Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Sitrompol
Although now established undeniably as a soap opera, Series 2 of Borgen is not afraid to tackle such issues as who should represent Denmark as an EU Commissioner, rejected as too dry by the compulsively odious Michael Laugesen, Editor of the tabloid rag "Ekspres". In a fast-moving tightly woven plot which manages to cover many issues, both political and domestic, we see...
Published 14 months ago by Antenna

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Subtitle cock up - needs resolving
I would love to view this as the first series was so fabulous but it is impossible to view it properly as the subtitles dont appear correctly on my TV screen. I get the first line only and the rest is hidden. A major disappointment and a waste of time buying this. I hope the problem is resolved soon so that I can attempt to reorder and then view.
Signed from Bitterly...
Published 2 months ago by P. Neal


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Sitrompol, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Although now established undeniably as a soap opera, Series 2 of Borgen is not afraid to tackle such issues as who should represent Denmark as an EU Commissioner, rejected as too dry by the compulsively odious Michael Laugesen, Editor of the tabloid rag "Ekspres". In a fast-moving tightly woven plot which manages to cover many issues, both political and domestic, we see Birgitte Nyborg both steelier, more calculating and ruthless as she gains experience in the exercise of power, but also personally more vulnerable in seeking excuses not to sign her divorce papers, unable to face up to the fact that her husband Philip wants a permanent split. The effect of this on their children is also handled sensitively.

A major parallel thread is the evolving relationship between the ambitious, idealistic journalist Katrine and the talented but emotionally scarred spin doctor Kaspar, who loses his emotional detachment when a right-wing move to reduce the age of criminal responsibility touches a raw nerve from his troubled past.

Although a few plot twists may seem implausible, this is absorbing drama, by turns tense, humorous and moving, with some interesting character development and consistently high standard of acting including at the level of minor characters, such as Birgitte's humourless PA who demonstrates that efficiency may count for less than empathy - serving Birgitte's long-suffering young son Magnus a bitter lemon - or the psychiatrist caught smoking in her private office to relieve tension.

Some of the political scenes are rushed through at a frenetic pace which proves hard to absorb via subtitles, and my opinion that "Borgen" is not a good advertisement for coalition government has not changed, but it has reinforced my respect for a small nation with an understandable pride in its essentially liberal-minded, progressive, democratic and egalitarian values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True Democracy, 3 April 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Riveting, is the word used for the first season of 'Borgen'. Season Two of 'Borgen' is just as riveting, only better,so much better. Sidse Babett Knudsen as the Prime Minister of Denmark has learned the tough lessons for a first term, now,she is tougher, better prepared and an about to be divorced woman. This second term is a tough year.

Nyborg has learned how to take power from a bunch of male politicians who refer to her as "Mommy" whenever she leaves the room. Nyborg, does a lot of brilliant things, and it seems she is at the top of her game. Nyborg and her husband have separated, her children feel alone, her daughter develops an anxiety that is difficult to control, and Nyborg has no one to talk to. Her close mentor had a stroke and she had to fire him. Her spin doctor, Kasper, played by Pilou Asbaek is meeting his devilish childhood head on, his off and on girlfriend, Katrine Fosmark, played by Birgitte Hjort Sorensen, moves from one job to another to find her ethical boundaries. Everyone seems to be in flux, everyone has an edge, everyone is trying to find themselves.

However, each episode finds that Nyborg is becoming stronger, more able to meet her detractors head on. She is still alone, her daughter in trouble, but things are about to come to a head. What we learn is that life is about compromise, political, personal, public and private. Nyborg blames herself for her daughter's problems, the marriage issues, and is now trying to look to the future to see what lays ahead. She has proved her mettle, and shown her colleagues that she is a true Prime Minister, in word and deed.

This is one of the best political series on either side of the big pond. It is a must see for everyone.

04-03-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Borgen is don't miss TV!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic, wish it didn't end after just three seasons! Great story lines, political and personal, with superb acting. I'm not into politics but find Borgen to be a fascinating insight into the political workings of Denmark. It also covers the behind the scenes working of the press and Tv media which adds another interesting angle. I already have Borgen 3 lined up to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific series, 27 Mar 2014
By 
vasco444 (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Who would have imagined that a political drama in a foreign language could be so gripping. The subtitles are unnoticeable as the plots are so gripping and it is easy to identify with the characters. Superb writing and acting. Highly reciommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equals Series One, which is saying a lot, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Again, we find our heroine being thwarted left and right by forces beyond her control, and we wait for her inevitible crafty wits to give her more than equal footing in the corrupt world of politicians. Another excellent Borgen season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good follow on to series one, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The story develops well in this second series with tension high within the family and within the politicians. This time she has to re launch a political party. Lots of twists and turns. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Borgen is fab!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I started back to front with Borgen with series 3 and then bought series 1 and 2 which is obviously the wrong way to do it. It is compelling viewing, powerfully acted and really engrossing. Buy it or steal it...you don't even notice the subtitles either. The storylines are contemporary, relevant and nobody gets killed in a horrible and nastily mysogynistic way as they do in other Scandi dramas. I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acting., 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Found it very interesting and intrigued to know what will happen in the next episode. Would certainly recommend it to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My current obsession!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are simply engrossed by this! Why is it so good? Marvellous acting and filming. Why can't we do this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars addicted to Borgen, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Needed to catch up as I missed the second series. Box set arrived quickly and I watched it in time to watch series 3 on tv.
Fabulous viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4985f18)

This product

Borgen - Series 2 [DVD]
Borgen - Series 2 [DVD] by Miikel Nørgaard (DVD - 2013)
£26.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews