Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a mere pastiche
This is a very classy album which should probably be required listing for all contestants in the current crop of Saturday night warble fests. Sure, it looks and sounds as if it was recorded in 1972 but Sarah Joyce is such a gifted interpreter of this material that it never sounds like a pastiche or a mere exercise in nostalgia. The song choice is solid, mining a number of...
Published on 29 May 2012 by Robert Pomeroy

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sends you back to the originals
There will be no arguments from me about the quality of Rumer's song selections, all from male singer songwriters of the 70s and many neglected for far too long, for example, Clifford T Ward's emotional Home Thoughts From Abroad. My problem with the album is that it makes me want to go back to John Oates' original guitar intro to Sarah Smile or to hear the strings coming...
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by Martin Fielding


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys Don't Cry (Audio CD)
Very prompt delivery, I have seen rumer in concert and bought this CD as a present, but have not listened to it personally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This woman's voice is truly a gift from God. Her vocalisations are top-notch and she makes these male written/sung songs seem like they were specifically written for her alone.

If you haven't listened to her singing 'A House is Not a Home' live at the White House, Google it and listen - wow!!! Please, Rumer, release this track and more like it.

I recommend both of Rumer's albums + her EPs.

An Artist that almost demands 5 stars with her vocal skills and I'm happy to give them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boys dont cry Rumer, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys Don't Cry (Audio CD)
Quite a nice CD but not what I expected. Some tracks are great but some not so much. It does not make me want to buy another Rumer CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys Don't Cry (Audio CD)
This is my first Rumer CD purchased and have to say it is very good, cant believe how much she sounds like Karen Carpenter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What more can one say about Rumer, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys Don't Cry (Audio CD)
Very pleasant and easy listening for anyone and you don't have to be a Rumer fan to enjoy her melodious voice. She is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 13 Jan 2013
By 
David R. Wood (Great Malvern) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys Don't Cry (Audio CD)
Rumer's silky voice enhances these songs delightfully, and the arrangements are brilliant. There are some sublime moments on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: Boys Don't Cry (Audio CD)
Like laying down in a bath full of frothy cappuccino with extra chocolate sprinkles and marshmallows for bath toys. Silky smooth and full of class. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A enjoyable album, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys Don't Cry (Audio CD)
Same to her last one album, it can make listner drown in melodies. I was touched when listening this album. The classic Jazz is a bit hard for me. The Jazz Blues is just very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful songs, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys Don't Cry [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Much better on vinyl than on CD. Great songs. Excellent sound quality, its great to hear an uncompressed dynamic sound recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Ms. Alison J. Armstrong (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys Don't Cry (Audio CD)
great album from a great singer very Karen Carpenter sounding, nice and relaxing. Came a little later than expected, but was in time for Christmas. Well worth the listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boys Don't Cry
Buy MP3 Album£6.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews