Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky..., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: Lost Hearts / The Treasure of Abbot Thomas / The Ash Tree (DVD) (DVD)
I remember watching Lost Hearts as a child along with many other ghostly offerings from the BBC which sparked a life long interest in the supernatural. Lost Hearts is as scary to me now as it was then, over 35 years on... TV heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: Lost Hearts / The Treasure of Abbot Thomas / The Ash Tree (DVD) (DVD)
Well recommended. Great item and breand new. Great addition to anyones collection. A must for any avid fans. Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost stories, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: Lost Hearts / The Treasure of Abbot Thomas / The Ash Tree (DVD) (DVD)
Found quality of DVD bit iffy, dont know if because it was due to poor original film. However brilliant to see these stories again, first saw them aged 11or 12 and still worth seeing nearly 40 years on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ghost stories from the BBC, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: Lost Hearts / The Treasure of Abbot Thomas / The Ash Tree (DVD) (DVD)
Brilliant, frightening, scary.....terrific
These films come from the great days of the BBC or indeed any television company.
Superbly photographed combined with wonderful story telling and direction. I would recommend this dvd
to anyone who wants to watch the very best television has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ghost Stories, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: Lost Hearts / The Treasure of Abbot Thomas / The Ash Tree (DVD) (DVD)
I would look forward to these annual events eagerly with baited breath , they never disappointed . I watched mouth agape , I was young ! M R James was a master of the ghost story , buy this now for Christmas and watch it instead of the awful stuff put out on the major channels .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas thriller, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: Lost Hearts / The Treasure of Abbot Thomas / The Ash Tree (DVD) (DVD)
I always used to watch the Christmas ghost story and thought I would give it another go this year.It didn't disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable chillers, 19 Sep 2012
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: Lost Hearts / The Treasure of Abbot Thomas / The Ash Tree (DVD) (DVD)
I waited eagerly for this release, having been a fan of the BBC Ghost Stories for many years. The three stories on this disc are all excellent examples of them - in fact Lost Hearts is one that caused me considerable disturbance when I first watched it many years ago. The special effects have not held up well for the most part, but since those were kept to a minimum in all three tales, it doesn't detract too much from them (and the sound effects in 'The Ash Tree' are superbly unsettling). What makes these dramas special is the carefully crafted storytelling, and that is timeless. None of them stick exactly to James' originals, but the divergence is clearly due to the television medium needing more visual impact and less exposition. 'The Treasure of Abbot Thomas' moves furthest from the source and in my opinion weakens the effect by making the main character far more unsympathetic, but it still tells a good tale.

The dvd is accompanied by an excellent booklet about the stories and the making of the dramatisations, but there are very few extras; all you get is an optional introduction for each one from the director. That was a bit of a letdown after the earlier release, Stalls of Barchester Cathedral, had the wonderful bonus of the Christopher Lee readings. And there does not seem to have been much done to improve the picture and sound quality. But you do get three first-class horror stories for your money, and it seems ungrateful to demand more. Well worth investing in for any lover of classic horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost stories., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: Lost Hearts / The Treasure of Abbot Thomas / The Ash Tree (DVD) (DVD)
very good ghost stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews