is utter genius, and one day, will be regarded as such. Its sort of Salvador Dali meets the Pythons. Picture quality is "old fashioned" on everything i have watched so far (none of this polished blu-ray quality nonsense here!), but if you are in the mood for some early 70's humour, I would purchase this boxset. At less than £2 a movie its good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars British comedy box set, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964] (DVD)
I bought this as I thought it would be entertaining as I love old British comedy, but was so disappointed when all the films were like silent movies, not entertaining at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy DVD' s, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964] (DVD)
It's ok to watch 3 of the DVD's, but the rest of the films is not very good. They should not have been in this box at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964] (DVD)
Just what my dad wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964] (DVD)
they was alright
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars naf, 23 Dec. 2013
By 
Joanne (SKELMERSDALE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964] (DVD)
this was bought with great expectations but it was very disappointing to watch. I would not recommend this to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964] (DVD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964]
British Comedy Greats 6 DVD Box Set [1964] by Steve Roberts (DVD - 2012)
£23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews