Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different
This was in no way like any of Jane's other books and took me by surprise. Firstly as I had nver heard of it and thought I had all of her books (I have been a fan since my O'level days). Secondly as it was written in the form of letters, to make up theis short story. I did however enjoy it.
Published 20 months ago by Teresa Riddiough

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lady Susan
Difficult start, but got on better once I had decided who was who. Am great fan of Jane Austen, but this is not in her usual style.
Published 11 months ago by Irene Rindlisbacher


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
This was in no way like any of Jane's other books and took me by surprise. Firstly as I had nver heard of it and thought I had all of her books (I have been a fan since my O'level days). Secondly as it was written in the form of letters, to make up theis short story. I did however enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat Early Work, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
Being an early work this isn’t quite as good as the full length novels but is still a great read.
A short, largely epistolary novel it tells the tale of the swashbuckling Lady Susan, recent widow, who is intent on stringing along a married man she has captivated, whilst marrying her unfortunate daughter to a Baronet (not of her daughter’s choosing) whilst also pursuing another man herself.
This is a novel deriving from the altogether racier Eighteenth Century rather than the moralistic Victorian era. Lady Susan is therefore allowed to be an outrageous, scheming and delightful villain without necessarily coming to a bad end.
All the Austen qualities are there; it’s sly, beautifully written and very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good readand, 7 April 2014
By 
Susan Terry (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
Written in an unusual form for Jane Austen but so good with so much underlying humour and understatement. Really quite bitchy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Austen, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
I read this for the second time, having read Janet Todd's 'Lady Susan Plays the Game', and found myself enjoying it all the more for having read Todd's 'take' on the story. Certainly, although Todd takes the action to rather racier heights, Austen displays a worldliness and healthy Georgian acceptance of what goes on between men and women, which later Victorian writers had to bury. I don't know at what age Jane Austen wrote this, but her foray into writing in the well-established letter form of novel presumably did not thrill her, and this fragment of a novel ends rather hastily, with a summary of what happens to the characters to round the story off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Susan, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
I had not heard of this book until I saw it in the Kindle Store. I found it very amusing and clever and would recommend it to any Jane Austen fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
it shows a lot of interest in the story but some of the words didn't make sense but overall it was not the best book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Susan, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
I thought I had read all of Jane Austen & didn't know this short story existed. A thoroughly enjoyable read from the mistress of propriety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Susan, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
Short but very pleasant little novel. Easy to read and gets you all hooked up. Would read it again. Recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
light read with amusing insights into the mind of a woman who always has her own way no matter what the cost to anyone in her way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Susan (Kindle Edition)
Typical Jane Austen style. It gives a good look into characters of people, their behaviour and social rules which they all follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Susan
Lady Susan by Jane Austen
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews