Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well above par!
I had no idea what to expect from this but I am very glad I invested time and money in it - because it's excellent! Forget Stuart MacBride, this is much, much better if you like Scottish Crime Fiction. At just 276 pages it can easily be read in a day, and I will be looking out for the second in the DI Andy Gilchrist series, make no mistake.

The basic premise is...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by OEJ

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excess all areas
A first novel which starts a series with a bang and some genuine detection but also an awful lot of hunches and gut reactions. Needs to calm down in future books as there is almost too much plot but I suppose that means different characters in the next one! Unfortunately it gives the impression that St Andrews is the Scots version of Midsummer Murders and thus not a patch...
Published 2 months ago by Malcolm R


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Rating, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent delivery service. A very good read and one that is readily recommended to anyone with similar taste. Snap it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a present for my husband so he has not complained about the book so it must be good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
First time I've read TF Muir but won't be the last. Thoroughly enjoyed this book it had plenty of twists and turns to keep you reading. I would recommend without hesitation to those who enjoy crime novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
Another good crime writer. Stuart McBride, watch your back. Excellent stories. Knowing the area well helps the reader get involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading novel, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
Easy to follow clues but with enough suspense to keep and capture my interest. Clear language and believable characters too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read., 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is set in St Andrews, Scotland and DI GIlchrist is a typical Scottish Bobby! He is on the trail of a serial killer who is somewhat of a vigilante as the victims all subject their wives to abuse. The plot takes many twists and turns and the ending is not what you expect. If you know St Andrewss you can picture the scenes and that makes it all very real.
Enjoy the book . I am now reading his 3rd one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
Thought I would try this book to see what it was like. Very good was the response. Finished this in double quick time and then ordered the complete series. This writer does capture the imagination and is easy to read. Plot line is good and an excellent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Lynda Elliott (Meigle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book - so many twists and turns! Set in St Andrews so 'local' for me which made it even more enjoyable! Bring on some more T F Muir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
From start to Finish, compulsive reading. The writer knows how to keep the reader hooked and I found it very hard to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good old fashioned detective story - OK more sexual references than you'd get in an Agatha Christie but no more than the story required. The hero is a suspended detective inspector suffering from a surfeit of guilt in early middle age, but this fact allows him to dig around unofficially and eventually get to the truth and at the same time save his career. I suspect that he will always be working on his own in some way in the books that follow......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eye for an Eye (DI Gilchrist 1)
£5.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews