Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for The Signalman alone ...
In Hitch-Hiker terms, I suppose this is the fourth DVD of the James trilogy. The selection makes sense, as this volume gives you the three non M R James stories of the long occasional Christmas series. I can't comment on The Ice House or Stigma, as I can't remember whether I saw them on TV (I will have to wait until this volumeis actually released) , and my automatic...
Published on 29 May 2012 by Bob Sherunkle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Time past
Its dated as far as ghost stories go, however the Signalman still holds sway. I might have remembered it as better, still will look for further dvds on this line
Published 5 months ago by Ronald P. Hayes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
I bought this for 'The Signalman' only so can't really comment on the other two - haven't watched them yet. I first saw this when it was shown on the BBC as a Christmas ghost story long before video/DVD. The transfer to DVD isn't brilliant by today's standards but it's all about story and the performance. I used to be a signalman myself in the 80's in a box located miles from anywhere and I can attest from personal experience that strange things happen (if only in your own mind) in the small hours of the morning and I was really glad the door had a lock on the inside :-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Time past, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Ronald P. Hayes "ron" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
Its dated as far as ghost stories go, however the Signalman still holds sway. I might have remembered it as better, still will look for further dvds on this line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!! Very happy indeed., 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
My dad had watched the stories previously and enjoyed them. I bought the DVD and gave it to my dad as a birthday pressy which he was over the moon with. DVD had no dysfunctional marks or scratches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Stories, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
This DVD had three individual stories but was not as good as I had hoped, however, they were still watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Ghost Stories., 1 Feb 2013
By 
Willma (Soutnh Wales, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
I saw these stories when they were first on the BBC, and thoroughly enjoyed them. As things in the supernatural programmes/films/books, have moved on since these were first shown, I was hoping that they weren't too 'creaky'. Must admit that I was pleasantly surprised that they still help my attention. I put them on when a friend came round for luch, as she is always interested in what books/dvds/cds I have bought since she was last here. As she is a lot younger than me, I though that she would find them boring, as they are not as fast paced as the more modern horror stories, but she enjoyed them very much.
I will have to look and see if there are more DVDs with the old BBC ghost stories, as I would like to get all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Stories from the BBC, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
This was bought as a present and the recipient loved it.

Makes a great gift for those fascinated by unexplained happenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Stories from the BBC The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice house, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
I found this compilation of ghost stories abysmal, the acting poor, the story lines inane, a travesty for BBC Drama. i have usually found old BBC plays and films quite good even taking in the early days of films for TV adaption. the director should have been sacked on the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spooky, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
Xmas present for my son-in-law and specifically requested as he enjoyed the original showing. Haven't personally watched them but am assured they are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit dated!!!, 13 Feb 2013
By 
jenny Cee (wimbledon london) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
It's amazing how things have dated on the TV and cinema screen. I remember seeing this years ago and thought I might like it again. It's quite scary but also predictable. Things change and improve unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars these sort wouldnt be to expensive if only people wouldnt write about em on internet. to dvd., 18 Dec 2012
This review is from: Ghost Stories from the BBC: The Signalman / Stigma / The Ice House (DVD) (DVD)
memories of there childhood. and why r they not on dvd yet. giving clues away. that u will pay alot for em. u with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews