Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!
Firstly I don't care if this film is historically accurate...anyone who goes to see a film with 'Vampire Hunter' in the title expecting historical accuracy is an idiot in my opinion.
This is a great, absorbing, action-horror with some very clever interweaving of established historical facts. I found the entire film to be excellent entertainment from start to finish...
Published 19 months ago by Pantheon

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An odd hybrid...
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is an odd mixture. From mayhem specialist Bekmambetov, I was expecting a silly but fun action drama set during Lincoln's youth. What I didn't expect was this decades-spanning effort which makes the odd decision to blend silly supernatural hijinks with serious historical fact - like crossing 'Buffy' with a historical biopic.
While it...
Published 17 months ago by Benminx


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An odd hybrid..., 21 Mar 2013
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is an odd mixture. From mayhem specialist Bekmambetov, I was expecting a silly but fun action drama set during Lincoln's youth. What I didn't expect was this decades-spanning effort which makes the odd decision to blend silly supernatural hijinks with serious historical fact - like crossing 'Buffy' with a historical biopic.
While it adds a distinct flavour of the unusual and gives the film some individuality, it also slows things down and grants it an odd, occasionally inappropriate feeling of mocking deadly serious historical events.
However, as the lead Benjamin Walker is capable, if a little bland. Dominic Cooper outshines him for charisma by a New York mile, and Rufus Sewell is deliciously evil as his vampiric nemesis.
The action is frequent, although oddly unimpressive in several scenes. However, the initial confrontation with a vampire, a visually extraordinary horseback pursuit, and an early face-off between the arch enemies are extremely impressive. While not as flat as similarly toned historical supernatural actioner 'Jonah Hex', and no classic, this is still a fun, and occasionally very cleverly written and entertaining film. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy) (Blu-ray)
Firstly I don't care if this film is historically accurate...anyone who goes to see a film with 'Vampire Hunter' in the title expecting historical accuracy is an idiot in my opinion.
This is a great, absorbing, action-horror with some very clever interweaving of established historical facts. I found the entire film to be excellent entertainment from start to finish. I watched the 3D blu-ray and I can say that I was very impressed with the 3D - there's very little in the way of ghosting and the amount of depth perception is impressive. Thankfully, the director never goes for the 'Oooh, that's 3D' shot of things awkwardly being thrust towards the screen; instead favouring the technique of staging shots with a lot of fore, middle and background detail - although I will say that the burning embers during the train sequence really did seem to 'come out of the screen'.
All performances are strong, but of special note is Mary Elizabeth Winstead, who manages to make Mary Todd Lincoln a very sympathetic and rounded character despite her limited screen time - most notably during her breakdown when she slaps at Lincoln.
The vampires are, thankfully, of the horrific scary variety rather than the beautiful, glittery type and this film benefits greatly for that. Masses of teeth and bad skin are the norm for these vamps and I found them a joy to watch.
Having watched the film twice in as many days I can honestly say it's a really great piece of escapism and one to watch many time over. Is it going to tax your brain? Probably not; but it should entertain thoroughly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment!, 23 Dec 2012
I have just watched this film. I thoroughly enjoyed it, it is very entertaining and full of action, from start to finish. OK, so it may not be very historically accurate and some liberties are taken with that, but the constant action more than compensates for that. It is reasonably violent and very gory, so young children should not be allowed to watch this film. The acting was generally very good and it flowed very well and did not drag at all. A lot of the action is produced with the help of a lot of CGI, but it was done very well and did not really look fake at all. I did not manage to see this film at the cinema, which I regret, but I am glad that I caught it on DVD. Four stars from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-made gore fest, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
When young Abraham Lincoln angers a man (who happens to a vampire), the man takes his revenge by killing the boy's mother. Lincoln then dedicates his life to finding vampires and killing them with his silver-tipped ax.

I really enjoyed this movie. Yes, it's horrifically gory at times, but the clever mix of fantasy and true events is very well done and I couldn't wait to see what would happen next. We follow Lincoln from store clerk to the White House. The movie isn't playing for laughs, it's utterly serious. I actually found it more entertaining than Daniel Day-Lewis' "Lincoln."

The title had me expecting a cheesy, low-budget slasher, but the production values are high and the special effects are excellent. The acting is also very good; Benjamin Walker plays a convincing Lincoln and Rufus Sewell is truly menacing as his nemesis.

This is a surprising, clever story that includes just enough historical facts to make it almost plausible. A lot of blood, but still recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy) (Blu-ray)
Some good graphics, and scenery, but the story line and flow is very poor.
At the end of it, I thought - what was the point behind that.
Watch it and make up your own mind.
Bought this one for the ultraviolet so that I could download it and watch it on my kindle fire - that bit was fine, but I've deleted it now because its not a film I would watch more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT DISAPPOINTING COMPARED TO THE NOVEL!, 9 Aug 2014
Young Abraham Lincoln lives with his parents in a log cabin. When his father falls into heavy debt with strict employer Jack Barts (MARTON CSOKAS), Abraham spies Jack biting his mother on the wrist one night. She falls seriously ill and soon dies. Abraham, although still very young, vows vengeance on the evil man who killed his mother.

Almost a decade later, Abraham (BENJAMIN WALKER) has his chance and seeks out Barts with the aid of a pistol. In a brief battle which almost costs his life, Abraham realises he is no match for the superhuman Barts and is only saved when a mysterious stranger, Henry Sturges (DOMONIC COOPER), intervenes.

Over the next few months Henry nurses Abraham back to full health and teaches him how to fight Vampires, for that is what Barts has become, and he learns how to expertly use an axe. Then Henry sends out his new student on a mission to destroy a known Vampire.

As time passes Abraham becomes a successful hunter and in the daytime learns law studies. He meets and marries Mary Todd (MARY ELIZABETH WINSTEAD) but leaves her in the dark about his double life. With the aid of childhood friend William Johnson (ANTHONY MACKIE) and store owner Joshua Speed (JIMMI SIMPSON), Abraham realises the Vampire problem is bigger than anyone suspected, for the creatures are in every walk of life and often highly influential like southern businessman Adam (RUFUS SEWELL).

Abraham Lincoln is known as the American President who guided the nation through its Civil War only to be assassinated at the theatre soon after. His secret double life, that of Vampire slayer, is the premise of the film.

I was a big fan of the successful ABRAHAM LINCOLN VAMPIRE HUNTER novel by SETH GRAHAME-SMITH. Despite SMITH also writing the screenplay here, I found the film somewhat of a disappointment.

Director TIMUR BEKMAMBETOV is no stranger to Vampire films (as anyone who has seen NIGHT WATCH and DAY WATCH will know) but here he has merely turned Abraham Lincoln into some type of superhero, rather than a mere man (as in the novel) fighting superior foes.

The action scenes reflect this, with him facing numerous Vampires at a time and defeating them with relative ease. Some of these battles seem to parody films like 300 - the slow motion and speeded up sequence at the southern mansion is one prime example - and while the special effects are extremely well done indeed, the whole thing does seem somewhat overblown at times. In fairness the fact that the film was usually shown in 3D at cinemas may be one reason for this.

One nice idea is that Vampires cannot kill one of their own kind, hence they employ assassins like Abraham to do the work for them, but here again the story is not consistent as later scenes have Vampires fighting each other. Still, at least the brief Civil War battle scenes are exciting even if historical accuracy is not adhered to.

The cast seems to be enjoying themselves in their roles although the dependable RUFUS SEWELL is sadly underused, while BENJAMIN WALKER reminded me of a young LIAM NEESON.

Included with the film is a decent array of Special Features. There is a quartet of Making Of programmes (75 minutes in total) and a nice 7 minute Graphic Novel explaining the birth of Vampirism in America, plus an Audio Commentary by writer SETH GRAHAME-SMITH.

Ultimately, though, anyone wishing to see the novel on screen will, like me, feel disappointed with the end result. This is a film where the brain should remain in neutral throughout the 100 minutes running time but people expecting to see lots of explosions, fights and doses of special effects should find things to enjoy here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VAMPIRE HUNTER DVD, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was enjoyable film to watch good action the story line was ok not as good as the blade films can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than expected., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read a lot of reviews on this before I bought it. It was better than expected. Storyline a bit hammy but well acted, great action scenes, decent special effects. Highly recommended. The steel book is nice and embossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's different, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rather an odd subject to put Lincoln down as a vampire slayer silly storyline but not to bad overall if you want a bit of light entertainment this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 22 April 2014
By 
C. Watkins (birmungham uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
pleasure was had whilst watching this particular film. anyone with the slightest interest in history and finction combined would i think enjoy this here movie. excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy)
12.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews