Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived today on the Wirral.
I had this delivered to work and have been itching to get home and see if these would work on my European Blu-Ray player. After checking into things i was convinced i was going to have to buy an American Blu-Ray player and explain to the wife why i had wasted so much money.

However, i can fully promise that these are region free. Each one worked straight away...
Published on 4 April 2013 by Superpull

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase One [US Import]
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:16 Mins
This set is great for Marvel fans - all the movies are high-quality entertainment. If you do not already own these movies, then this set is perfect for you because it's all the movies in one box set. But if you already own some or all of the movies, the big question is: should I also buy this briefcase set? Well, here are my...
Published 8 months ago by JMM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived today on the Wirral., 4 April 2013
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I had this delivered to work and have been itching to get home and see if these would work on my European Blu-Ray player. After checking into things i was convinced i was going to have to buy an American Blu-Ray player and explain to the wife why i had wasted so much money.

However, i can fully promise that these are region free. Each one worked straight away (Iron Man and the Hulk downloaded some extra content from somewhere called BD direct through my internet connected player).

As I do not have a 3d player/TV i cannot vouch for the 3d discs of Thor, Captain America or the Avengers. But each of the 6 films and the initiative disc all got to the first scene of the film (then i stopped it to eject and try the next one).

Decent value for money, looks amazing. I am definitely the coolest person i know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers Assembled, 13 Nov. 2013
By 
RM Gallon (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
For starters: Every disc in this boxset CAN be played in Region B blu-ray players, and save for the odd brief pixilation in several films, the video and audio quality is of the same calibre as in this region. As this is about this very special boxset I won't go into great detail about each film in Phase One of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but simply give my rating for each film:

Iron Man (2008) - 4/5
The Incredible Hulk (2008) - 3/5
Iron Man 2 (2010) - 2/5
Thor (2011) - 4/5
Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) - 2/5
Avengers Assemble (2012) - 4/5

As for the actual boxset: Contained in a plastic replica briefcase, including a plastic replica of Phase One MacGuffin the Tesseract that glows and flashes the same vivid blue colour. Each film comes in a cardboard case with specially designed artwork by Matthew Ferguson. Although the same unique packaging can't be said for the discs themselves, with each non-3D-released film only coming with the feature film disc (3D-released-films come with their 3D disc also), meaning additional special features found in the films' own home video releases not being included.

The additional disc in the sleeve titled "S.H.I.E.L.D.: Avengers Initiative" contains what the disc calls "Phase One Archives", a collection of special features from each of the six films including (but not necessarily all at once) deleted scenes, animatics, pre-visualisations, and an introduction to each film by Clark Gregg as Agent Coulson from the AMC theatre Avengers marathon in the build-up to the midnight premiere of Marvel's Avengers Assemble (titled Marvel's The Avengers in this American boxset). Although why these introductions are here and not optional introductions on the films' discs for what this set ultimately could, and should, be used as: A Marvel Movie Marathon, is beyond me.

While the discs themselves aren't especially well produced here, the extra content inside the briefcase is where the real enjoyment lies: Case files on each Avenger as well as memorabilia from each of their films, specifically:

S.H.I.E.L.D. Security Level 7 Tactical Sys
* c. 1943 photograph of Tesseract
* c. 2012 photograph of Tesseract
* Subject article on the Tesseract
* S.H.I.E.L.D. Personnel File: Natasha Romanov aka "Black Widow"
* S.H.I.E.L.D. Personnel File: Clint Barton aka "Hawkeye"
* S.H.I.E.L.D. Evidence File: Item 47
* S.H.I.E.L.D. Business Card: Agent Phillip J. Coulson

Strategic Scientific Reserve Case Study: Captain America
* c. 1942 photograph of Steve Rogers
* Strategic Scientific Reserve Particulars of Participant: Steven Grant Rogers
* Department of Selective Service Certificate of Acceptability: Steve Rogers
* Department of Selective Service Notice of Fraudulent Application: Steve Rogers
* U.S. Army Physical Exam Sheet: Steve Rogers
* Steve Roger's "Dancing Monkey" drawing
* Captain America trading cards
* Newspaper photograph cut-out of Agent Peggy Carter

Agent Romanoff Recruitment Assessment: Tony Stark
* The Chronicle newspaper cut-out: "Who Is The Iron Man?"
* Tony Stark's original Iron Man drawings
* Stark World Expo 1964 brochure
* Stark World Expo 2010 ticket
* A.I.M. Business Card: Chief Executive Officer Aldrich Killian
* Tony Stark's Stark Industries napkin declaration
* Howard Stark journal cut-out
* Stark Industries Arc Reactor blueprint

Agent Coulson Recruitment Assessment: Puente Antiguo
* Jane Foster photograph of celestial event
* Myths and Legends from Around the World cut-out: "Bifrost"
* New York State Driving License: "Dr. Donald J. Blake"
* I.D. Badge: Jane Foster
* Hospital Name Tag: Thor
* Thor's drawing of "Yggdrasill"

Agent Romanoff Recruitment Assessment: Dr. Bruce Banner
* Newspaper cut-out: "Mysterious Incident at Culver University Laboratory
* S.H.I.E.L.D. Nick Fury Threat Level Red Article
* Culver University Article: "Lecture Highlights"
* Pingo Doce Label
* Stark Industries Cryosync I.D. Tag
* Stark Industries Enhanced Humvee blueprint

In short, much like the films themselves, there are severe flaws in the overall presentation of this boxset commemorating the immensely successful Phase One in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. But despite some blatant missing content found in the home video releases of the films individually, as well as that for the foreseeable future this item is only available stateside, this is without doubt a highly satisfying and must-have item for fans of the Marvel brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jay morgan-grice, 4 April 2013
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
They are region free. Im playing them now on my uk br player. All are bluray disks. No dvd. I paid 144 via amazon com and that included upfront import tax and express shipping 2 days. You dont have to pay tax upfront but if you dont and its checked it could be higher. Great set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the Ultimate Collection!!, 24 April 2013
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I have been a Marvel comics fan since the 70's and am a movie prop collector so I ordered this as soon as it first became available as this seemed to be a great looking collectible. Even after the Rimowa fiasco I retained my order and received the set on Monday of this week.

Firstly, the movies are all great and if you are reading this I guess you already know that so I will mainly review the set. However for the avoidance of doubt I will also confirm that these discs are region free so will play on European blu-ray players. I must also say that the content of the special Shield archives disc is quite frankly pathetic. I saw an Avengers special on Sky when the movie was released which had more content so this is truly disappointing and Disney/Marvel should have done better for this release.

One piece of information missing from every other review I have read are the dimensions of the case, which are 30cm by 25cm by 12cm (about the size of an SLR camera case) so this is in no way a full size replica of the case see in the movies. This is however presented very well and made of hard plastic, and from a distance it does look like an aluminium case. The case contains several "Shield Archive" folders and these contain a number of nice little prop replicas such as Thor's fake driving licence, the Arc reactor blueprint see in Ironman 2, a Pingo Doce label so you can make a replica of the drinks bottles in the Incredible Hulk (if you wish) and the Tesseract files shown to Steve Rogers at the beginning of The Avengers. Unfortunately because of the size of the case these folders are also not regular size which diminishes their appeal as collectibles slightly, but these again are well presented. The case also illuminates nicely with blue leds when opened and the shield logo illuminates when the Avengers button on the outside of the case is pressed.

The case contains a Tesseract replica which has received mixed reviews especially in the US. Firstly ignore the promotional pictures as these are CGI versions of the cube. The actual cube is white plastic which illuminates when you tap it quite hard on your palm with blue leds in a kind of strobe effect. This effect I believe is pretty good given the limitations of cost and current technology but this cube could have been enhanced one thousand percent with little or no additional cost by just having it made of opaque or frosted plastic rather than solid white. This is one of the reasons this only gets 4 stars instead of 5. Another is the size of the case. This arrived in a box 7cm longer, 4cm wider and 1 cm deeper than the case itself. If the case had been made just this little bit larger it would have been a much more impressive collectible and held a higher premium than this scaled version. Finally, a small but incredibly annoying feature is the size of the handle on the case. As I said this case is about the size of an SLR camera case so why is the handle so shallow that it is impossible to put your fingers through it to hold it. Instead you have to pinch the handle on each side to lift it or not use the handle at all. Now I know this is a collectible box set and not a functional piece of luggage but if the handle hinges had just been raised 1 cm each side (and there is space for this) it would have been possible to actually use the handle and this actually would have balanced the case better that it currently is for transport. I can only conclude that whoever designed this aspect of the case was a complete idiot.

All in all this is a good attempt at a collectible box set that could have been great but failed due to a lack of attention to detail. Given the delays in bringing this out and the fact this had to be redesigned anyway, these little issues should have been addressed. For the collector, this is probably worth the Amazon price of $149.99 in the US and STILL IN STOCK there, but is not worth the premium some sellers are asking. As I said this could have been great and how I wish it had been!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase One [US Import], 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Length:: 2:16 Mins

This set is great for Marvel fans - all the movies are high-quality entertainment. If you do not already own these movies, then this set is perfect for you because it's all the movies in one box set. But if you already own some or all of the movies, the big question is: should I also buy this briefcase set? Well, here are my thoughts:

- The blu-ray discs included are identical to the ones found in the previous individual releases of the films. Picture and Audio quality is very good.

- For those interested in 3D, the 3D versions of "Thor", "Captain America", and "The Avengers" are included.

- If you already owned the 2-disc Special Editions of "Iron Man" or "Iron Man 2", you might want to keep the special features/bonus discs from those sets. Unfortunately, this briefcase set only includes the one movie disc for those films.

- There is a SHIELD Bonus Disc exclusive to this set... it contains about an hour of deleted scenes and pre-visualization sequences. I expected there to be so much more bonus content - I would have liked to see more interviews, featurettes, VFX breakdowns, etc.

- No DVDs or Digital Copies included. This is a bit surprising, because the individual Marvel releases always included those.

- The briefcase feels a bit cheaper than I would have liked. It has a nice finish and is fine to look at, but once you pick it up it lacks weight and doesn't feel very durable.

- The Tesseract (cube) itself lights up when you tap it against your palm. The briefcase also lights up via a button on the outside of the briefcase, or whenever it is opened. The effect is very cool when you are in a dark room.

- There are a number of artifacts within the briefcase, that come in SHIELD files. There are files for Tony Stark, Bruce Banner, Thor, and Steve Rogers. The files include many cool items and prop replicas - newspaper clippings, Captain America cards, ticket to the Stark Expo, the Ark Reactor blueprints, Jane Foster's ID card, data sheets on the Tesseract, character photographs, etc.

- One of the files in the briefcase contains a hidden clue that directs you a website (where you can see a 5-minute first look at the Phase Two movies). It was fairly easy to find, but its fun to look for it.

- There is a unique code included in your set, which is used to unlock the content above. This was not advertised anywhere, but it turns out this code is also valid for 500 points on the Disney Movie Rewards website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a fan or collector.., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Great box set for UK - 3d Blu-ray Discs work fine on uk player; order came through without need for import duty good delivery time and seller responded promptly to a query on timings couldn't have been better.

The movies American versions with the usual tweaks (PC scene with extra blade!) and nice set of special features - very glad I purchased it; one star down since the special edition box is a little plastic but the 'files' are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., 31 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
The set itself doesn't contain any DVD discs; the ten discs are an assortment of blus and blu 3ds, and so the set itself is region free. Amazon.com will ship it to the UK, but be wary of the import duty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel fans should buy this, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
its a nice looking collectors edition of marvel and the contents inside are amazing in detail and really fun looking at the superheros profiles and cover art for the disk sleeves look amazing, they should use them for the actual Blu-rays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 19 Feb. 2014
By 
G. N. Buckley "buck rodgers" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant Item. Exceptionally impressive and a must for all fans.
My only regret / downer is that on arrival in UK I had to pay £35 in Import Duties - a quarter of the original price!
Well worth the price anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best present I could have bought my son we are ..., 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Best present I could have bought my son we are now awaiting the next set so I will get saving the money! It was well packed and delivered as promised and exactly what I ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews