Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great book
this was a great read and this coming from a person who would not normally read this kind of book, but i was very pleasantly suprised. It kept me reading more or less non stop i couldn't put it down , i only picked it becuse others had rated it but i am soooooo glad i did. I have also brought 5 more from Bob Mayer and look foward to reading them all. I liked it becuase it...
Published on 22 Feb. 2013 by Beverley royall

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly Disappointing
This book was a real shame. I was very much looking forward to a book tracing the involvement of Donnchadh and Gwalcmai (Duncan and Turcotte) throughout human history since their arrival on Earth, but 'Legend' doesn't read like an original novel at all: huge parts of it are simply copy-pasted from earlier works in the series (literally word for word), and there are barely...
Published on 11 Jan. 2013 by LJM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly Disappointing, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (An Area 51 Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
This book was a real shame. I was very much looking forward to a book tracing the involvement of Donnchadh and Gwalcmai (Duncan and Turcotte) throughout human history since their arrival on Earth, but 'Legend' doesn't read like an original novel at all: huge parts of it are simply copy-pasted from earlier works in the series (literally word for word), and there are barely any new episodes at all. It's almost as if Donnchadh and Gwalcmai's involvement hadn't already been mentioned in an earlier work in the Area 51 Series, then Mayer didn't want to rock the boat by introducing them elsewhere. We do get some expanded scenes - more details on their role in the Exodus, and Arthur's Court for example - but otherwise it was extremely frustrating, with the narrative lurching between already-established plot-points with lacklustre prose.

In fact, by the time I was half-way through the book I found I was able to tell whether I was reading a section that had been lifted from an earlier work or written 'fresh' for 'Legend' simply by the quality of the writing. The 'Legend' prose was workmanlike, but there was a total lack of the believable, engaging dialogue that, in my opinion, characterised the first few books in the series. Even overlooking this, some of the supporting cast - particularly Artad's and Aspasia's Shadows - make some completely bizarre decisions in the course of 'Legend''s plot, for which I could see no motivation other than Mayer realising he'd painted himself into a metaphorical corner.

An extremely disappointing work - rather than wrapping up a few loose ends and (potentially) offering a satisfying ending to the Area 51 series, 'Legend' left a sour taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (An Area 51 Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
this was a great read and this coming from a person who would not normally read this kind of book, but i was very pleasantly suprised. It kept me reading more or less non stop i couldn't put it down , i only picked it becuse others had rated it but i am soooooo glad i did. I have also brought 5 more from Bob Mayer and look foward to reading them all. I liked it becuase it was so beleivable through out i am far from a u.f.o person but you could see how these things could be true with cover ups from start to finish. I would recomend this book to anyone who likes to be gripped by a good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bit repetitive for first half but brilliant all the same, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (An Area 51 Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
Sad that this seems to be the last in the series about the arlia but hey ho, there's more area 51 books. This book explains all of the little bits in the series where you may have had questions. Who was the Arlia buried near the crater and why was Merlin found with a smile on his face at the top of Everest. The beginning was. Little repetitive though so I scanned those bits really quickly. If you have read every word of the series, then the first half of this book wasn't really needed. Going to miss Turcotte and the watchers and major Quinn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Can't read the Small Print!, 11 Dec. 2011
By 
Mrs. F. C. Williams (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know it's very important to read the small print on many things, but not in this case. I was unable to read this book as the print is too small. I usually only order kindle books but this was not available on Kindle so I ordered this hard copy. Unfortunately I cannot alter the print size and alas the book is still unread.
When will it be available on Kindle Please? The one redeeming feature is the lovely picture on the cover that I would not be able to see on a Kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (An Area 51 Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very thought provoking the blend of ancient mythology woven with fiction and stories form the Bible made it hard to hold on to the reality that this and the other books in the series is a work of friction.
The only down side is the constant repetition of passages from other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 11 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (An Area 51 Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. Being the 9Th in the Area 51 series, it tied up loose ends. It takes you through the lives of the central characters Donnchadh and Gwalcmai from the beginning from them leaving the own planet and arriving on Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little more background, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (An Area 51 Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
Another interesting mix of fact and fiction, intermingled with a large smattering of religion. I did not like this aspect of the story, but I did find the explanations of some phenomena intriguing. Quite a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for cleaning up lose ends, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (An Area 51 Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
Covers all the outstanding questions like how did Excalibur get to the top of the world. Where is the Grail? , well you will have to follow the story because the story moves quickly and has many moving threads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (An Area 51 Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
I can across Bob Mayer's books by accident, and now I cannot wait to read everyone on them!
Brilliantly written, the only problem is I read them faster than he can write them! More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (An Area 51 Prequel) (Kindle Edition)
Of the series, in my opinion, this was Bob Mayer's weakest link. It is taking me at least three times as long to read and definitely does not have the drive of the earlier books in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend (An Area 51 Prequel)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews