Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to Windows 8, lots of read
This Complete Guide to Windows 8 is packed with information about Microsoft's next-gen operating system. I'm really looking forward to Windows 8, and this is the perfect starters' guide, with about 100 pages of tutorials and information.
There's a great introduction to the different versions of Windows 8 - why can't there just be one, like Apple does with Mac OS...
Published on 21 May 2012 by Stamford

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Already out of date and very repetitive
Produced before the final retail release of Windows 8, it obviously has some omissions and differences in what you get in the final product. Mainly niggling things like continual reference to the Metro UI ( the name was dropped well before release). However the biggest problem, and why I gave up on it is the continual repetition of 'features'. It was almost as if the...
Published 21 months ago by J. Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to Windows 8, lots of read, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
This Complete Guide to Windows 8 is packed with information about Microsoft's next-gen operating system. I'm really looking forward to Windows 8, and this is the perfect starters' guide, with about 100 pages of tutorials and information.
There's a great introduction to the different versions of Windows 8 - why can't there just be one, like Apple does with Mac OS X?
The New Features section is indepth, and by reading this guide I think I'll be ready to really roll with Windows 8 as soon as it comes out later in the year.
Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Already out of date and very repetitive, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
Produced before the final retail release of Windows 8, it obviously has some omissions and differences in what you get in the final product. Mainly niggling things like continual reference to the Metro UI ( the name was dropped well before release). However the biggest problem, and why I gave up on it is the continual repetition of 'features'. It was almost as if the book was written by many different people, all contributing a chapter and repeating what others were saying - it got tedious. As a result the book feels twice as long as it needs to be, there are better books available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
I bought this guide because I was new to windows 8.I was put off Windows 8 because of the negitive reviews on the net. This guide taught me that Windows 8 is just techie progress not always thought out but it is just a different kind of operating system and we have to accept change and relearn as we continue to use computers. There is always a work around if you dont like features in Windows 8. The guide is a bit to much into windows OS history and also the comparison between older windows versions. However, hang in there, the guide is good and gives you a very good grounding to get you started using Windows 8 and also encourages you to read more about the more advanced features of Windows 8. It is a good guide and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with., 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
Very happy with. Found it concise but helpful. A useful reference for Windows 8. Good value for money I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old Material, 27 Feb 2013
By 
J. Clemence - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
While it might have been useful when written this is based on and published some months before Windows 8 was finally published. While this might be OK in a second hand book shop there is little reason for an electronic version newly purchased not to have been up-dated or at least come with a warning before paying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Windows 8 book right now, 21 May 2012
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
there's a lot of good information about windows 8 here. i like the layout and it is easy to read. some of the information is about the consumer preview but i suppose that is all there is right now. thanks for the good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
all as described -ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Time for your history lesson..., 6 July 2014
By 
Martin Pipe "martinpipe3" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
There are a number of Windows 8 books available and this really is not the one you should choose. It was written before the OS was actually sold with PCs and the first third of the book is padded out with a comprehensive history of MS Operating Systems. This is great if you want a Microsoft history lesson but what follows is is only marginally better.

Honestly, try another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed very helpful, 3 Dec 2013
By 
J. A. Wheat - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
Good quality, excellent value, just what I wanted. Fast delivery,well packaged delighted with the purchase. Can't go wrong buying from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 - The Complete Guide (Kindle Edition)
Spends far too much time on the history of Windows and not enough on Windows 8. Looks like a case of " get a publication out early and get onto the band wagon!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows 8 - The Complete Guide
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews