Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best camera you'll ever own!
Let me start this review by stating that before settling on this Sony I tried out a Lumix G3, a Nikon D3100 and several other 'bridge' cameras before actually purchasing a Sony Nex-5N via Amazon.

Not sure if you're aware but the 5N has a known fault in video mode which results in a clicking sound being audible over the soundtrack whenever you pan the camera...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by Mr. K. W. O'keeffe

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for auto but not good for manual
Its good quality at price £290. Wide range of effect, high quality of picture. But if you come to manual, it is a different story. It takes ages to see your picture :/ between pushing button, then your camera is frozen with black screen like forever, then click sounds, then proCESSing, and here you are, your picture after 15s /:

Good quality with auto though,...
Published 15 months ago by Duong Thuy Duyen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best camera you'll ever own!, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NEXF3 16.1MP Interchangeable Lens Compact System Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Black (Electronics)
Let me start this review by stating that before settling on this Sony I tried out a Lumix G3, a Nikon D3100 and several other 'bridge' cameras before actually purchasing a Sony Nex-5N via Amazon.

Not sure if you're aware but the 5N has a known fault in video mode which results in a clicking sound being audible over the soundtrack whenever you pan the camera. Besides that, after playing around with it for a day I was sold on the whole Nex experience so sent the 5N back and ordered the F3 instead, which for all intents and purposes is the same camera. The main difference being the lack of touch screen on this model - which for me is a good thing as the touch screen on the 5N combined with the wheel and menu buttons made it especially fiddly and the screen prone to picking up greasy fingerprints all too easily.

Compared to the other cameras I mentioned, this is light years ahead in terms of user functions & most importantly, image quality - which is crispy, colourful and honestly, pretty much blur free. I'm finding it very difficult to take a bad photo! The low light & night capabilities in particular are amazing.

I shoot mainly in aperture priority mode and the background blur & bokeh is simply beautiful, even using the standard kit lens. Matters get even better if you shoot in RAW mode and work on the pictures in Lightroom and/or Photoshop - really professional looking images, made VERY easy by a great simple to use camera.

Given that this is basically the same price as a lot of the micro 4/3 cameras and actually smaller (but with the all important full size sensor), I can't understand why people would opt for something like the Lumix G3 -- that camera's EVF and LCD screen are like toys in comparison to the beautifully colourful & contrasty Sony tiltable screen and I was shooting a lot of out of focus blurred images with that one, not to mention it's poor low light performance.

I'm trying to come up with some negatives -- my only minor gripe would be the menu system is a little long winded if you want to change shooting modes etc. as the bulk of the camera is menu driven.

But like I said, I'm shooting in aperture mode 99% of the time which I've found produces the best results combined with a +1 on the sharpness level, AUTO ISO (which is pretty much spot on most of the time, AUTO WHITE BALANCE (again, spot on) and a exposure compensation of +1/3. Most of the shots I've taken don't need editing & are good to go straight from the camera.

There are a lot of bells & whistles built in, HDR mode, Panorama shooting, Toy Camera etc etc etc. -- look at the Sony site for the full specs, I'm not here to give you a full breakdown, just my own user experience.

Ultimately for me, the greatest thing about the camera is it's ergonomic in the hand, light & easy to use - even if you're a novice photographer (just shoot in Auto mode and it still takes beautiful shots).

Having used the entry level Nikon D3100 I have to say this takes much better pictures and is far lighter, smaller & easier to use. Why bother with DSLR bulk when you can have all the creative options AND MORE with this little beauty.

Battery life is great though it takes 4hrs or so to fully charge & this is done with the battery in the camera. The battery is identical to the others in the NEX series so if this bothers you & you think you need a back-up, spares are available here on Amazon for £12 along with external chargers for the same price. For the average Joe like myself, a fully charged camera will last you all day, easy.

Quick word on video quality, after the NEX-5N experience, most importantly there's no clicking! Hooray Sony! 1080 24fps is smooth & crisp, stereo audio quality is good too if a little lacking in bass (to my ears at least).

If you're looking for an upgrade to your compact or you're sick of your bulky DSLR, I cannot recommended the Sony NEX-F3 more highly, truly a flawless little camera. Forget the micro 4/3 stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to start out in the world of Compact System Cameras, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NEXF3 16.1MP Interchangeable Lens Compact System Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Black (Electronics)
This camera is great for those people who want to upgrade from their point-and-shoot digital camera, but don't want to fork out for the more expensive or more bulky DSLR cameras. It might be a lower budget version of the Nex 6 and 7, but the picture quality rivals them with little trouble.

The menu system is a hassle, time consuming to filter through, and there's no wheel for sifting throuh options or changing shooting modes, but if like me you can get over that, this might be the camera for you. After all, the pictures are why you buy a camera, and you certainly wont disappointed with the F3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 up from a compact AND on a par with many dslr's, 25 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Sony NEXF3 16.1MP Interchangeable Lens Compact System Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Black (Electronics)
you've got to admire sony. of late they most certainly have NOT sat on their laurels and are consistently producing many great products throughout their many lines of varied electronic consumer goods. this nex f3 camera (in terms of time passed) is a little long in the tooth now..and has been superceded by many older siblings..but it remains (I believe) the best value sony nex and the best value (regardless of the brand) CSC that money can buy. a prime lens gives the camera wings..but even with the 18-55mm kit lens the results are remarkable. the build quality is superb and the camera with a prime lens or the kit lens attached sits very nicely in your hands. the menu HAS to be gotten used to..but once acclimatized to the functions are readily (albeit quirkily/sometimes long windily) to hand. the lack of an evf is a little detrimental to making it an absolute all round package..but a good anti-glare screen guard will half the problem that bright sunlight poses. if an evf is desired the available model is staggeringly good and it invokes a transformative truly pleasurable photographic experience..bringing joy and clarity to the table. it's expensive (around £200) but it's not far short of being highly worth it. I have extensively used and/or own a fuji xs-1/x10 a nikon v1/j2 a panasonic g2 a pentax k-01 and a nikon d7000 and great though they all are in their respective classes..it is the sony that gives me the greatest photographic enjoyment and rewards. obviously this (the above) is true for me and my experience will not realistically be mirrored by all purchasers/users. all the cameras mentioned (above) were/are very 'giving' to me and there will be many more (not mentioned) that are serving their owners well...it's just that the sony IS (for me) more giving and is a camera I recommend all folk - looking to take 3 (YES THREE!) steps up from a compact or to downsize a little from their bulky dslr - to put a nex f3 (or other nex model) on their 'to try' list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NEXF3 16.1MP Interchangeable Lens Compact System Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Black (Electronics)
Very easy to use and understand,lightweight,and easy to hold,pleased with the price,well worth the money,would recommend to anyone to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Camera, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NEXF3 16.1MP Interchangeable Lens Compact System Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Black (Electronics)
If you are an amateur like me an looking for a small slr camera that can take brilliant photos without much effort, this is the right camera or you. Before i bought this, i was worried if the compact buttons and functions will be the biggest issue for me, but I was very wrong. Its a user friendly camera and you will find any problems with the settings etc to get amazing photos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 1 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NEXF3 16.1MP Interchangeable Lens Compact System Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Black (Electronics)
this is my first interchangable camera, great size, great quality pics, easy to use, perfect. (THERE IS NO VIEW FINDER)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely camera, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NEXF3 16.1MP Interchangeable Lens Compact System Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Black (Electronics)
takes decent to good pictures, all depends on how good photographer you are. manual settings are little confusing for someone inexperienced like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good cheap camera, 9 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Sony NEXF3 16.1MP Interchangeable Lens Compact System Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Black (Electronics)
if you are on a budget and want a NEX camera the F3 is a viable choice. With the good high ISO performance of the F3 you can shoot without the flash, indoors or at night and get great results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Nex F3, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Portability is a key issue for me, so delighted with that. Really pleased with informative display for different shooting modes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for auto but not good for manual, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony NEXF3 16.1MP Interchangeable Lens Compact System Digital Camera with 18-55mm Lens - Black (Electronics)
Its good quality at price £290. Wide range of effect, high quality of picture. But if you come to manual, it is a different story. It takes ages to see your picture :/ between pushing button, then your camera is frozen with black screen like forever, then click sounds, then proCESSing, and here you are, your picture after 15s /:

Good quality with auto though, but i would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews