Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars446
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2009
Pinocchio has always been regarded as one of Walt Disney's finest, if not finest, animated films by animation historians and film critics alike, and it's good to see that it's finally received a 2 disc DVD version a film if its stature deserves, with a well-made documentary and other rare footage. It's miles better than the one disc Special Edition released a few years ago. Pinocchio has always been a special film for me personally, as it was the first film I ever watched as a child in the cinema. The story is timeless, and the picture and animation are even more beautiful with this latest digital restoration. A true classic.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Pinocchio' is a childhood favourite of many and one I particularly remember loving as child. It was bought for me recently as a present and I was immediately impressed at the quality of the animation; you tend not to notice these things as a kid! I am usually quite dismissive of Disney films for a variety of reasons but say what you will about them, the early films were exceptional and beautiful. This follows the fairytale of Pinocchio who is a tiny wooden puppet who is brought to life and who has to prove his bravery, honesty and unselfishness before he can be turned into a real boy. Some adventures then follow as he tries to fulfil this goal, with the help of Jiminy Cricket as his conscience. This has some wonderful songs and it is amazing how well these are still known. The part in the film when the boys are turned into donkeys could be deemed scary or mildly disturbing for some children, but I watched this film a lot as a kid and I never remember being upset by this part and loved this film. It is important to remember that we watch this from an adult perspective now and with adult sensibilities and political correctness and sheltering our kids can go too far; kids are more hardy than we give them credit for. This is a good length for most children at just over 80 minutes and it should kept hem spellbound for the duration. Modern animation is very polished and impressive, but there is something organic and real about hand drawn animation that leaves you feeling warm and contented. That may be rose tinted glasses and reminiscing about watching this film as a kid, but it feels right never the less. This disc has various extras on it, from sing along features, to a `making of' documentary but they are mainly aimed towards kids. The whole package has been reworked and spruced up for it's DVD and Blu-Ray release which makes for impressive viewing overall. This is a classic children's film and makes for magical viewing for both kids and adults alike and is well worth watching.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2003
The special DVD edition of Pinocchio is a perfect collector item, for Disney fans. The Special edition is digitally re-mastered, so that sound quality is a significant improvement compared from watching the animation let's say several years ago. The magical and musical dimensions of this Disney classic are re-lighted, whilst watching this DVD. The values and qualities of what most Disney animations typically represent are clearly depicted in Pinocchio. What I really admire about Pinocchio is the cheerfulness and way the characters are represented, which are colourful and humourless.

Pinocchio is fairly tale which originated from Italy. It is about a lonely and innocent toymaker's dream for his creation (wooden puppet) to become alive. Does his dream come true? The magic of Disney comes to light whilst watching the animation. That is the general gist of the story.

The extras accompanying the DVD include a commentary on the creation of Pinocchio. It is really interesting and fascinating to learn about. You can relieve the musical beats and moments of the movie which are real pleasure to listen to.

In a nutshell and straight to the point, Pinocchio is a Disney classic for all to enjoy and cherish. Disney is renowned for promoting family entertainment and this is an opportunity to watch the magic which Disney films continue to captivate audience with. To watch on DVD, is an extra bonus and real to joy to treasure in a DVD collection. If you are fan of Disney animations, Pinocchio is a truly recommended, as it consist of a simple story to follow, colourful characters and truly the voice of Disney.
11 comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2004
Hot on the heels of their success with their first full-length animated film, Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs (1937), along came Disney's second: Pinocchio (1940).
It tells the tale of a wood-carver who longs for a little marionette he created and named Pinocchio to be a real boy. One night, a Blue Fairy comes down from the heavens and grants him his wish -- sort of. She gives life to Pinocchio, but she refuses to make him a completely real boy until he does the following thing: prove himself brave, truthful and unselfish. Fortunately for him, there is a delightful little character determined to keep him on the straight and narrow and act as his conscience: Jiminy Cricket.
This feat Pinocchio is entrusted to fulfil seems easy, but as anyone knows, the world is full of temptations, meaning that there are many ways that, if Jiminy fails to influence him otherwise, will cause him to veer off course and scupper his chances of becoming a real boy...
This film is just magical. I don't just mean that it contains magic within the story. I mean that the whole thing just comes together beautifully, resulting in a technically impressive film (check out the rooftop panning shot that took out a sizeable portion of the budget!) that remains a classic. Delightful artwork, animation, story-telling and music combine to make a lovely film that kids and adults should enjoy very much, and should even find very moving in places.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
This was never my favourite Disney film when I was younger. I could take it or leave it.
However I've started collecting all the classics. I wasn't looking forward to watching this greatly when I got it but I'm glad to say it proved me wrong. To put it simply, I loved it. I loved it down to every last detail. And whilst that scene at Pleasure island is truly one of the most disturbing scenes in cinema history don't let it put you off. Just don't let young children watch it on their own.
It is a beautiful film.
When you wish upon a star was deserving of it's oscar for best song.
Whereas many films I go back to in later years and wish I had left in my memory, I was so glad to have re-discovered Pinocchio.
It is a film to sit and take the time to appreciate. The voice acting is superb and emotive. The animation is stunning as you would come to expect with Disney films. Considering this was made in the 1940's the underwater scenes are especially breathtaking.
Whatever anyone may say, Disney do animate their films with love and in this one it shows. I am not in love with Disney's marketing and release ploys, but I do adore the classic films.
Don't put off buying this. It will go back into the vault and be hard to find and expensive.
The extras are also entertaining and worth the money. The making of feature was really interesting.

So yes this is a fantastic DVD and a film to certainly gush about.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
t's difficult to believe that 'Disney's' 'Pinocchio' is over 70 years old, the film has entertained generation after generation and will no doubt continue to do so.
I have lived with the presence of this film all my life and can remember seeing it first time around at the local cinema, since when I've taken my kids to see it and since purchased it on 'Video' then 'DVD' and again on 'Blu-ray' ...A enhanced version of the timeless classic.
Considering how old the film is the standards of animation the 'Disney' studios achieved with the early 'feature-lenghth' animated movies is pretty remarkable.
The film tells the story of a puppet maker 'Geppetto' who craved for a child of his own, a Fairy God-Mother puts life into one of his puppets...Pinocchio'
'Pinocchio' soon found that there were people who would exploit him but 'Pinocchoi' had to learn the lessons of right and wrong the hard way despite advice from his appointed concience 'Jimminy Cricket'
'Pinocchio' wanted nothing more than to become a real boy but to do so he had to prove he was both 'honest' and 'worthy' of such a gift.
This is a charming story with both the 'songs' and the magic we've come to expect from 'disney' down the years.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
I'm sure you've all seen this classic film, so I will just get down to the nitty gritty. Picture quality is absolutely stunning. The cartoon looks like it was made yesterday! This Blu-ray package also comes with a DVD copy of the film.

There is also third disc with tonnes of bonus features including deleted scenes, an alternative ending, a trivia challenge, games, a documentary, an audio commentary and more.

The Blu-ray has English, Latin Spanish, Italian and Dutch subtitles. The DVD has English, Italian, Hindi, Dutch, Croatian and Slovenian subtitles. They both have English for the hearing impaired.

I almost forgot to mention that also included is a little Pinocchio doll that dances on command!

*Nose grows*

Okay, not really.
44 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2009
I was so relieved to find that this glorious film had been transferred to Blu-Ray in its original 4:3 format. So many times in the past have classics been ruined by "expanding" them into 16:9, causing the loss of the top and bottom of the screen (or even worse; the up and down pan-and-scan).

This Disney classic needs no introduction. Its an excellent film that has been marvellously reproduced. The colours are vibrant and clear. Detailed backgrounds come alive with clarity that I didn't know existed in this film.

A wonderful story that both young and old can enjoy.

Also the inclusion of a DVD version is a great plus to allow the kids (or indeed the parents) to watch it in another room.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
"When you wish upon a star, makes no difference who you are, anything you heart desires will come to you."
You've heard this song on the Disneyland and Superbowl commercials, but do you remember where it came from? It came from this cartoon, Pinocchio, Walt Disney's second feature to "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" in 1940. I repeat 1940!! Wow and to this day ,Pinocchio still stands out as one of the greatest movies of all time.
This opinion is about the 60th anniversay version of Pinocchio with THX sound and Remastered visual footage. It even has a bonus at the end about the making of Pinocchio!!! Wow.
This was a Christmas gift for my best friend and she loved it, and I can see why. Pinocchio is filled with dazzling animation,music and filled with so much fun and happyness that at the end of the movie , you will feel like wishing upon a star youreself.
Pinocchio is about a wooden puppet made by toymaker Geppeto (Christian Rub) who wants his own son. Geppeto makes one wish, to have his own son. Geppeto gets his wish when the Blue Fairy brings Pinocchio to life!!!
It took nearly 700 animators and technicians to bring Pinocchio to life and the hard work definitely shows!!!
People can say whatever they want about Disney current movies, true they lack a certain magic unlike their cherish cartoon like Pinocchio, but Disney is one of a few companies that has a SOLID record of making Cartoon Classics that are loved by everyone.
The fairy brings Pinocchio to life and promises to Pinoccho (voice of Dickie Jones) that he will remain a real boy if he follows the basic principles that every boy should have.
He has to be loyal, truthful and above fair. She assigns Jiminy Cricket (Cliff Edwards) to be Pinocchio's conscience. Well it sounds easy at first, but living up to these values is the real challenge here and Pinocchio tries his best to follow them,but since he has just being turned into a boy he doesnt yet know right from wrong.
This is where we meet characters like ,J. Worthington Foulfellow, Stromboli and Barker who take advantage of the young boy.
Jiminy Cricket and the fairy save Pinocchio from his judgement calls ,but yet Pinocchio doesnt learn to tell the truth and when he lies his nose starts to grow like a Christmas tree. :-)
Meanwhile Geppeto is looking for Pinocchio and ends up being captured by a giant whale Monstro!!!
Pinocchio saves Geppeto in a brillian animation sequence and Pinocchio by displaying bravery ends up being a real boy permanently.
It's a classic, I can say more but I dont want to spoil it for anyone
In an age, where moral, brilliant, wholesome cartoons are scarce you look back to the classics and Pinocchio will forever stand out as one of the greatest classics ever made by Walt Disney who has left his print in the world and in children's hearts.
Go out and buy this for youre children
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 April 2010
Old lonely Geppetto builds a marionette or puppet, Pinocchio, and wishes on the Evening Star that he had a real boy. The star, which is really a fairy, hears his wish and grants the public life however, it is still made of wood. It must prove itself worthy to become a real boy. Because Pinocchio was made of wood, he does not have an internal conscience and is assigned Jimmy Cricket as his conscience.

We follow Pinocchio through his trials and tribulations, misjudgments and antics. Will he be able to prove himself worthy, or go awry?

This film was made back in the heyday when Disney could do no wrong. It also was before Disney decided to become politically correct and had agendas other than entertainment. So why was it so boring? Well he was just walking through the motions of the story. Disney did fluff that outfit will do it with the addition of some new characters. It is worth watching the DVD extras to see why he did this and what effect he was trying to accomplish. However, in the process he made quite boring presentation. The characters were not believable, the background depth was nil and the purpose of the story is convoluted. However, on the positive side, especially watching Blu-Ray, the color and sound quality is excellent. The animation is top notch. In addition, there is no underlying political agenda or attempt to be socially correct.

The theme song for this movie "When you wish upon a star" became the Disney theme song.

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + BD Live w/ Blu-ray packaging) [Blu-ray]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.