Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proraso Shaving Cream
The Proraso menthol shaving cream arrived today. I compared this to the halve priced Derby menthol shaving cream. The Proraso wins outright.
I can't help but rate highly Proraso shaving products but they really are excellent top quality products from Italy. I have tried their shaving soap and pre-post shaving cream (I use this as a balm). I would advise anyone...
Published on 1 Aug 2012 by Bernie2111

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wet shavers' classic, mainly for summer months
A nice and refreshing shave cream that comes from a manufacturer that has given us a number of classic wet shaving products since the 1920s. Unfortunately does not contain lanolin (as the old formulation of Omega shaving cream did) but still a great product overall. Latherability is very good, scent is menthol/eucalyptus and very fresh (perfect to really wake you up in...
Published on 23 July 2011 by Konstantinos


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proraso Shaving Cream, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Proraso menthol shaving cream arrived today. I compared this to the halve priced Derby menthol shaving cream. The Proraso wins outright.
I can't help but rate highly Proraso shaving products but they really are excellent top quality products from Italy. I have tried their shaving soap and pre-post shaving cream (I use this as a balm). I would advise anyone shopping for shaving products to try YouTube shavingnation.com and see the many reviews by geofatboy, who takes time to demonstrate numerous straight and safety razors along with shaving creams and soaps. I do believe that anyone who invests £50 for a Merkur razor, Badger hair shave brush and Proraso shave cream will be converted and chuck out these expensive cans of foam and 5 bladed cartridges. I rate Proraso shave cream 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proraso Shaving cream (tube) Review!, 2 Dec 2012
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've just started to shave using a traditional styled double edge safety razor Edwin Jagger De89bl Chrome Plated Double Edge Safety Razor. After researching for many hours the endless creams and soaps available i decided to go for a cream a) because creams are supposedly easier to lather b) i live in a hard water area c) i wanted to start off easy. I chose this one as it seemed to be highly recommended.

Well this cream from Proraso is fantastic in many ways... firstly the metal squeezy tube comes in a box and the 150ml tube is bigger than you imagine it to be, the lid is a screw top so for travel purposes it's not going to come off easily. The cream is "pearl white" in colour and at first has a thick concentrated form, meaning you don't need much (almond size) as when you whip it up in a bowl there is more than enough for 3 shaving passes. Now this cream has eucalyptus and menthol which you can smell once you start whipping it up although it's not overpowering, indeed it smells nice and refreshing, almost like an old school barbers. I won't give directions as to how to use this cream but if you go on Youtube you can find many good videos especially from "geofatboy". The only thing i will add is if you live in a hard water area like me you will probably need slightly more cream and use warm not hot water.

When you place it on your face ideally using a badger shaving brush (the one i bought is the For Him by Tweezerman Deluxe Shaving Brush) you can feel the cooling effect of the menthol on your skin and the pleasant smell of eucalyptus. This last for the whole time the cream is on your face, indeed the cooling effect becomes stronger on your second and third pass. It acts as a good moisturizer and gives a nice slick shave due to this cream having Glycerin in it.

PROS: provides a nice luxury lather, smells great, cools your face, very slick, squeezy tube is convenient and ideal for travel, will last a long time, Paraben free!

CONS: as i live in a hard water area it takes me a good minute or two longer to get the desired effect but it's nothing to worry about.

VERDICT: This is the first proper shaving cream i have used and i'm impressed, it reduced the irritation i use to get during shaving and the nice cooling effect of the menthol was great. Even though the water in my area is hard i was able to generate a decent lather to get three passes out of a small amount, it just took a little longer to whip up. I intend to try other shaving creams but until i do i will enjoy using this cream.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! ...any questions please post a comment and i'll get back to you a.s.a.p!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wet shavers' classic, mainly for summer months, 23 July 2011
By 
A nice and refreshing shave cream that comes from a manufacturer that has given us a number of classic wet shaving products since the 1920s. Unfortunately does not contain lanolin (as the old formulation of Omega shaving cream did) but still a great product overall. Latherability is very good, scent is menthol/eucalyptus and very fresh (perfect to really wake you up in the morning), moisturizing properties are good and the price is not bad.

A shave cream that will certainly not disappoint you. Should you like to get something 'one level up' performance-wise in exactly the same scent and efficacy, you would have to buy the Santa Maria Novella shave cream (in 220ml tub) that comes from the same factory, but also has lanolin added to it. You would however have to pay x7 times what you pay for this Proraso tube but certainly the difference will not be noticeable for a such a price hike.

Proraso shave cream - Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proraso is the best ever, 22 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Pj Bloomer "Phil from Wiltshire" (Wiltshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got into traditional wet shaving about three months ago, Proraso products had excellent reviews on the shaving forums like Badger and Blade and was curious to try it out myself.

I was not disappointed, keep in mind you need to use this cream in conjuction with a shaving mug or cappucino cup, a decent shaving brush (badger if you can) and an almond sized amount of this superb shaving cream. Put the almond sized amount in your cup or mug, make sure you've wetted your brush with hot water, squeeze out about half the water and start mixing. Give it a minute and you should have an excellent shaving lather that is almost the consistency of meringue. You can then apply the lather to your face to shave.

This stuff is fantastic, has a menthol and medicinal smell akin to vicks vapour rub which for me I like, and really cools your face during the shave. When you've rinsed off the remaining lather after your shave, your face feels better for it. There are a variety of other proraso produts available and are reasonably cheap. Don't take my word for it, look it up on the internet and you will hear rave reviews aplently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Product, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best shave i have ever had, superb product, for anyone that has not tried this shaving cream, you do not know what your missing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good shaving cream, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good when used in conjunction with the pre-shave cream. The tube is perhaps not my favourite for pressing the cream out, but the cream itself is very smooth, and allows the blade to glide very easily across rougher parts of the face. Good smell, and good smooth feel after the shave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, but didn't like the fragrance, 31 Aug 2014
By 
GNH (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Proraso Shaving Cream Tube (150ml) (Misc.)
This is absolutely fine as a shaving cream - it's neither better nor worse than the many others I've tried. It lathers up quickly with a brush and softens the bristles adequately. So given that the product does its main job, the only differentiating factor is the fragrance, and personally I'm not too keen on it. It's not quite as "refreshing and invigorating" as it says on the label (in Italian) as I expected.

But this is personal taste, and I certainly would not fault it as a shaving cream per se.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your into proper shaving then this is simply a great product at a great price. Made my skin feel great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cream, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cream produces a good, thick lather straight from the tube to the face. The blade glides perfectly. Produces a tangling, fresh mint-like effect on the face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!!!!!!, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderfull product,great smell and refreshing after the shave. Very easy to use as you only use what is required without wastage. I would recommend this product to every man that needs a decent shave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Proraso Shaving Cream Tube (150ml)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews