Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, Action, Action.
I'm not what you would call a film buff and I can't do 'critical reviews' but if you want a great action film then get The Raid. It simply doesn't stop from beginning to end.
Anyone with a passing interest in hand-to-hand combat or martial arts will love this film for the speed of the fight choreography - and there's plenty of shooting scenes if that's your...
Published 23 months ago by Gary Docherty

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wannabe Die Hard type movie
Not a bad movie to pass 2hrs of your life if you like lots of hand to hand/machette/knife/gun/anything you can grab/ type combat. The good guys are the cops, maybe! the rest are men only occupiers of a 15 storey block of flats? can only remember 3 women and maybe 2 kids under 20. Good low budget action movie, Die Hard it is not!!
Published 12 months ago by wil..e.coyote


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, Action, Action., 2 Aug. 2013
By 
Gary Docherty (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raid [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I'm not what you would call a film buff and I can't do 'critical reviews' but if you want a great action film then get The Raid. It simply doesn't stop from beginning to end.
Anyone with a passing interest in hand-to-hand combat or martial arts will love this film for the speed of the fight choreography - and there's plenty of shooting scenes if that's your preference.
Don't worry about the subtitles, it's very easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, but effective, 3 Oct. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Raid - Subtitled (Blu-ray)
Who’d have thought that Indonisia would raise the bar when it came to action movies? ‘The Raid’ is hardly the most complicated film to review, but, if you’re into your gunplay and marshal-arts then you can’t go far wrong here. Oh, and you’ll need to be okay with subtitles.

Basically, the film is about a police raid on a towerblock containing some of the toughest (and deadly) criminals around. And – guess what – things don’t go too well for our boys in blue. It isn’t long before their bodies start piling up, leaving only our plucky new recruit (who just so happens to be damn good at kicking people) to survive and untangle the mess that’s quickly building up.

If you’re wondering what makes this so much better than all the other action movies out there – it’s the ‘look’ (well, for starters anyway). It has a very professional and gritty feel to it. The director (who, to my shame, I’ve never heard of) has obviously spent a lot of time framing each shot to give it quite a nice – almost ‘arty’ – feel. Then there are the fight scenes – they’re meticulously choreographed and, despite being technically as unrealistic as the next marshal arts film, they are really good fun to watch.

The actors are basically cast according to their looks. Bad people are ugly and good people have nice hair. However, at least everyone plays their part well and, even though all the talking is subtitled, it seems that everyone can actually act as well as is required for beating people to a pulp.

There are a few twists and turns in the plot – some you may see coming, others are less obvious. But I won’t go into them too much. All you need to know is that, if you’re okay with subtitles and love marshal arts or action films, then you’ll enjoy The Raid (and its sequel, if you’re curious about that!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-Stop Action!, 15 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Raid [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
When I picked this film I was looking for an easy-watch Action film and that is exactly what I got. I had not appreciated that this was not an English language film until it started, and after a couple of minutes of watching it subtitled I switched to the English dubbed version which was not always that well done, but meant that you could concentrate on what was going on rather than the sub-titles - and there was a lot going on....Without much in the way of scene-setting, the film launches into the arrival of the Police SWAT team at the block of flats that they are raiding, so with one or two exceptions you don't really get to know who's who in the team. Soon the team is under attack and it is not a case of completing the mission, just of trying to get out of the building alive. The action is relentless and very violent with gun fights switching more towards cruder weapons and unarmed combat as the film progresses. The suspense builds and it becomes clear that not everybody is what they seem. The film builds to an exciting and tense conclusion with several prolonged 'martial arts' fights along the way. Not sure that the plot all fits together that well, but that didn't detract from the film for me. Maybe nit-picking but I did object to the DVD cover that show a police-van outside the flats with explosions and helicopters circling with search lights. Maybe poetic licence but the explosions don't start until the SWEAT team are inside and a key part of the story is the fact that the SWAT Team have no outside backup - so there is never any helicopters involved! Still a great Action film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulling a trigger..., 4 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Raid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In the Jakarta slums, a derelict apartment building has become a no-go area - even the police are unwilling to enter.

It has become a safe-house for dangerous killers and gangsters.

A SWAT team infiltrate the building, under the cover of darkness, to remove its owner - a drug lord named Tama....

First let's get the criticism out of the way, the plot is paper thin. That's it, nothing else.

All the story is, is that there is a bunch of cops, and every level they go up in the block, gets a little bit more difficult and they become fewer, with a little bit of corruption thrown in for good measure.

The film starts off very tensely, and as soon as Tama calls Lock Down, the film never lets up until the final frame.

If you take Die Hard, and add a little Game of Death, you have The Raid.

The fighting in this, is beyond awesome, it's awe inspiring, and if you think you will get bored of fight after fight, the little dramatic scenes, pack just as much of a punch, that you really care for these people.

The writer/Director of this film clearly knows his action movies, as he has referenced nearly all the prolific action movie makers in one sense or another.

I thought before seeing this, it was way over-hyped, and i was wrong, it deserves it's reputation. Like a musical, the fighting is wonderful to look at as well as hear.

Easily the best action movie in the last fifteen years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top action movie, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie is offered in two versions the UK Theatrical version or the Uncut version. This review is for the Uncut version as I saw no point diluting the experience.

The front cover quotes 'The most exciting action movie of the year', and to be honest they were not bluffing after the smooth start it all goes very wrong very quickly. The fight scenes are spectacular some of them lasting a non-stop 5 minutes they are just hardcore with a level of violence not usually seen.

The 20 cops are whittled down at an alarmingly rapid rate, all the survivors are left to do is try and survive! I will not spoil this for anyone but if you are into martial arts and a fantastic full on level of action this is the film for you.

I almost didn't read the subtitles as the action was that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I initially thought., 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When I first loaded up the BluRay I was presented with two options, 1) British Cinema release or 2) Uncut Version. Not knowing what the differences were I went for the uncut version, but found that much of the gore was left to the imagination which suited me fine.

The next thing I found (and this shows my ignorance about the movie) is that I was presented with subtitles, but I soon realised that the action took over the need for detailed dialogue so it turned out not to be an issue for me.
Some of the comments on here mention about the action from start to finish and short of the first 10 minutes of the film the action doesn't really stop.

The stunts performed are some of the best I've seen in any a film and I bet there must of been some injuries in the filming as they are just so good. The fight scenes have excellent timing and whilst the odd fight seemed to go on well beyond any human could endure, they all seemed to keep me glued to the screen because of their variety. The camera work is good and right on top of the action.

If you're expecting to see a gun fest you will be disappointed as the use of guns becomes quickly taken over with martial arts moves which then become the mainstay of the film.
If you want to see an action movie with little dialogue, practically zero gung-ho and some polished martial arts choreography with a straightforward story from a genre that doesn't often hit the blockbuster spot these days then you could do worse than buy this movie.

On the strength of this first movie I will buy Raid2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Block Rockin Beats!, 28 April 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Raid [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A team of SWATs attempt to raid a tower block full of bad guys, and prove they aren't all that good at doing their homework after all, as the baddies soon become aware of their unwanted presence in two seconds flat and try to kill them all off, using everything in their considerable arsenal. Fortunately for the cops, they have one or two resourceful chaps in their ranks that can handle themselves in dangerous situations...
Almost no story whatsoever, ludicrous action, silly dialogue and rather unbelievable characters..
Who cares?
Not me!
As what this does do, is provide the viewer with an almost non~stop barrage of over the top violent action and macho bloodshed escapism. That's right folks, as our eyeballs are smarted by the visual display of gratuitous gore (sadly quite a bit is cgi) and punch ups, with the goodies attempting to survive their way to the top, using guns, knives, machetes and a lunch~box full of good old knuckle butties to bring Mr Big to justice.
Now, I have to say that some of the action is a bit samey, which is kind of understandable due to the amount, and I thought the soundtrack could've been a little more pumped, but generally speaking, if you like your movies thick and fast, then you will enjoy this no question.
If on the other hand you value character development, female leads and clever narrative, it probably wont impress you that much.
I'm gonna award this 4.25/5 against its peers, for the reasons I've given.
Finally, I dread to think how many times I thought to myself 'I'll bet that hurt' whilst watching the fight choreography in this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must watch for martial arts fans, 1 July 2012
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Raid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Watched The Raid only today and was blown away by it!

The story is that of a powerful drugs baron who has taken over a run down apartment block that has become a no go area for the police. The block is heavily defended by his gang members and the people who live there, who tend to be the criminal element by the looks of things. There are 15 floors to the top which is where the operation is run from. A special swat type team are sent in to shut this place down and bring the top baddie down. That is the premise of this story.

By way of dialogue, there isn't much at all. When there is it does bring this movie together and you find out who's who with some surprises along the way! By way of action. . . . there is plenty to go around here believe you me folks! Do not blink because the fight scenes are lightening fast at times and executed to perfection by the actors, brilliant fight choreography. The star of the movie Iko Uwais co-choreographed the fight scenes which use the fighting techniques of Pencak Silat, an Indonesian martial art and very effective he makes it look to.

This is virtually non stop from start to finish, blisteringly fast, loads of gun, knife and hand to hand fighting in enclosed and open spaces which shows off the skills of these actors to the full with plenty of great moves that you'll want to rewind and watch in slow motion when this bluray comes out.

If you're the serious film buff type looking for good character depth and actors who have learnt their trade treading the boards, forget it! This is a no holds barred, brutal attack on the senses during which you'll be up outta your comfy seat throwing roundhouse kicks and shadow boxing
infront of the telly!

A follow up movie is already in the pipeline called Berandal which will star some of the same actors and will be choregraphed by the same ones who did The Raid.

I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GORE BY THE FLOOR!, 12 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Raid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
You'll find little plot development, character arc, tonal shift or emotional punch. The Raid is opting for visceral, hyperkinetic and relentless action. For action and I mean "real brutal" action that's balletically choreographed, blood gushing fight scenes that are exhilarating and a punishing assault on your senses. The reason for this mayhem is simple and brutally effective and manages to include fists, feet, elbows, knees of fury every technique and weapon under the sun. These guys give new meaning to fighting tooth and claw. The action is breath taking in it's violence with a jaw dropping machete fight that managers to out do all other bigger budget action films around. The plot is paper thin and identical to the much bigger budget Dredd 3D but in this case there no such thing as too much of a good thing. This movie isn't remotley subtle but when the bullets are flying (which is most of the time) it's a heart pounding experience with all the credentials to become a cult classic and in the case of Iko Uwais a new martial art star is born.
Don't be put off by being spoken in native Indonesian and having subtitles as if you go to the set up menu you can have the option for English language dubbing that is actually very well done and hardly destracts from the mayhem.
See if you like.......
Die Hard.
Hard Boiled.
The Killer.
Ninja Assassin.
Assault on Precinct 13
Dredd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raid [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This ticks the majority of boxes for an action film and makes for exciting, if not always enjoyable, viewing. There is a lot to admire here and the action sequences make their Hollywood equivalents look tame in comparison. My only criticism, which boils down to personal taste to some extent, is that it is too violent. This might sound like an irrational criticism to level at this genre of film, and the level of brutality certainly adds to the tension, but for me this made it a difficult watch in places. This point notwithstanding, it remains an excellent action film that definitely doesn't pull any punches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Raid [DVD] [2011]
The Raid [DVD] [2011] by Gareth Evans (DVD - 2012)
£3.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews