Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Characters, A Slow Start, But Worth It
No spoilers (I think) !

I admit it - I am a Gleek, have been since I discovered it on a transatlantic flight on BA back when they showed the Pilot episode.

The first three seasons were wonderful, but the beginning of Season 4, where the major changes to the locations and introduction of new characters was a little slow, but stick in there ... it gets...
Published 12 months ago by Nigel Davies

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing
Having loved Glee in the past, I did start to go off Season 3 a bit, as there was a definite shift away from musical theatre and guilty pleasure songs, with many more current pop numbers.Sadly, it seems that this theme continues in the early part of the series and it is far more lightweight & frothy. I enjoy the scenes in New York the most, at times I want to just fast...
Published 8 months ago by Freckles


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Characters, A Slow Start, But Worth It, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Nigel Davies (Brisbane, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No spoilers (I think) !

I admit it - I am a Gleek, have been since I discovered it on a transatlantic flight on BA back when they showed the Pilot episode.

The first three seasons were wonderful, but the beginning of Season 4, where the major changes to the locations and introduction of new characters was a little slow, but stick in there ... it gets to be a whole let better, and on second, third ... and tenth viewing, the first episodes of Series 4 grow on you too !

Major changes to a much loved series can alienate fans, and take some time to grow to be loved, but I can honestly say that I am beginning to love them almost as much as the previous New Directions team members, but of course, most of the old favourites make at least some appearances throughout the series. Those guys must have seriously deep pockets for all the airfares getting back to Lima so often !

Unusual move to turn the fourth year in the story into a two series (Series 4 and the current Series 5) structure ... didn't see that coming! Of course, our heroes get a plot line twist that boosts them when we think all is lost ... it wouldn't be Glee if the dreams didn't come true!

There are some serious issues covered in episodes of this series, and not everything is resolved before heading off into Series 5, but the music is great, the acting is delightful, and I am eagerly anticipating the twists and turns that will come out of Corey M's sad demise, and the resolution of the still open plot lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glee is back, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
well-chosen songs, consistent plots, the punch lines are back, good humour overall and easily-integrated new caracters with their own personalities (not xxx 2.0).
really enjoyable (only 2 épisodes are sub par and 4 are excellent)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EXUBERANCE & ANGST, 10 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
New Directions indeed for this fourth season, several Glee stalwarts having left to make their mark beyond Ohio's William McKinley High. (All, though, will be seen again - especially Rachel and Kurt as they struggle to succeed in New York.) New cast members quickly make their presence felt, especially Marley, Ryder and Puck's half-brother Jake.

For twenty two episodes here is a Song and Dance Extravaganza. This arguably is exactly what most fans wish to see - even if some episodes are simply a string of numbers linked by the flimsiest of plots. Those longing for stronger fare are not disappointed. Episode 18 genuinely disturbs, impact increased by no music during its closing credits.

For much of the way the season keeps to the tested formula: preparation for Regionals and Sectionals, romantic triangles, break-ups and reunions.

For sad reasons Cory Monteith's contributions now have special significance, albeit some could have wished him more convincing storylines. Sue does not seem around so much, but remains gloriously horrible when in full throttle. Treasure her two song and dance routines. Marvel as she jaw-droppingly exhibits a far softer side.

Fans will have their favourite characters and episodes. The "Grease" numbers were especially enjoyed. Admittedly the Christmas Special could scarcely have been more contrived and schmaltzy, but it worked a treat, overall genuinely moving.

In fact viewers may be moved more often than expected. The show's whole premise greatly appeals. Here are a school's losers transformed by music. For them life is suddenly more meaningful. At last they feel they belong, impossible dreams being realized.

The box set is generously packed with bonuses. As usual the Glee Jukebox gives easy access to favourite numbers. Features include a special welcome to the new cast, a collection of highlights, a celebration of the show's 500th song and dance routine (choreography throughout an inventive major attraction).

No matter how much critics may try to ridicule (Rachel and Kurt's spacious New York loft apartment, for example), most fans will remain loyal. So what if the show is packed with implausibilities! There remains so much to like.

Cherish here guilty escapism, complete with feelgood factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love love love Glee!, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I love Glee and the fourth season did not disappoint.
The subtitle options are: English, Dansk, Nederlands, Norwegian, Swedish and Finnish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glee is back., 10 May 2013
This review is from: Glee - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Having just viewed the season finale, I decided to review the season as a whole.
While I know that this season may not be the best, nothing can top season 1, I enjoyed most of it.
The one weakness of this season that stuck out to me was it's reliance on "filler" episodes which do nothing to accelerate the plot. Whilst these were enjoyable it felt odd that the writers could not use the huge cast to generate plot continuation.
Saying that I thought they handled having two locations very well and it does display the talent of the writing staff and the actors involved that they were able to pull it off.
As mentioned in a previous review the music this season was strong and bore some relevance to the plot. However I did find the competition numbers quite weak' which was odd because there were so many strong group performances.
Highlights of the season, for me, include "The Break Up" and "Shooting Star" which displayed some of the finest and most memorable acting on television. Glee also showed it was still as campy as ever in the episodes "Dynamic Duets" and "Guilty Pleasures"
I was apprehensive when watching this season because I knew that some character's would not be returning to their full capacity as in previous seasons, but, I feel that with the injection of new characters as well as ongoing storylines with our old favourites thee show managed to get me to be fully involved again. It has been renewed for a further two seasons after which I feel thy should end the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wahst not to like?, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Its GLEE! If you dont like Glee dont buy this DVD. Personally I think its just as good as any other Glee series, thought I might be a bit put off by the new characters but not at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars arrived in good time and very pleased, 14 July 2014
No problems here, arrived in good time and very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Season! Definitely a TV show you should own., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Basically, If you have watched the previous three seasons, then I recommend this season. Not the greatest season but it is unique, introducing new locations and characters. It perfectly sets up the plot for season 5, which is even better in my opinion. Season 4 has story lines and musical numbers that vary throughout, meaning that there is something for everyone. I did feel that there were moments that were just trying to fill time between episodes, but these episodes were still entertaining the series as a whole is great.

The only issue I have is that, with all other seasons (On Bluray from Amazon) I received a slip-case, a cardboard sleeve that slots over the case to give it that extra WOW with appearance on the shelf. This is the only Glee Blu-ray box set that did not come with one. Whether this is due to amazon or if they do not make them anymore I am unsure, but it did disappoint me quite a bit as it now looks odd on the shelf with the others.

Other than that the Glee franchise is outstanding and I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
good but getting off original theme and getting too much alternative lifstyle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glee, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glee - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I have enjoyed watching series 4 of glee. It is a good series and funny. I would recommend it to any glee fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glee - Season 4 [DVD]
Glee - Season 4 [DVD] by Lea Michele (DVD - 2013)
£13.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews