Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2014
This is an important story, I think. The first, it seems, to imagine the story that might play in a dying man's mind. It is quite short - perhaps too short really, as though the author was a little uncertain how much use to make of his idea. But it is still well worth the read.

For my part, I read it because it is acknowledged in a recent book which does a lot more with the idea: Got Love If You Want It by Christopher Thomason, which I strongly recommend (see review).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 February 2013
I purchased this short story after reading it mentioned in a review of a disturbing film called "Jacobs Ladder". I don't want to give away any spoilers, and so all I can say is that this is a thoughtful work, which you will probably want to re-read immediately after finishing it. It's unusual.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Bierce's influential classic short story explores the fluid and illusory nature of time through the ordeal of family man, Peyton Farquhar during the American civil war. And you will struggle to find an ending that kicks you in the stomach as Bierce does in bringing home his themes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Although it was written more than a century ago it is so well written that the screen writer for the film had little to do. Good enough to make me look for more by the author
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
I would say that if you only read one book about the American civil war this should be the one. Definitely the equal of red badge of courage if not better.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Very interesting story which has been the inspiration for films and novels since. Its only a very short piece but the imagery and emotion is effective.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Possibly the best example of the short story ever written. A person cannot spend a better ten minutes of their [literary] life than in reading this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
I hadn't read Bierce before but this is the perfect introduction to american literature.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Dated, of course, but the craftsmanship of the writing still shines through. I must read some more Ambrose pretty damned soon.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Set around the American Civil War. It gives the impression that the prisoner escapes but he is only dreaming that he has
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse