Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not quite ultimate (even now!)
Bob Seger is criminally under-rated in the UK, although to my knowledge he has rarely, if ever, performed here. As has been previously mentioned, the first attempt to compile his greatest songs back in 1995 was far from satisfactory. This is a much better representation of the legendary American rocker's output, featuring at least a dozen classics including the brilliant...
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by Jeremy S

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stingy!
I'm perplexed at the needless stinginess of the record company; with each of the discs less than an hour in length there are other songs which deserved inclusion without omitting some of the, in my opinion, less deserving. Everybody has their own favourites but any Bob Seger fan might have expected to see "Wreck This Heart", "Real At The Time", "Feel Like A Number",...
Published on 1 Aug 2012 by Swadmon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not quite ultimate (even now!), 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bob Seger is criminally under-rated in the UK, although to my knowledge he has rarely, if ever, performed here. As has been previously mentioned, the first attempt to compile his greatest songs back in 1995 was far from satisfactory. This is a much better representation of the legendary American rocker's output, featuring at least a dozen classics including the brilliant Hollywood Nights (the best driving song ever!), Old Time Rock'n Roll, Night Moves, Still The Same and Mainstreet. There are some good live songs plus lesser known album tracks such as The Fire Down Below, a blistering mid-tempo rocker on the subject of prostitution!

So why not 5 stars? firstly, the definitive (and rather beautiful) Seger ballad We've Got Tonight is an abridged version which omits the 'quiet' refrain near the end: this seems careless! Secondly, Even Now, one of his biggest hits and with a splendid intro, is not included: Seger must really hate this song as it doesn't feature on any of his compilations: I really cannot imagine why! Thirdly, The Fire Inside, a consistently good album from 1991, is not represented at all, while instead the CD is back-loaded with a handful of forgettable covers and Christmas fillers, none of which are worth listening to in the slightest! Still, this is by far the best Bob Seger compilation available, and for that reason I recommend it. Perfect for playing at full volume as you drive down the M3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a Decent Bob Seger Compilation, 22 Nov 2011
By 
For some odd reason, the catalog of Bob Seger (BS) was more or less limited to his greatest hits compilation from the early 90s, taking advantage of people buying anew music they had on record LPs in the more recent CD format. Like other incomplete compilations from that period, e.g. Journey's Greatest Hits, it sold many million copies simply because those were the only sensible releases for people to buy (unlike Bob Seger, Journey's catalog was available but most people simply went for the Greatest Hits package).

A few glaring omissions in the previous BS compilation included Fire Lake, Rock and Roll Never Forgets, Katmandu, Shame on the Moon and his biggest hit, Shakedown (he said he hated it at that time). BS selected those tracks himself, not always the perfect judge on what the rest of the world considered his best moments. These omitted tracks are all here. Almost half, 12 tracks split evenly between his 3 biggest albums (Night Moves, Stanger in Town & Against the Wind), cover the 26 tracks in total. The rest is mostly radio and fan favorites. What you have here is thus a rather complete BS collection.

There are still a few, albeit minor hits missing, such as Even Now, The Real Love and American Storm. Also, his post 80s work is practically non-existent. Since there is plenty of space left on each CD, one could ask for a little more. I, however, don't mind that much (do mainly miss The Real Love, a great song), with the length of 2 sides of an LP just about the right length in one listening session of BS for me.

I recommend paying a little more for this set as opposed to the single CD version since this one is way more complete track wise. The old version also had terrible acoustics (maybe an indication of the sloppiness of that compilation)with a flat bright feel , something that has been smoothed on this version. This is, finally, the decent Seger compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better late than never, 18 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. David Errington (Morpeth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Somehow, Bob Seger passed me by for years without coming across his music. Then I was watching one of the music channels, and they showed a live version of 'Hollywood Nights'. It blew me away, and I ordered this album on the strength of that one song. I have not been disappointed. I like it so much, the first CD has been in my car CD player for about 4 weeks now. 'Hollywood Nights' remains my favourite, but 'Night Moves' and 'Down on Main Street' run it close. When you add the likes of 'Turn the Page' it makes for a very enjoyable listen. Bob has a great voice, who to me, reminds me of cross between Neil Young and Rod Stewart. Whoever he may remind you of, I would definitely recommend buying this album. The only regret is I wish 'Rosalie' was included, as I have this song by Thin Lizzy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stingy!, 1 Aug 2012
I'm perplexed at the needless stinginess of the record company; with each of the discs less than an hour in length there are other songs which deserved inclusion without omitting some of the, in my opinion, less deserving. Everybody has their own favourites but any Bob Seger fan might have expected to see "Wreck This Heart", "Real At The Time", "Feel Like A Number", "Till It Shines", "Long Twin Silver Line", "Take A Chance", "Even Now" and "Somewhere Tonight" in this collection - the pity is that there was room for them, plus maybe a couple more! Now that would have been a real "5 star" double disc.

I know that compact discs no longer cost top dollar but this release could have represented much better value and been an encouragement for newer fans to acquire some of Bob's back catalogue. "Old Time Rock 'n' Roll" was named by the Amusement and Music Operators Association (in the USA) as the most played record ever by a male artist and is ranked at #2 on their Top 40 juke box singles of all time; that's some achievement.

This release was an opportunity for the record company, via an advertising campaign, to capitalize on the song's status and to bring Bob's music to the attention of the masses; an opportunity wasted. Only three stars from me for this package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok..But!, 20 Mar 2012
These Greatest Hits are alright, but what I would really like is to have Bob's first seven albums released on cd, especially Mongrel. Quite different music on them. Hard rock, but also a lot of soul. And they did play London's Hammersmith Odeon, in late 77, I think it was. Great concert, and always remember the saxophonist getting up on the speaker stack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GREAT STUFF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bob - You have another fan !!, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't know too much of Bob Seger, and he was certainly right off my radar, until Spotify one evening "recommended" listening to some tracks from this "best of" compilation. Now there are some albums you'd buy after just hearing a few good tracks that hit the spot, but once listened to all the way through, there is sometimes disappointment at some of the other tracks you just want to skip - NOT this one !! The rest is history as they say - an excellent compilation double album that has been my no. 1 in car entertainment since it's purchase. Am I happy with it ... what do you think ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bab Seger double album, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Double album that gives you the best of this long serving top rated artist. Fans will probably have most of the tunes already but a good purchase for anyone looking to get a collection of his most famous works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the Great Songs and Hits of Bob Seger on 2 cds for an excellent price., 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cd is for Fans or People who cannot buy all the cds of Bob Seger and just want to have some of His Best Songs and hits. I bought the 2 cds package at an Excellnet Price from one of the Dealers here at Amazon. Go through the differnet sellers before You buy this cd and see their profiles and you wil find excellent sellers at a good price and well reputated and cheaper than from amazon.co.uk but it may take a few days longer to get to You but uasually the sellers are correct and the cd should arrive at least after 5 days or so. Mine arrived three days after I ordered it. I bought My Cd from RevisionNet and They had the best price for the cd. The cd was sent the same day that I ordered it and it was very well packed and protected for its journey to Me here in Belgium
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Seger Ultimate Hits, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Hits: Rock and Roll Never Forgets (MP3 Download)
I had a lot of these tracks on vynil, so it's great to get this album for my car and get some new tracks as well. I had almost forgotten how good this guy is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Hits: Rock and Roll Never Forgets
Ultimate Hits: Rock and Roll Never Forgets by Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews