Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic
Although set in the mid 19th Century, this philosophical work touches on matters that still resonate today. Can a man live without the trappings of modern life? Are we caught in a treadmill of work to get possessions and status. Without wishing to trivialise matters, fans of the 1970's Sit Com The Good Life might recognise the desire to escape the rat race.

The...
Published 8 months ago by Oscar

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugly publication of a classic book
This review is no reflection on the written content. Very disappointed by the quality of the actual book. Horrible layout, cramped bunched up text,ugly cover that looks like its photocopied. In fact the whole thing looks like some unappealing academic publishing exercise undertaken on some amateur desk top publishing system. Just looking at it hurt my eyes and really made...
Published 14 days ago by rob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Kindle Edition)
Although set in the mid 19th Century, this philosophical work touches on matters that still resonate today. Can a man live without the trappings of modern life? Are we caught in a treadmill of work to get possessions and status. Without wishing to trivialise matters, fans of the 1970's Sit Com The Good Life might recognise the desire to escape the rat race.

The book is much more than that and there are some lyrical decriptions of life by Walden Pond including sights and sounds. It will make you thin about what truly matters in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ugly publication of a classic book, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Paperback)
This review is no reflection on the written content. Very disappointed by the quality of the actual book. Horrible layout, cramped bunched up text,ugly cover that looks like its photocopied. In fact the whole thing looks like some unappealing academic publishing exercise undertaken on some amateur desk top publishing system. Just looking at it hurt my eyes and really made me not want to read it. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Kindle Edition)
A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply awesome, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Kindle Edition)
This is just a classic, a must read and once you start you find it hard to put down. Please read this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I missed the hype about this, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Ms (Wigan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Kindle Edition)
Found it hard to read ... not my cup of tea. thought it would be a bit more bohemian and less dry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any philosopher., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Kindle Edition)
The language used is a bit dated but is easy to get through with a bit of imagination.
Very poetic and beautifully descriptive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Walden, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Kindle Edition)
A great book, with a deserved reputation. If you have not read it, then read it. If you have, buy a cheap copy like this to give away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars small living, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Kindle Edition)
A true classic and a definitive piece of writing for anyone wanting to leave the rat race of modern life and turning towards a path of independence, all from an author who was way ahead of his time in critical thinking. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Self-indulgent Ramblings, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Kindle Edition)
Struggling with this! Admittedly I'm not that far into it, but my heart sinks whenever I pick it up, knowing that I'm about to put myself through half-an hour of self-indulgent ramblings and one-sided discussion. As a classic, I can imagine that in it's day this book stimulated a few minds and provided a certain amount of food for thought. Alas in this day and age, the several hundred-page long soliloquy seems to me no more thought provoking than the average internet blog!
I really hope that I'll read a bit further and discover something highly original that will get me hooked, but at this point it seems unlikely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull dull dull, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walden (Kindle Edition)
cant think why americans are so impressed with this, it is so dull , i couldnt get very far with it at all, not even worth getting for free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walden
Walden by Henry David Thoreau
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews