Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in parts
This is the kind of book that I pick up at railway book stores (or indeed airport bookstores if it wasn't so bulky!) with the intention of whiling a few hours of journey time and I have to say that it is just about perfect for so doing. Contrary to one reviewer on here I expected lots of filler to live up to the Mammoth epithet but frankly there isn't that much here. What...
Published 21 months ago by Martin Fielding

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but author was not even interested in being neutral
I brought this, after having enjoyed another book in the series, and I was expecting it to be pretty similar. In may ways it, was, except for the attitude of the author who annoyed me right from the introduction.

Pros:

The book covers a wide range of topic, in summary form. Enough to give you a good idea of what the topic is, and what topics are out...
Published 5 months ago by Perfect Blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but author was not even interested in being neutral, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this, after having enjoyed another book in the series, and I was expecting it to be pretty similar. In may ways it, was, except for the attitude of the author who annoyed me right from the introduction.

Pros:

The book covers a wide range of topic, in summary form. Enough to give you a good idea of what the topic is, and what topics are out there. The author names his sources, and doesn't try to throw supposition or pseudo-science at you as if it were fact.

This book is a good primer to get an idea of what is out there, and whether a topic interests you or not.

This may seem a short list of pros, but the book worth buying for this alone.

Cons:

Because each subject is not covered in much detail you only get an overview of it. There is not much depth, and a lot of views\facts\myths is left out.

The author also makes it clear from the very beginning that he is down on anything that he considers "belief". He also considers anything that he is down on to be "belief". Regardless of its merits.

He comes across as being extremely condescending and dismissive on a number of topics, and rather than being neutral he makes his personal opinions well known.

It does get a little strange in places because he seems to congratulate certain people, yet is utterly dismissive about some of the topics that these people are well known for.

In some places he seems to include some topics purely because he considers them to be curious forms of madness, rather than because they have any real merit in either science or the paranormal.

The author is also notable for what he chooses to leave out. Probably the best examples are with Roswell and the MJ12 papers.

He manages spend two pages cutting down an author that most people will never have heard off, who wrote a book that most people will never heard off, that contained some rather fringe views on Roswell. Yet he neglected to mention Stanton Friedman, who is probably the world's most famous authority on Roswell.

The same with the MJ12 papers. Stanton Friedman is probably the best known researcher to have covered the MJ12 papers. Not even a mention in the MJ12 section.

You don't just "miss out" something like that unless you are intending not to reveal the information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in parts, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the kind of book that I pick up at railway book stores (or indeed airport bookstores if it wasn't so bulky!) with the intention of whiling a few hours of journey time and I have to say that it is just about perfect for so doing. Contrary to one reviewer on here I expected lots of filler to live up to the Mammoth epithet but frankly there isn't that much here. What you get is a lot of opinion wrapped around even the well-known stories eg Roswell and in this context the writer is very good at debunking where debunking is appropriate especially in comparing contemporary accounts of events with the subsequent often unsubstantiated stories that grow up around mysterious happenings. Where he excels however is in the telling and retelling of many maritime or coastal mysteries - he himself worked on merchant ships for many years - including several very spooky stories that were unfamiliar to me or that I had assumed to be just myths, such as the Flying Dutchman. I don't recommend you read these too late at night or indeed on a boat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read from start to finish, 2 Mar 2013
By 
David (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I knew a little about unexplained phenomena, and this book showed me how little that was. Packed with examples that are clearly explained and well referenced, so I was easily able to cross check and get further details when I wanted.

I read the book in one go, but the book is split into 8 sections, each clearly indexed, so it would be quite easy to pick and choose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PHENOMENAL READ, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
awsome probably a little to much info on clairvoiants but well worth the money enjoyed the ufo subject imenselly
and the life after death subject makes you really wonder what happens next, like the author said its something we will never know or be able to tell this book has given me lots of web sites to visit so it saves me buying more books even though i most probably will, and to finish my review WE are Deffinetly NOT ALONE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A interesting coffee table book, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Michelle Moore (Dartford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
In his introduction, Roy Bainton explains he's been interested in Unexplained Phenomena since he was 13, and the amount of detail in this book reflects this. It's a difficult book to review, so it's probably easier if I outline what's covered.

There are eight sections, and each offers a guide to the various phenomena - obviously there are no real answers or conclusions, as most remain, well, unexplained, but it's a great place to start exploring this area. If you find a particular phenomena which interests you, Roy provides links to websites, and a bibliography.

This is one of those great books to have on your coffee table or besides your bed, to dip in and out of. Although saying that, I did find myself fascinated by certain sections, and ended up reading for more than the length of a coffee!

The eight sections are as follows:
The Age of Unreason
Hot Chestnuts - UFOs
Beyond The Veil
Inexplicable Astronomy
Bizarre Biology
Maritime Mysteries
Panic and Paranoia
Combining the Fringe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am really pleased with this item, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was good value and is really well written and covers a lot of unexplained phenomena. It was a gift and the recipient is thrilled with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is out there., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Unexplained Phenomena: From bizarre biology to inexplicable astronomy (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly written. Ufo's to ghost ships. It's all there for your reading pleasure, so sit tight grab your kindle and get ready to be wisked away for a journey of a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read balancing the absolute impossible with the feasible with the who cares/ so what.
Easy to pick up and put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good holiday reading, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like Mr. Bainton I'm a bit of a romantic when it comes to the unexplained, I'm generally a sceptic but nevertheless enjoy reading and speculating about such things. The author's approach is nicely balanced between healthy scepticism and being open-minded and he isn't afraid to debunk where appropriate. Overall an entertaining read and very good value at nearly 600 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light hearted collection of stories and views, 28 Aug 2013
By 
True Blue (Kidderminster, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Unexplained Phenomena: From bizarre biology to inexplicable astronomy (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this as a holiday book and it didn't disappoint. Initially I thought that the book was going to get bogged down in religion, but having set the scene on how society believes or disbelieves the book goes on to examine numerous mysterious phenomena. If there is one small criticism it is that I would have liked a number of the stories to be expanded, especially some of the ufo encounters, and most of those encounters mentioned were the more celebrated cases such as Roswell. To be fair, the author has referenced and hyperlinked this volume extensively so that the reader can easily examine some of the cases in more detail. All in all I feel the book is good value and an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews