Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
If there is a character in this story who stands head and shoulders above the rest it has got to be the lawyer, Utterson; and the first paragraph is worth keeping in mind as the reader proceeds. Also, the habit of meeting with good friends over good wine (Jekyll, Utterson and Lanyon) should be noted and mentally stored away. Good company, so long as it is good,...
Published 20 months ago by arboroff

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inexplicably underwhelmed
I have read "Jekyll and Hyde" before, many moons ago when I was younger. Even then, it didn't "grab" me like I had expected. So I re-read Stevenson's classic tale with hopes of having my opinion changed. Unfortunately, I just cannot enjoy this novella as so many others have.

It is written well, with a suffocating and haunting atmosphere through the pages as...
Published 19 months ago by Lauren G


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
If there is a character in this story who stands head and shoulders above the rest it has got to be the lawyer, Utterson; and the first paragraph is worth keeping in mind as the reader proceeds. Also, the habit of meeting with good friends over good wine (Jekyll, Utterson and Lanyon) should be noted and mentally stored away. Good company, so long as it is good, facilitates a moderating effect upon the personality. Maintaining such company is conducive to both mental discipline and balance. Jekyll's gradual withdrawal from his friends accelerates his downfall (not that it wouldn't have eventually happened anyway, given the strength of his alter ego). But one can't help thinking that if Utterson had been allowed in things would have been different. Lanyon is good, admittedly, but weak. Poole, because of his class, is out of the running when it comes to influencing Jekyll. But not so Utterson. In Utterson we have `a man ... that was never lighted by a smile; cold scanty and embarrassed in discourse; backward in sentiment; lean, dusty, dreary and yet somehow lovable' . Brilliant!
Dr Jekyll's statement of the case (last chapter) expounds, in his own words, the `struggle of the good soul' and its subsequent defeat and overthrow by Edward Hyde. Stevenson cleverly uses this technique to effectively convey the agony and anguish associated with the doctor's self-imposed hell. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Hyde - you sir are no gentleman! Great adventure and a free download. Highly recommended., 15 Mar 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson.

The book is now 'in the public domain' which means a free download and it's well worth grabbing yourself a copy if only to familiarise yourself with the real story and compare how different it is to the film and TV versions. If you can get yourself past the obvious language and phrasing differences that are bound to occur in a story originally published in 1886 you are in for a real treat.

Stevenson created some great characters in his work and some of his best are here. From Mr Utterson the lawyer, a man who loves the theatre but hasn't been to one for twenty years, through to the '..troglodytic..' Mr Hyde who is just thoroughly unpleasant but; more man than monster.

Hugely entertaining and this download comprises the full version rather than a short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
I bought it for my son to read, he say's it was great, obviously arrived really quickly, with no problems!!!!! Kindle book!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
A classic, a must read for every person. I highly recommend it to anyone in search of a short yet captivating story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
One of my favourite books, one I feel should be more widely read. The story slips past on smooth narration and is over almost too soon. It is gripping throughout and takes a different angle to the usual gothic styles. Read it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, as expected, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
I bought this because it was one of those books that gets referred to a lot, everyone uses the jokes about whether they're dealing with Jekyll and Hyde when they talk about people in real life. Even though I understood what they meant, I hadn't actually read the book and I didn't know the story properly, just that one was good and one was bad. It was well written, interesting and satisfied my curiosity - I finally know what those sayings are all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inexplicably underwhelmed, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
I have read "Jekyll and Hyde" before, many moons ago when I was younger. Even then, it didn't "grab" me like I had expected. So I re-read Stevenson's classic tale with hopes of having my opinion changed. Unfortunately, I just cannot enjoy this novella as so many others have.

It is written well, with a suffocating and haunting atmosphere through the pages as Jekyll's grim experimentation is slowly revealed. The concept was revolutionary for the time and I would say it probably still is to be considered a very different basis for a novel within the sphere of what you might call "serious literature".

The narration style is, again, different and the story is detailed through differing narrators and provides an interesting juxtaposition of the perspectives of characters as Jekyll begins to lose control over his desire to be Hyde. His addiction (which could be interpreted in a modern sense, as an addiction to the effects of mind-altering drugs and a subsequent change in the mental perception of yourself) is desperate as Jekyll seeks to be the kinder, more moral version of himself rather than the passionate, primal Hyde.

However, there was something about it that meant it didn't hold my attention as I had wished it would. Due to the other (far more positive) reviews, I am sure it is more to do with me rather than the book itself. I so wished I could have enjoyed this but for some unknown reason, I was left underwhelmed.

I would recommend it to read as it is an absolute classic but if you don't enjoy, please know you are not alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but ends abruptly..., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
For readers who would like to get stuck into some older classics, but don't want to be weighed down by an overly lengthy book, this is a good place to start. The book is engrossing, and long enough to maintain the attention and imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Kindle Edition)
Everyone knows the story, what the curious case of Jekyll and Hyde actually is, so although it's well written and full of suspense the book feels pretty slow up until the last three chapters, in particular until Jekyll's illuminating last confession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews