Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A huge amount of fun, and redeems the franchise after Far Cry 2
A group of American tourists in Bangkok are convinced to visit the isolated Rook Islands, a beautiful tropical paradise off the normal tourist track. Unfortunately the islands are also in a state of civil war, with the native Rakyat tribe battling pirates and drug-runners who have taken over the area. The Americans are taken prisoner by the pirates, but Jason Brody...
Published on 24 Dec. 2012 by A. Whitehead

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed !!!!!
A much awaited game, 1st, key code not accepted, so had to go through `e`mail conversation to get it fixed, Not a good start!
2nd, have to go online to start playing the game before you can play off line & I have`nt the quickest B/band speed,
3rd. game freezing/ blanking out mid game & having to quit out & start the session over again, this is really annoying...
Published 22 months ago by eric hagon


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A huge amount of fun, and redeems the franchise after Far Cry 2, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A group of American tourists in Bangkok are convinced to visit the isolated Rook Islands, a beautiful tropical paradise off the normal tourist track. Unfortunately the islands are also in a state of civil war, with the native Rakyat tribe battling pirates and drug-runners who have taken over the area. The Americans are taken prisoner by the pirates, but Jason Brody manages to escape and find sanctuary amongst the Rakyat. He is trained in the ways of war, but as he seeks out his friends and tries to take down the pirate leader, Vaas, he risks losing his soul as the violence and conflict intensifies.

Far Cry 3 is the third title in the Far Cry franchise, though it is not a true sequel. It does not share any story or character elements with its two predecessors and can be played fully independently of them. What it does share is the same ethos: a dedication to providing a story-driven single-player experience within a sandbox environment, giving the player immense freedom in deciding how to proceed.

Far Cry 2 was heavily criticised for featuring a similar approach, but not doing enough with it. The game's annoyances - almost non-existent characterisation and of course the frequent road checkpoints with near-instantly respawning enemies which made travel across the map excruciatingly frustrating - overwhelmed the game's conceptual strong points, such as its 'buddy' NPC system and rich atmosphere. The designers of Far Cry 3 seem to have borne the previous title's problems in mind and provided a counter for every one of them whilst reinforcing those elements that did work. In short, Far Cry 3 finally fulfils the potential its predecessor squandered, and redeems the franchise.

The game employs a number of different systems which work in tandem to make it more engrossing for the player. There's a campaign story which you can follow, in which Brody rescues his friends one-by-one before trying to kill Vaas and his ally, the drug-runner Hoyt. However, at the start of the game Brody is a nobody with no combat training and no ability to carry lots of guns around. To improve your chances of survival, you can undertake training missions for the Rakyat or go hunting animals to improve your aim. Skinning these animals also allows you to craft holders, bandoliers and backpacks, allowing you to carry more ammo and gear. However, your map at the start of the game is almost devoid of any useful information: to open up more map information, you have to ascend radio towers and download information from them. Travelling around the islands is also hazardous due to enemy checkpoints and strongholds. To reduce the number of enemies roaming the islands, taking out these outposts is essential. Unlike Far Cry 2's instantly-respawning bases, however, the outposts in Far Cry 3 stay cleared once cleared. In fact, Rakyat forces soon show up and these outposts become havens for resupply and re-equipping between missions. Outposts also generate their own missions, with side-quests, further hunting challenges and assassination assignments becoming available.

In short, there is rarely a lack of something to do in Far Cry 3. It's up to you whether you pursue the single-player storyline to the exclusion of everything else, or put it on hold whilst clearing up all the side-quests first, or (more satisfyingly) mix and match as you proceed. There are whiffs of the Elder Scrolls and GTA series in the game's freeform structure, with the same potential for unintentional dark comedy: laying down a minefield to trap unwary enemies only for the mines to be detonated by a wayward crocodile, or standing triumphant at the entrance to a freshly-liberated outpost only to be run over by a jeep carrying your over-exuberant allies. The game's addition of upgradeable skills and experience points continues the franchise's evolution into a pseudo-RPG, whilst it is a huge improvement over both its predecessors due to its much stronger characters. I can't remember the name of a single NPC from Far Cry 2, but the likes of Vaas, Hoyt and Citra definitely rank amongst the more memorable characters from recent first-person shooters.

Graphically, the game is lush and even beautiful. Whilst not quite the equal of the still-astonishing Crysis in its depiction of a jungle environment, it is still a remarkable graphical environment. Combat is much more satisfying than its predecessor, with a pleasing mix of long-range sniper and close-up assault options. The 'magic binoculars' from Far Cry (and missing from FC2) return, allowing you to 'tag' enemies and keep track of them even through walls. Whilst still being completely nonsensical, they are nevertheless a vital and welcome tool to help plan attacks.

On the negative side, the game is tonally disjointed. The main storyline features a thematic element in which your character's evolution from urban city-dweller to mystical jungle warrior (complete with magical tattoos) is commented on, with a sideline in musings on the corrosive effects of violence on the soul. Whilst it remains interesting that a game which features shooting people in the head actually takes time out to dwell on the consequences of such violence, it's also the case that this element is not particularly developed very far. Also, every violent game of recent note has done this, leading to the suspicion that such an element is being thrown in as a sop to justify its violence rather than a genuine attempt at commentary. Less philosophically, the game sometimes feels like a bit of a mish-mash between a linear, story-driven adventure and an open-world free-for-all, with the two sides of the game not meshing as well as they good.

Ultimately, Far Cry 3 (****½) is a ridiculous amount of fun. As a pure first-person shooter, it's the finest example the genre has thrown up in several years. It's a careful and successful refinement of the best elements of its predecessors, with the negative factors mostly removed. Whilst not as broodingly atmospheric as the recent Dishonored, in terms of a game being a sheer joy to play, it's a triumphant success and one of the best games of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A photo of a dwarf, in a crate, in a pond surounded by lizards., 13 Jan. 2013
By 
D. J. MORGAN (wales uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I was going to give this game 4 stars, but it would be wrong to, the title of this review actually happened in the game... In the depths of a jungle, I found a photo of a dwarf in a crate in a pond. No game that ass-backwards random gets any less than a five.

Any great, big, complicated, stuffed to the gunnels game is going to have problems, bugs, glitches, etc. are par for the course, then there are gameplay elements ported in from the console versions, QTE being a real bad example, having to mash a key repeatedly while under stress isn't fun... Its a job... Far Cry 3 makes a big mistake in QTEs which is to throw in a number of different keys so, say you get attacked by an animal, you will find yourself having to switch from the 'WADS' for movement to rapidly mashing 'c' or space randomly, its not great. And then there is the god awful checkpoint system... These two miserable aspects of play don't tarnish Far Cry badly enough to lose a star...

Now we have the soup out of the way lets move on to steak... The game itself, if your an old gamer, you might remember Hunter on the Amiga with some degree of love, the joy of the freedom of that game echos strongly in Far Cry, its a pure sandbox.
From the opening a strong story emerges that is reminiscent of The Beach and a bit of Lost, its a story that will suck you in, then you are left to run about one of the most incredible game worlds and you are gone... So is your life, time has no meaning, there is always a 'whats over that hill' or 'just one more outpost' before you pass out from sleep deprivation. The games island has a feeling of a living past, from ancient temples, Japanese base in WW2 to modern pirates and drug dealers the remnants of those who lived on the island are scattered everywhere, this game rewards explorers, not just with stories, but in game benefits from weapons to skills.
Skills are a big part of the game, hunting plays a massive part and the game urges you to become an 'anti Moses' killing 2 of every damn animal you find, and there are a lot of them, the vast range of wildlife you destroy is then utilized to expand your carrying capacity with stylish leather wear.
If your a little squeamish the game can go a little far with hacking chunks off animals... But its nothing to player healing... Which I'm not going to spoil.
That I think is one of the most interesting aspects of Far Cry 3 no review can 'spoil' or cover all the things that are in this game, there is so much to do, see, loot, and so many vehicles to be TWOK'd (Taken without the owners consent) that you are just going to have to go and see for yourself, go on! This is one show absolutely worth the price of admission.
Without doubt Far Cry 3 is one of those rare games that will be sitting in the much loved camp of my shelf with Fallout 3, Oblivion, Skyrim and Dishonored... Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The drought is over! A game that has me addicted., 26 Feb. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic!!!

Yes, that good. Really! I can't stop playing it even though I've completed the games story/plot line. It lets you carry on even when the story is complete!

Having been let down by so many 'Top' games over the past couple of years it really is a relief to find Far Cry 3 has renewed my faith in FPS games.

The story is like a film script/screen play. The animation is superb and the character acting excellent, especially the Vass character. You meet a lot of different 'interesting' characters as you progress, all well acted and animated.

Though there is a story and mass of missions to complete you can still roam the island and go hunting, both game and pirates. So you are relatively free to do as you want. Plus you get to amass many different weapons, skills and money.

The addition of so many living creatures on the islands really affects how the game plays, especially the predatory creatures. As well as looking out for pirates and mercenaries you have to constantly be aware of what is roaming around nearby e.g. tigers, bears, wild dogs and many more. You can be perched on a ridge overlooking a pirate camp planning your attack when suddenly you hear a roar or growl very close and realise you're in danger. So first priority is to remove the predator threat then get back to the mission in hand.

This all adds to the atmosphere of the game.

You can also drive different land vehicles, fly using a hang glider, parachute from the ski or later in the game use your flyin suit. Also boats, jet skis and more.

The story keeps you interested and never becomes dull with many objectives to complete and friends to be saved. And all along your character (Jason) starts to change as he is affected by the things he has to do and endure. Excellent!

I could go on and on as I can't emphasise how good this game is. Received it on release date and I'm still playing it.

GO BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant!, 29 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Graphics are amazing, the island is beautiful, all the guns are fun to use, all the vehicles are fun. People are saying the story is weak but I loved it! The side quests are fun and usually a challenge (hunting a "man eater" shark with a bow and arrow). The stealth is the best I've ever played. I just loved sneaking around the outposts killing everyone with my machete and chaining my kills together. I only saw one glitch where I went through a mountain whilst using the wing suit. the only real complaint I have is there are so many vehicles that can't be used. there are old motorbikes in scrap piles, helicopters and planes on airstrips that we can't use. Even an armored vehicle that the bad guys use.
Best game I've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Far Cry from reality, 11 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'll try my best to stay clear of any spoilers during this review.

So, Far Cry 3.

The game I found to be extremely fun to play, through till the very end.

The good points:

- Stealth, the game allows you to sneak around as much as you want undetected. I loved this addition to the game, it brought me much pleasure stealthily moving through a camp eliminating targets one by one.

- Vaas, as many of you are probably aware, Vaas is one of the games main antagonists. He's a brilliantly sculptured character who's complex and terrifying.

- The Jungle. The wildlife in the game adds another dimension to it, which is rarely featured in most games. Using the elements around you really immerses you into the game. Using the animals to upgrade your gear really makes you go out of your way to hunt and feel at one with the jungle.

- The Story Line - I found the majority of the characters, mostly the islands inhabitants, to be riviting. They're all believable and some leave you feeling honestly spooked by them. I'll explain more later.

- The Graphics. Many people really won't bother too much about this, however, as a PC Gamer I believe it's great to see games trying to make them as visually stunning as possible.

The bad points:

- The Graphics, I'm sure some people won't be able to run it on their PC therefore potentially a problem, although if this is the case buy it for the Xbox or Playstation. (Sort of a Moo point)

- The Story Line. Without giving anything away it's hard to say why. However, I found the game to be slightly rushed towards the end. Which is a shame as the game could have really blown your mind, but it failed to deliver. This doesn't deter me from the overall success of the game though.

- Multiplayer. Not really an issue with me personally as I never would have expected myself to play Far Cry for it's online capabilities, however not surprisingly I found the online game play boring. The loading times between matches are slow and take too long to keep me interested in it. To be fair though, I've played it very little therefore slightly not fair to judge completely.

Overall,

I'd give the game 9/10.

It implemented some really great features into the game and the characters were truly unique. My biggest critique would be that the second half of the game, although remaining fun to play, doesn't compare to the first half of the game.

If I've not managed to persuade you to buy the game, be patient. Steam will no doubt reduce the price during the Xmas sale, then you have no choice.

I hope this helps you make up your mind. Thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Cry 3, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Arrived promptly, much better price than high street shops, a real bargain, postage was reasonable, no problems with this item thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed !!!!!, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A much awaited game, 1st, key code not accepted, so had to go through `e`mail conversation to get it fixed, Not a good start!
2nd, have to go online to start playing the game before you can play off line & I have`nt the quickest B/band speed,
3rd. game freezing/ blanking out mid game & having to quit out & start the session over again, this is really annoying & frustrating.
4th. NO quick save feature.
A good game when & while its working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's a game of two halves..., 4 Jan. 2013
By 
P. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Overall I enjoyed Far Cry 3 - it recaptured enough of what made Far Cry excellent, and avoided enough of what made Far Cry 2 'nexcellent' - and so, if you enjoy reasonably open & non-ish linear game play set in a lovely jungle/island sand pit, then this is the game for you.

The hang-gliders are back and working well, so are the boats, and the zip-lines prove mildly amusing. The 'rewards/experience/skills' system works pretty well - new weapons get opened as you progress, and you'll need to progress along most game-paths (story-line, side stories, and 'other things') to reap all rewards. Similarly experience points bring new skills (to choose). Weapons can be upgraded albeit in quite a limited way - normally silencers, scopes, extended magazines and paint jobs.

The need to gather plants/animal skins is really not a big thing in the game, so I am suprised to read so much opprobrium vented on these areas. Whereas being attacked out of the blue by a tiger as you try to sneak up on a distracted guard is... erm... distracting... but then watching the guard post get overrun by said tiger is wildly amusing.

The first island is a hoot - and sets you up nicley for the second island, expecting much... and waiting... and expecting... and waiting... and... oh... it's finished... oh...... In fact the second island actually had me thinking that the Trigens really needed to make a re-appearance to liven things up a tad, as on the second island you are ignored by the mercenaries and it feels a little like all the best ideas have been used up by the time you get there - shame to say!

Overall I was left a bit disappointed - don't get me wrong this is a good game - 4.5 stars for the first island, 2.5 for the second - but in single player mode it's not a game to reward repeated play in the way Far Cry did, with its ability to replay specific maps/areas.

Is it a good game, yes! Is it a great game... well... very nearly. So it's back to STALKER for me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm....3.5, could easily have been 4.5, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Sorry but it had rather incompetently added elements to the game that were both completely idiotic and bloody annoying and ruined what was a really neat experience, so much so that I am...wary about FarCry 4!

The problem was not that it had this once but has had it three times at least!!

Fololwed by a really annoying FMV sequence, or realtime events I think they call them now.

Imagine playing for several days and your now smiling and thinking you da man, when suddenly you get taken out by a nobhead with the butt of his rifle?! Then an annoying lecture from the main protagonist, Vas.

Then it happened again and you get thrown in a will with bricks tied to your feet. Once escaped your out of a waterfall and suddenly, when the effects of blurry vision did not stubbornly remain even when half a mile from the waterfall, you have a timed sequence thats nigh on impossible, until you realise that the main path is non win-able, with no guns and a damned timed sequence against many bad guys and one with a shield when you have no guns and ammo other than the shotgun you just picked up?! Were these coders all drunk at a Christmas do when they coded these parts?!

So there was two sequences in close proximity, so imagine how relieved I was when I went back to the gamne after 3 months of leaving it alone as I hated it?

Now imagine how I felt when it seemd like 5 minutes later the same thing happened again?! Umm I think it was the bit with the big demonic creature you see in a vision while tripping on JewJew Bean Juice, or whatever it was?

Hmm I managed to get passed that bit and I realise I am not currently playing it at all, playing DI Riptide which is far worse? I do not know whether I have just got wrapped up in Riptide, as realising you can throw the crappy weapons has changed the game dramatically but its still bad, or I have hit another bit and am ignoring the game out of frustration and anger I have forgotten about?! I have a condition that scrambles my brainwaves, loss of memory and amplification and reduction of various brain waves and nervous system signals.

Hmm maybe I finished the game?! I simply cannot remember.

So its pretty good but be prepared to be very frustrated and angry at certain parts, if you have not played it already that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game this year easy !, 12 Dec. 2012
By 
iJason (Yeovil England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'm going to keep this short and sweet but I have to say I have played all the top games in 2012 and this is the best out the lot.

Pros :

Great Graphics ( Using very high settings with 6950 and the game runs perfect @ 1920 x 1080 ) Night and day real life cycles .

One of the best story's in a game ever !

Best way to sum this game up is think Skyrim but with guns :) & Jungle warfare .

This game really does deserve 9 /10 its that good , Anyone who gets this game for Christmas will love it and this is coming from someone like myself who is a pc geek and plays all the new titles . The past month I have played AC3 , Hitman A , Skyrim , and this game comes out on top its really that good ,

Best advice I can give is at the start of the game go hunting so you can get more ammo and also extra gun slot , This will help you out loads as the game goes on and also try get as many towers as these give you free guns ,

One more note always play the game in Admin mode , right click on the game EXE and launch in Admin mode always so you don't have any save issues. as without being in this mode it can mess up.

Top game and I still have so much more to do in it and Ive been playing it for 40 hours now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Cry 3 (PC DVD)
Far Cry 3 (PC DVD) by Ubisoft (Windows 7 / Vista)
£10.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews