Customer Reviews


839 Reviews
5 star:
 (530)
4 star:
 (150)
3 star:
 (85)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning cinematic experience, and thought provoking
The Life of Pi was well worth the wait. I've watched it twice now, and is one of those films you will never tire of. Ang Lee has brought us many great films, but this must be one of his best works ever. It is not only visually stunning, but also will leave you wondering. Was it all an allegory?
Published 17 months ago by Mazza

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pensive
Outstanding cinematography and genuinely ground-breaking CGI place this film in a category of its own. It's extraordinarily slow to start with, and the development of the plot is languid, to say the least. It starts by examining the early years of Pi, and it's here we learn how he acquires his name. This is narrated in flashback by his adult self and is carefully paced,...
Published 20 months ago by DS9


‹ Previous | 161 62 6384 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Pi [DVD] (DVD)
Good film but got a bit boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see masterpiece of the beauty of being alive, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Robert Blenheim (Daytona Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ang Lee's "Life of Pi" is a masterpiece with some of the most beautiful and unforgettable images ever displayed on film. Not only did it give me an experience of the wonder in being alive while moving me to tears, but its story also encompassed a human life from childhood to mature age while dealing with pain and guilt that are part of the human experience.

Ang Lee isn't thought of as an Asian auteur in the class of Wong Kar-wai, Zhang Yimou or Lee Chang-dong. He's actually more of a commercial director than a personal artist, but what he does in transferring the "Life of Pi" from novel to screen is miraculous. Perhaps no director has ever captured the beauty and fear of the power of life, and when you look deep into the eyes of the tiger "Richard Parker", you see what Marlowe saw in Kurtz's eyes in Conrad's "The Heart of Darkness": a power so vast it dwarfs you with an awareness of your mortality, showing you your insignificance beside the powers of all life. What Ang Lee does here in this film will, I believe, remain his tour-de-force, and is a work of art I will come to many times in the future.

The acting is wonderful, primarily Infan Khan, one of India's greatest actors who plays the adult Pi. Khan provides an entire acting course just in the way he uses his face, displaying a smile in the film's climax that rivals the Mona Lisa's in its ambiguity. You see the world of pain, guilt, joy and sadness in his delicate expression.

The film is supremely spiritual in every frame, yet, if one is paying attention, it winds up as somewhat of a Trojan Horse in what it ultimate reveals about religion. I'm trying hard not to provide a spoiler here, but there are five words spoken by the adult Pi at the end of the film that viewers seem to miss that spell it out. But moving away from its theme, no film I have ever seen in my life comes close to "Life of Pi" in relating the sheer force of nature (making you experience the beauty and terror in the soul of a tiger) and the cosmic beauty of our world, both inner and outer. Using 3-D more brilliantly (and essentially) than any film to date, this film burned into my mind incredible visual sights impossible to find anywhere else, showing me beauty I will remember the rest of my life.

Highly recommended, and one that truly deserves to be seen in 3-D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually impressive, 6 Jan 2013
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life of Pi [DVD] (DVD)
A magnificent film - visually stunning. I was interested to see the translation from the book, which was a delicious read. In particular how the movie displays Pi achieving dominance over his fellow survivor in the lifeboat, Richard Parker - a savage bengal tiger! In the book he relates to his time with his father's zoo and the process in which animals defer to a pecking order. In the movie he reads a survival manual, which came over as a little tongue in cheek.

There was also a greater build-up than in the book, elaborating more on Piscene's (Pi's)character, which I liked as it did add to the tale.

Despite the subtle differences and one or two minor niggles, it translated well, capturing the soul of the original book.

The fantastic shots of the Tiger were absolutly riveting. I wonder if they really did half drown some poor big moggie in the storm shots and, whether the final emaciation scene was electronically achieved? I understand four Bengal Tigers were used in the making of the movie, along with animation.

Some of the shipwreck seascape shots are a little fanciful but cinematically provide a visual feast and add tremendously to the impact. At 127 minutes it held me throughout.

From the promotion, it seemed the movie is aimed at a younger audience. (We had a lot of children in our showing). This is not the case. Whilst children may enjoy it, some of the underlying poignancy could be beyond them.

In the final scene the ship disaster investigators do not believe his tale. So Pi invents an alternative for their convenience, leaving the viewer with a hint of doubt as to which was the truth? A nice touch.

Recommended, but definitly one for the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice kitty!, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Quite simply Life Of Pi is one of the most visually stunning films you will ever see. Extraordinary to look at, the story itself is perhaps a bit simplistic but very well told and engrossing, it tells the story of Pi who is transporting his family's zoo from India to Canada when he is shipwrecked and is the only survivor apart from a few animals including a fully grown Tiger. Starting in the present day with an older Pi telling his story to a reporter, the film then flashes back to when he was a young man telling the extraordinary story of how he survived. Performances are excellent but it's really the Tiger called Richard Parker that's the star of the film which has some very funny moments. One of director Ang Lee's best films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec 2014
By 
Sandy (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film and posted quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
This review is from: Life of Pi [DVD] (DVD)
Great Product, Great Service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Dec 2014
By 
Mr. P. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Pi [DVD] (DVD)
great delivery enjoyable dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent., 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Pi [DVD] (DVD)
arrived quickly, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: Life of Pi (Blu-ray)
Must see beautiful & moving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Pi [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant. Lovely effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 161 62 6384 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life of Pi [DVD]
Life of Pi [DVD] by Ang Lee (DVD - 2013)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews