Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!
If the classical composers had had the use of the electric guitar and current recording technology, then this is precisely the sort of music that they would have turned out!
Neo-classical as it is often referred to, is a style that Yngwie Malmsteen has certainly featured heavily in his repertoire, but while his Concerto was a little flat in places (more to do with...
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by J. M. Green

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to get excited over but a nice enough easy listening alternative.
This dose not feature the intense fire or speed of his rock or orchestral instrumentals,but the pieces are well performed and layered with electric guitar over acoustic,bass and keyboard.What disconcerted me most is on pieces based on songs such as Forever One it plays verse chorus several times and without vocals it just seems incredably repetitive boring intoning to me...
Published on 17 Nov 2009 by suffolk and proud


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!, 21 Oct 2009
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Of Love (Audio CD)
If the classical composers had had the use of the electric guitar and current recording technology, then this is precisely the sort of music that they would have turned out!
Neo-classical as it is often referred to, is a style that Yngwie Malmsteen has certainly featured heavily in his repertoire, but while his Concerto was a little flat in places (more to do with the recording than the music itself!) this is strong throughout and beautifully recorded, capturing every little nuance and inflection and, while the inimitable style of Malmsteen is there, it is far more restrained and controlled than we've heard in previous outings.
For sure, much of what is here has been re-engineered but, notwithstanding, because it is not interspersed with full speed rock, everything just gells and fits perfectly together to provide an album of serene and distinctive music that can be listened to intently or, just as easily, used as pure background music - it really is that good!
Certainly, it will be overlooked by the many, but appreciated by the lovers of exquisite music played by a musician at the top of his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Angel Of An Album., 21 Mar 2009
This review is from: Angels Of Love (Audio CD)
This is an all instrumental album.Skillfully produced and imagined by Yngwie it would work equally well either being listened to with your full on attention.Or playing as a background soundtrack while relaxing or entertaining.The pieces are striking.Full of great melodies.The re-arrangements of the tracks are superb.I love them all.Impossibly beautiful melodies along with the deeper cello notes played brilliantly by Yngwie bouncing of the melodies in the compositions.Choral voices add further layers of delight.Stylish it could only be made by someone who's been at the top of the pinnacle of musical performance for years.That man is Yngwie Malmsteen.Here he plays a mulitude of instruments,Acoustic Steel,Classical and Electric guitars,Keyboards,Synthesizer Guitar and Cello.
A man that is master of all trades and master of them ALL.
But for the mixing and additional keyboards by a two others.This is almost a complete project by Yngwie and a great one.
Memories,Like An Angel,Save Our Love are sensational. Brothers is a clever,superb reworking of the original.In fact the entire album is excellent.Full of intelligent playing a thoroughly enjoyable treat of a listen.This CD will be the first thing going in the luggage when I'm holidaying,and is already a firm favourite at home in the CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Release From The Guitar God, 22 May 2009
By 
Mr. A. Clement "alzmail" (Milton Keynes/UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels Of Love (Audio CD)
Initially i wasn't sure whether to get this as i wasn't sure if it was just another compilation album,and i'm certainly glad that it isn't.

Not sure why he's released this,but it's pretty cool to add to the collection. It's basically a really mellow cd that's very nice to chill out to.

It's an all instrumental cd of older songs/ballads from his back catalogue that he has reworked/re-recorded. It isn't like 'Far Beyond The Sun' ripping instrumentals that we generally associate Malmsteen with, and not sure how it will go down with his fans?

He definately has put alot of care and work into the redoings of these songs,i think the original recordings of 'Crying' and 'Memories' are still better than the ones on offer here on this album,they just have more raw emotion with the original sound,in my own opinion and the electric guitar added more to the canvas.

I would say if you liked his cd with the orchestra then you will probably like this,it certainly isn't for everyone. Yes it's a new cd but not a ripping new album,it's more like a rework of earlier ballady songs and short instrumentals. I must add though,unlike quite a few Malmsteen cd's the production quality of this is very,very good.

I do like it as a very mellow cd to chill out too,but i'm not sure it's everyones cup of tea,not essential Malmsteen as it's for a certain type of crowd. I think it's gonna be one of those albums you either love,don't mind or hate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to get excited over but a nice enough easy listening alternative., 17 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Of Love (Audio CD)
This dose not feature the intense fire or speed of his rock or orchestral instrumentals,but the pieces are well performed and layered with electric guitar over acoustic,bass and keyboard.What disconcerted me most is on pieces based on songs such as Forever One it plays verse chorus several times and without vocals it just seems incredably repetitive boring intoning to me that this is vert much a filler untill the next full band album appears. I really recommend instead considering his concerto album especially the live version which is simply staggering.However should this be your bag you may like Michael Schenker's Thankyou acoustic albums or work by Uli Jon Roth, John Williams or Katie Melua.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 16 Sep 2010
This review is from: Angels Of Love (Audio CD)
This is a new experience to Malmsteen I guess.

I liked the rythem of: Save our love, Brothers, and Miracle of Life.

However, Malmsteen seems to be repeating himself in the album in many solos. This was not enjoying as it shows a lack of innovation.

There is no way to compare it with (Thank you by Michael Schenker)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A different Yngwie, 1 Mar 2010
This review is from: Angels Of Love (Audio CD)
Showing a more soft, mellow Yngwie than on most albums I've heard, this album is for the most part decent. One or two songs have simultaneous guitar parts that I fell don't work too well together, and the mix could be better. Still, if you like guitar music and don't require shredding, this might be your cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 3 Dec 2012
This review is from: Angels Of Love (Audio CD)
Love this album, could be Yngwies best album ever, full of emotions and slow guitar playing and then some fast runs for good measure, it is Yngwie after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Of Love (Audio CD)
As a Yngwie fan for many years I found this a little bit short of imagination and maybe a quick way to grab a few bucks. Nice easy listening background stuff though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angels of Love
Angels of Love by Yngwie Malmsteen
Buy MP3 Album£7.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews