Customer Reviews


320 Reviews
5 star:
 (230)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10 Best Open World. Maybe Best Game Ever.
I was apprehensive to get this, I'd never got FC before. Honestly I'm so glad I did though, it's completely captivated me. It's without a doubt the best open world FPS out there and in my top 5 games ever!

Graphics are nice, but limited by current console hardware. The world is only rendered within a 1/2 mile radius of your character, the rest and the...
Published 19 months ago by Will W

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good graphics, utterly rubbish storyline.
Having enjoyed Far Cry 2 and judged all other stealthy adventures against it, I was very very keen to get this long awaited game. Turned out to be a disappointment. The look of the game was very good for the most part, although there were glitches throughout. For example, ammunition bundles floating in mid air, animals and enemy troops getting stuck in flickering loops,...
Published 9 months ago by SL-N/1973


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10 Best Open World. Maybe Best Game Ever., 15 Feb 2013
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I was apprehensive to get this, I'd never got FC before. Honestly I'm so glad I did though, it's completely captivated me. It's without a doubt the best open world FPS out there and in my top 5 games ever!

Graphics are nice, but limited by current console hardware. The world is only rendered within a 1/2 mile radius of your character, the rest and the background is blurry.

Other than that, it's just stunning. There's simply SO much to do!
- The story is brilliant so far and I've never played such a large single player game that remains so addictive! (Unlike GTA which gets boring after a while)

- hunting and gathering in different areas for different things (pigs one area, komodo dragons another)around the island to create different items (e.g. Larger ammo or gun holster) is simply genius, creating so many of your own mini quests to go and get 3 boar hides or 2 shark skins to get that extra gun slot you want.

- then there's all the small side quests throughout the island. E.g. Races, supply drops, mercenary hitman missions etc etc.

- The map is HUGE and is revealed by climbing and activating radio towers dotted around the map. Similar to Assassin Creed's eagle viewpoints.

- the most fun for me so far is the pirate bases. These are enemy base camps that vary in size and population. You stake them out and plan your attack. You can do it stealthy and challenge yourself not to alert anyone, or go in guns blazing, explosions everywhere!
Each camp has an alarm that can be activated by the pirates if the s*** hits the fan, then more pirates will arrive. I personally LOVE the challenge of planning a stealthy attack. And each camp is designed uniquely with this gameplay in mind.
Once you take a base, it be becomes your base to buy guns from, fast track to etc..
A LOT of fun, and there are over 30 of them!

Even after all of that there's still co-op and multiplayer to explore. Not to mention the awesome map editor, allowing your own imagination to go wild and create whatever you want.

Truly amazing game, the environment is just awesome, with so many hilarious adventures to have. A must buy for anyone looking for an open, content rich game with hundreds hours gameplay. The hours literally fly by in no time while playing, there's simply so much fun to be had! Buy it!

P.s. I got my copy for only 16 off eBay 2nd hand! There's lots of cheap copy's going from people that have finished the game. However, make sure you buy one with an online code that has NOT been activated. Otherwise you will have to buy a new code if you wish to access online multiplayer or co-op. (unless SP is all you're interested in)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 2 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this on the recommendation of a friend and was not disappointed.

It is a very good, fun game with plenty of challenges and side quests outside the main mission and a huge area to explore. The graphics and details are brilliant and the wildlife around the islands will keep you on your toes...lookout for the bears! :| Other reviewers have commented on the lack of variety of guns/vehicles but I feel that there are enough of each for the game to be believable - too wide a variety would feel less realistic.

And just a note on why the game got 4 stars and not 5, if you start a mission and then fail it will reset to the start of the mission - I'd inadvertently started a mission, gone to explore a different area and then the mission "failed" and reset my progress to the start of the mission. I then had to complete the mission before being allowed to carry on exploring. Very annoying.

Apart from that though the game is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 24 Dec 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
This has to be one of the best open world FPS games ever made (GTA, Just Cause etc are TPS).

The environment that they have created is exceptional - the flora and fauna really turn it into an engaging and believable tropical island. Considering the amount of vegetation being drawn at any one moment, the draw distance and frame rate are superb for a PS3 game. I can't think of an openworld game on PS3 that runs better, considering how much is on screen.

The AI of both the pirates and the animals is also very good, clearing a pirate outpost with stealth alone is a real challenge. Completing everything the game has to offer could easily swallow up 100 hours of your time. Collecting memory cards, relics, WW2 letters, Rakyat missions, vehicle time trials, bird shooting, poker, knife throwing, main missions, radio towers etc - the amount of content is huge. The RPG elements such as building your skills via a tatoo and creafting syringes (powerups) and bags (ammo and loot) really gives an FPS a bit of depth. The main missions, 38 in total offer up some interesting story and character elements and also unlock your skills - although they are a little bit too drug induced for my liking. You'll also love the first time you get pounced on by a tiger, shark or croc - I nearly jumped out of my skin !!

It's not perfect - I would have liked to have seen a greater variety of vehicles, maybe planes, tanks and helicopters to add to the hang gliders. Also, a return of the mortar from AC2 - or even air strikes or artillery would have added a bit to the game.

Overall though, it's easily one of the best openworld games out there. As for the comments below - the only time that you are restricted or on rails is during a main mission - the rest of the time you are free to roam and hunt as you please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of the year?, 4 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is potentially the best game I've bought/played in the last few years. The environment is lush but varied, wildlife and environmental effects have a big impact on the way you approach any mission or journey.

The "collect" trophies are more enjoyable in this title that in any other I've played. Most games have something like "find 10 hidden rings" or similar that seem to have no bearing on the actual game, not so in far cry 3, gathering up the "letters of the lost" that gradually tell the story of the Japanese involvement with the island, likewise the "memory card" collecting. Each and every part of the game has great design and mapping for the quests. My particular favourite was liberating outposts, you can do this by going in all guns blazing or by taking out their alarm systems and picking them off one at a time using stealth kills and distraction.

Online is decent but could do with a little tweaking to make it more accessible.

My only gripe for this game is that sometimes (mostly when swimming underwater) when exploring you can become disorientated and often drown as you don't know if you're swimming further underwater/into the cave or heading back to the surface. I got round this by "fast travelling" if I thought I was going to drown.

At the new knockdown price you can't afford to be without this in your collection.

9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent game, 2 Jan 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game after not enyoing the 2nd installment of the series. I am VERY impressed with this one...

Plus points:
Island looks incredible - is vast with so much to do
Main missions and story are brilliant and well varied
Animals and how you make medicine and kit to carry more weapons etc is also fun
Lots of incentives to make you do the side missions
Loads of guns
Good character acting

The shooting does take some getting used to, but is on the whole, excellent.

I would definitley recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only downside is - when you run out of things to do :-), 20 Oct 2013
By 
Arun (Rhyl, Wales) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
The storyline - basically you're on a holiday on a tropical island with about 5 buddies including your brother and girlfriend. You get captured by pirates. The acting is second to none. The cut scenes delve straight in to game play, with the first mission offering a very tense beginning, where you must act stealthily. I won't say what happens after, but in essence you now wage a war against all the pirates and team up with the local clan. You must find all your friends, which is the main essence of the missions. Lots of things happen in between where you must help the local tribe, but it all builds up to getting close to the man in charge who controls the imports and exports into the island.

The environment is stunning, it's so realistic. There are so many types of animal - as you kill each one, you unlock an info sheet about it. You upgrade your wallet to carry more money, by hunting particular animals, culminating in hunting a rare animal where you reach your highest upgrade. Same with building a rucksack for more inventory, holdalls for more ammo etc. The island is vast and dense with trees, bushes, massive hills which you can jump off with you hang glider and glide for minutes (yes, minutes) including parachuting down if it's a high enough point.

I love the weapons. They are very realistic. There is a good selection, and you can only carry four. My favourite is the crossbow. I love aiming it higher than the target for far away shots and getting a stealth kill - so satisfying. They have amazing detail to them - and they're customisable!

The vehicles are pretty much the same - boats, jetskis, 4x4s, gliders and quadbikes. Different type of boats if I remember correctly. Some 4x4s have machine gun mounted like FC2 with quick switching to manning it.

OK, so one last thing I haven't mentioned. Music. It's so good, so emotional, that I got the soundtrack on my phone. You feel really attached to your friends, helping them etc, but you soon become more and more part of the tribe, so there's two aspects to the story in terms of who you feel more attached to. The tattoo system where you can upgrade you skills and health etc by performing certain tasks, like getting 2 stealth kills in a row (that's like one example out of about 50) adds realism and motivation to actually improve your skills.

That's it. I played the PC version. After completing the main story, you may feel a bit isolated in the game, e.g. nothing to do. But a great in-play continuous story is capturing all the villages. That's a great feat. Then you've got to collect all the weapons, upgraded all your skills and ammo holders, rucksack etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a good game of you like first person killing, problem solving, mission based, freedom to do almost anything type of game.

It is blood thirsty and the swearing is very rich. This is definitely not a kids game.

Visual and sound effects are fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very fun game as it is, but could be refined, 27 April 2013
By 
Pari Davide (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I give 5 stars because the game IS fun, but it's far from perfect. The main gameplay can be perfectly described as Just Cause 2 as a FPS. It also has the same main defect: it is quite repetitive.
The second game that comes to mind is Skyrim, because of some RPG action and the stealth vs brute force approach, but it's nowhere near the vastity and storytelling of the Bethesda game.
Finally, the main story, which is great in its development and didn't disappoint me.
The impression I got from the game is that they tried to put together too many different game types creating a geat game overall, but without finishing to polish it, so none of the aspects get deep enough. Even if I enjoyed the game very much I kept asking myself: why they didn't do this better? Why the caves aren't bigger so that they become. A sort of dungeon, each with its own story like in Skyrim? Why are the mini games always the same, go there and kill the guy with a knife? Why the herbs are so clearly indicated on the map? Why go hunting if after 2/3 kills I have every skin I'll ever need in the game?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replay Value, 9 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Brilliant game.
The acting is top notch, really believable. Graphics are stunning. Multiplayer great fun. Great single player.
I really have nothing bad to say about this game but i will focus on the title for now as everything else is pretty much covered.

The story mode is downright awesome. But aside from this here is a list of things that keep you wanting to play afterwards.

Items to collect:
there are many things to collect on your journeys, relics, memory cards and information. You have a handbook that updates wildlife everytime you hunt one of them and there is a huge list for animals to discover, im still finding some now.

things to do:
There are also checkpoints, if you've played San Andreas it works in a similar way. Area's are patrolled by the enemy or you/allies. To conquer a checkpoint you must kill everyone inside. You can do this in a number of ways. Taking out the alarms first then go in guns blazing/ go in guns blazing trip the alarms and fight off reinforcements who may arrive with machine gun mounted vehicles/ kill everyone stealhily/ take out alarms stealth kill some shoot the rest etc.
Max out your skills/Tattau/Tattoo. You have a tattoo on your arm that gives you skills to unlock every time you level up. A new section of a tattoo will give you different skills of your choosing such as takedowns, hunting, gathering, and many more.
Radio towers: By disabling radio towers you unscramble your map allowing you to see everything around the tower on your map, it also unlocks weapons to be bought for free at the store. but this is something you do during the main story just because missions will take you nearby and you get sidetracked to reveal the map.

Multiplayer:
Really enjoyable, being able to humiliate or praise your enemy is an awesome touch, unlockables a plenty this mode is sure to entertain for hours and hours.
I havent spent too much time here though as the main campaign has kept me more than entertained, i've only played the multiplayer when i've been short on time and fancied a quick match.

I reckon i will play this more than i did skyrim, which i thouroughy enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One pleased hubby, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought as a Christmas present for my husband, he tells me it's awesome and that he's over the moon with it. I wouldn't have a clue not being a gamer myself but as long as he's happy! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Cry 3 (PS3)
Far Cry 3 (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
12.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews