Customer Reviews


727 Reviews
5 star:
 (379)
4 star:
 (165)
3 star:
 (93)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 166 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No idea what people were expecting
I've put off watching this film for a while now as I've heard so many bad things about it but I knew I'd get round to it eventually. To be honest after watching it I have no idea what people were looking for.

It was never going to be as good as Taken due to the fact we have seen his fighting skills, we know his other abilities, we know how hard he is and that...
Published on 24 Jan. 2013 by Family Man

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite As Taken On This Sequel
Taken 2 (DVD).

DVD Info.
Region 2
Certificate 15
Running time 91 minutes - Extended Harder Cut
89 Minutes - theatrical cut

Trivia.
1)Oliver Megatron Directed Transporter 3 with Jason Statham.
2)Liam Neesons first movie sequel.
3)This grossed over $139 million dollars on a $45 million dollar budget...
Published 12 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 144 45 4673 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taken 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
An excellent follow on film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taken 2 (Extended Harder Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant just I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taken 2 (Extended Harder Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
great film really enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast delivery works great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars !!do not buy a video.... its not worth it!!, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taken 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
great film shame I can only watch it once as now I cannot watch it..... completely been robbed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great film for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Taken 2 disappointing sequel, 26 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Taken 2 (Extended Harder Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Short and to the point but too quick. Felt like Id missed a chunk of the film!
Left open for an obvious Taken 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Taken for a ride, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
E. J. Cawley (Clithereoe, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taken 2 (Extended Harder Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Well the plot has more holes than a tea bag. How come in a space of one week can Kim who has no driving license is then in Turkey driving like a world rally champ. Bryan out of the American Embassy with no back up to take on about 15 highly armed bad people. I like fantasy but was full of tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic rubbish, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
P. E. MacLellan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taken 2 (Extended Harder Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Liam Neeson is an excellent actor but this is a turkey - unless you just can't get enough of shallow sentimentality, incomprehensibly edited action scenes, lengthy car chases (garnished with the inevitable overturned market stalls), and a discordant, industrial racket for an accompanying soundtrack (the purpose of which is to make the whole thing appear much more exciting than it actually is). Not to mention the totally implausible plot devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very predictable albeit somewhat semi-enjoyable, 22 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Taken 2 (Extended Harder Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
*This review contains spoilers possibly revealing major plot points*

Taken 2 briefly highlights the events of the previous 'Taken' film, ensuring new cinema-goers who haven't yet seen the first film, will without doubt be able to acknowledge the characters and dilema's Neeson and his family get themselves into.

Now, as fun and as thrilling as the first joyride was, the sequel does suffer in terms of originality, creativity and character depth. The plot falls flat and is almost formulaic, with every little "I will not rest until I seek my revenge" one-liners. Not to mention the almost unbearable writers slack embedded into the script; the standard bland insipid 'Hollywoodesque' one dimensional villain trope and the overt xenophobia theme with Albanian's being the central targets overriding every cliche in the book.

Now I realise in order to enjoy this film, you'll have to be prepared to suspend reality to a certain degree (let's face it, the scene as Liam Neeson's character is somewhat able to escape the imprisonment was just absurd, and the old couple sitting opposite me were giggling like little girls at how cringe-inducing it was). I also felt the length of the film was too short, and could've easily done it justice and been more effective with more dialogue filler and insight into character development rather than a mindless illogical map scanning scene (If you know what scene I'm talking about, you'll probably be laughing at how sheerly irrational and nonsensual it was).

In addition to all that, the film remains uninspired and for the most part; entirely forgetabble. It is also devoid of any actual intentional 'humour' excluding the irony throughout, which is just as funny in itself. However, thinking back at it now, 'Taken 2' can undoubtedly be watched after a hard day's work as the plot provides barely any consumption of brain fuel.
Give or take, Liam Neeson is a top notch actor and fun to watch and should certainly persue to do greater works in the future (I do hope he stays away from an apparently rumoured third revamp, as that could be a potential death of a successful career).

In a nutshell, the film failed to live up to my expectations, but if like me, you are a Neeson buff, then by all means it's certainly worth a shot (pun unintended), but if you're just looking in the realms of a poignant masterpiece, then don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 144 45 4673 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taken 2 (Extended Harder Cut) [DVD]
Taken 2 (Extended Harder Cut) [DVD] by Olivier Megaton (DVD - 2013)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews