Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lucky find !!
This was an impulse buy at Tesco and is a typical afternoon movie what you might call a light weight but with a subtle difference it has beautiful camera work and breath taking scenery. The story is typical of what you might expect in that the boy finds the girl she initially hates him then grows to love him but it's done in such a way as to take it above the normal...
Published 16 months ago by David H J Ashdown

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Lucky One" on BLU RAY...
My 19-year old daughter is a monster fan of 2004's "The Notebook" and the books of Nicholas Sparks - so I had to get 2012's "The Lucky One" for her.

For Daddy there's the fabulous actress TAYLOR SCHILLING who I think is a huge star in the making (sort of America's answer to Emily Blunt). I've pigged out on over 40 episodes of both TV Series "Mercy" (2009) and...
Published 9 months ago by Mark Barry


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lucky find !!, 15 Aug 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lucky One [DVD] (DVD)
This was an impulse buy at Tesco and is a typical afternoon movie what you might call a light weight but with a subtle difference it has beautiful camera work and breath taking scenery. The story is typical of what you might expect in that the boy finds the girl she initially hates him then grows to love him but it's done in such a way as to take it above the normal offerings. It's worth the £5 it cost and is good enough to be watched a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Lucky One" on BLU RAY..., 16 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
My 19-year old daughter is a monster fan of 2004's "The Notebook" and the books of Nicholas Sparks - so I had to get 2012's "The Lucky One" for her.

For Daddy there's the fabulous actress TAYLOR SCHILLING who I think is a huge star in the making (sort of America's answer to Emily Blunt). I've pigged out on over 40 episodes of both TV Series "Mercy" (2009) and "Orange Is The New Black" (2013) precisely because she rocks both with a lightness of touch on the one hand and a genuine depth on the other. It's easy to see why Director Scott Hicks picked Schilling to stand alongside a now grown-up and buffed up ZAC EFRON in "The Lucky One" (clever casting and career moves in both cases).

I wish I could say that this is a great romance film - it isn't - but it definitely has its moments. Unfortunately a lot of the time it feels two shades short of a bad Mills and Boons book. The fluffy dogs - the idyllic surroundings - the dishevelled mother (Blythe Danner) and the pretty daughter (Taylor Schilling) - the aw-shucks family values - the laughing and flicking of hair in row boats - the shagging in dripping showers - the obstacles she must overcome (a lost brother, a bullying husband and a politically manipulative Mayor). Then there are the obligatory schlock songs in-between fields and afternoon walks, a violin-playing son in need of a father figure and cutesy tree houses. It also keeps the absolute worst piece of Rock Ballad turd I've ever heard until the end credits roll.

"The Lucky One" tries real hard - it does - but when it should be winning your heart - it's actually making you cringe. "The Jane Austen Book Club" or "People Like Us" or "Now Is Good" are all so much better.

On the upside - Zac looks great and successfully ups his acting range by giving a Marine Corp Sergeant man-of-few-words-but-they-count performance that works (he's returned after Iraq to search for a woman in a photograph he believes has been his life-saving charm). "The Lucky One" is a definite move forward for him. Zac Efron is also very personable - you like him - and there's undeniable chemistry between him and Schilling. And when the film is dancing the romance between the two leads - it works well. But there are too many syrupy moments that follow and other sunny set scenes that feel like a well-filmed Ridley Scott Hovis Advert - all style and no substance.

If you are a fan and must own it - the picture quality on the BLU RAY is truly stunning - making full use of Louisiana Woods, Rivers and Lawns and their awesome dusk/dawn lighting. It's also defaulted to full screen so the visual impact is immense.

"The Lucky One" will probably elicit howls of derision from critics and pick up a few rotten tomato awards along the way too - but its just not 'that bad'. What is a shame though is that you won't really feel 'lucky' after you've viewed it. You just end up wondering when Nicholas Sparks is going to repeat the magic of "The Notebook" - or was the pairing of Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams just pure luck - very real lightning but in a very rare bottle?

Pass me the dog shampoo - I've got to wash my hair and dream of Taylor...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok... but nothing to write home about, 22 Sep 2012
By 
W. Martin "Mummy Martin" (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An easy watch, acting quite good... however rather predictable. Not as good as I had hoped. One to rent, not buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Everyone has their own destiny. No everyone makes the choice to follow it.", 29 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
First I have to confess that I have not read the book. This is not my preferred genre for reading.

The film however deserves a viewing as it does rings around what could have been a Hallmark movie. This was formula enough to pretty much guess the complete film from the early beginning. However I suspect the draw is the character interaction and not a mystery or action. All the actors were good in their parts and very believable. I thought Blythe Danner was exceptional.

Basic story is of a marine Vet, on his third tour of duty in Iraq; Sgt. Logan Thibault (Zac Efron) finds a picture during the war. He believes this is his good luck charm and is determined to fine the person behind the smile in the picture that he owes his life to. He finds more than he bargained for. Did he fine more than he could handle?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Film, 30 Jun 2012
By 
Rebecca Thompson (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Zach Effron plays Logan a US Marine who while on a tour of duty in Iraq sees a picture on the ground. When he picks it up he notices that it's a photograph of a beautiful young woman. As he is looking at it a bomb goes off where he had just been standing and he realises that the photo saved his life. Logan decides to find the woman in the photo so that he can thank her for saving his life.
The story is sweet and predictible and there weren't really any surprises but I still enjoyed it.
I'm not usually a Zach Effron fan but loved him in this. This film probably wouldn't appeal to Zach's younger fans as it does feature quite a few love scenes and I must admit that these were somewhat spoilt for me by a group of young girls who kept laughing whenever these came on.
I really enjoyed this film and can't wait to see it on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lucky One [DVD] (DVD)
Good romantic film.thoroughly enjoyed it! Nicholas sparks stories usually good.This one did not disappoint- sometimes it's just nice to watch a film which you don't have to think about just enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film, 18 Oct 2012
This is a perfect film for a night in with the wine and chocolates. Great chemistry between the two leads and a moving story. Its not action packed but it does keep your interest all the way through and I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best!, 9 Oct 2012
I absolutely LOVE this film! Zac Efron is so dishy too! Went to go and see it at the cinema with my friend and I was pleasantly surprised with how easy it was to follow. I got the book soon after the visit to the cinema and finished it within days! Absolutely love Nicholas Sparks' books and movie adaptions and this did not let me down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so good, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lucky One [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say this chick flick is just great. Cried my eyes out. So sweet. Can't believe i never seen this film before. It's a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely and Simple, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lucky One [DVD] (DVD)
When did Zac Efron grow up. I really liked this movie i even got a little chocked up by it to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lucky One [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free]
The Lucky One [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] by Zac Efron (Blu-ray - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews