Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars357
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 February 2013
The seventh Lewis series has given immense enjoyment. Unfortunately this is the last. Screen-writers and cast (I suspect the latter) have called it a day. We are left with filmed legacy of an expertly produced project. Lewis ('call me Robbie'), has Kevin Whatley being the obsessive never-go-home detective masking any social life and memories. Alongside is the erudite Hathaway (Edward Fox), a cool side-kick perfect foil for Lewis with a veritable encyclopaedic knowledge This seemingly antithesis of pairing has had the makings of a mutually successful and respectful unit.

Series 7 is a three episode collection ( erroneously split by a week in installments). The subject matter is typical Oxford in the, dare I say it, 'Morse and Lewis' tradition. Lewis, however is his own man, and the finale is cleverly manouvered to the obvious personal end points for him, blind to the mutual needs of himself and colleague, pathologist Laura Hobson (Clare Holman) and Hathaway's self-searching need for fulfillment. A parting of the ways but the series remain for hours of pleasure. The last episode was melodramatic and emotional, but appropriate. Thanks to all involved.
44 comments|70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
This is the last venture for the superb duo of Kevin Whately as Detective Inspector Robert Lewis, and Laurence Fox as D.S. James Hathaway. The series balances their relationship, each with his own strengths, no egos running amuck. Kevin Whately brings depth and drollery to his characterization of the widowed Lewis, whilst Laurence Fox as Hathaway adds wry humor as an ex-seminarian with issues of his own. Fox is gifted with a remarkable voice that would not go amiss in other ventures. Clare Holman as Dr. Laura Hobson adds another rich dimension with her elegant intelligence. Rebecca Front is great as the formidable "Mum," Chief Superintendent Innocent. Of course, it's a treat to meander through Oxford's beautifully filmed spires, cobbled streets, and nearby countryside. The tensions between upper-class academics and regular citizens of Oxford are examined.

Each of the three episodes is feature-length, total running time is approximately 266 minutes; English subtitles; but no Specials! The three episodes:

Down Among the Fearful
Cramped in rooms in his Oxford college with his wife and baby, psychology student Reuben Beatty leads a double life, moonlighting as a psychic. He hopes to make more money for his young family, but these aspirations are dashed when he is found mysteriously murdered after a session; his wife has no idea what her husband has been up to. Lewis and Hathaway investigate the world of psychic mediums in Oxford, not all is easily explained through rational means. Meanwhile, Dr. Laura Hobson subtlety seems to recognize that her feelings for the kind and jocular Lewis have deepened.

The Ramblin' Boy
All goes awry after a party at a local big-shot's (Peter Davison) mansion. At the mortuary, bodies appear to be getting mixed-up, whilst an old philandering colleague of D.I. Lewis, Chief Superintendent Martin Cornish, has gone missing. The narrative expands from the environs of Oxford, to Bosnia. The best part of this is that it shows Hathaway off on a "sabbatical," searching for meaning by volunteering in poverty-stricken areas. One story-thread follows a suspicious female professor who has a bad history with men, who is overly obsessed with the girlfriend of another suspect, the "ramblin' boy," who is failing university. His emigre father has serious booze issues, and was present at the party that started the mystery. The relationship between Laura and Robbie deepens, over delicious take-out.

Intelligent Design
Beautifully filmed, in a loving ode to Oxford, this last mystery resolves loose threads; it's s worthy send-off. We're back in traditional Morse/Lewis habitat now, with power-hungry Oxford Dons, gleaming science laboratories, and voraciously ambitious students. A man is released from prison, soon to meet a grisly end. Turns out he is a highly accomplished Oxford scientist who thoroughly disliked his holier-than-thou wife, and that he had killed a young girl in a drunk driving accident. In true "Lewis" style, a la Morse, during construction, a dessicated body is found in the Church attic where the murdered man's wife is Reverend. Meanwhile, Lewis considers retirement, in order to spend more time with his family and on his relationship with Dr. Hobson. Hathaway is disgusted by his own growing cynicism towards all suspects. All concludes at a familiar table at a pub, with pints at sunset. Enjoy!

If only there were a Special, with interviews, to follow this up ...
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Here in American we don't have Lewis series 7 yet, so I ordered from UK. I have all of the Lewis and Morse dvds including Endeavour. I never tire of watching as the quality of the fims are excellent. The scenery is unbeatable. At the end of Series 7, I felt as if I had lost family. Which is silly really, but there you are. Very talented people produced these show. As an American who gets bored very easily with our tv shows. I thank you.
66 comments|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 7 February 2013
Lewis is one of the few `must see' offerings on TV these days so it is so sad that it appears that the seventh series will also be the last. When this series was announced, Laurence Fox (Hathaway) said that there would be no more and stated that both he and Kevin Whately (Lewis) now wanted to pursue other interests. There are just three stories in this series whereas there have normally been four. However, in a break with the previous custom, each is split into two parts.

It is hard to believe that the character of Lewis was introduced in the long running Morse series as long ago as 1986! The chemistry between Morse and Lewis was an obviously significant factor in the success of that series, just as Lewis and Hathaway complement each other in Lewis and the relationship has grown as time has gone on. It is hard to imagine Lewis without Hathaway in the same way that it was hard to imagine Morse without Lewis.

The stories in this series are interesting and well thought out and the plots are quite varied. Down Among the Fearful involves a psychic who has been murdered, in Ramblin' Boy a corpse is discovered which has an interesting background (the corpse not the person) and finally in Intelligent Design, a man is released from prison after serving time for causing death by dangerous driving but it appears that not everyone has forgiven or forgotten his crime. Interesting developments in Lewis' personal life too!

We are up to 27 episodes of Lewis (not quite as many as the 33 Morse managed), and we often watch the earlier ones as they are a joy to revisit. It does rather look as though that is going to be it, and the end of the last episode did have a certain finality about it. However, we can only hope that those involved do have a change of heart.
11 comment|86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
My great wish ist that the productors undestand that they are making a wonderful job. My personal life is very academic and full of hard facts in research and teaching, writing scientific contributions. Therefore I enjoy a moment of wonderful people, very human, quite well sketched in their personal qualities, some intrigue that has been managed adecuately, and the human nature pictured in highly qualifyied people in a beatiful surronding, doesnt make them inmune to cruelty, to mischief, envies, hatred, jealousy, and all the human frailities.
Please continue, and let us enjoy your spark of humor, your ingenuity in wirting stories, picking excellent filming crews, great camera work, sceneries so wonderful I haven't seen in the real world, which is often rainy and crowded in excess.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I'm loving series 7 and hope it's not the last. These two are perfectly matched and work so well together it would be a shame for it to come to an end just yet. I love both characters Lewis is just the perfect reliable man you'd like to have at home and Hathaway is just dishy, wow, what a combination. I'm an absolute British crime drama addict and this just ticks all the boxes. We do Crime drama so well, gripping, gritty and sometimes humorous every element is there and Lewis is my favourite so please guys, do some more.
88 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Interesting to me is that the seventh season of Inspector Lewis is the best if all. Lewis does not seem as uptight, and he is a much more likable character. Hathaway has changed,and he is also a much more likable guy, still uptight but more down to earth, if that us possible.

Kevin Whately whom plays Inspector Robbie Lewis is struggling in his retirement status. He and the pathologist, Dr Laura Hobson, played by Clare Holman are now married. They seem very happy,but Lewis is at loose ends. He cooks the family dinner, and it is burned. Laura tries to help him, and she suggests gardening etc. and, then, surprisingly, Lewis receives a call from Chief Superintendent Innocent. She tells him they are short staffed and wonders if he would come back in a part time basis working with Hathway. Hathaway, played by Laurence Fox has resolved his issues with his work as a policeman, and has been promoted to Inspector. So, Lewis would be working under Hathaway. What a magic turn around. I loved it.

The three new cases are excellent, but my favorite was the last. A serial murderer that Lewis put away over ten years ago has asked for a retrial with new evidence. In the meantime someone is committing the same type of murders with the same weapon and targeting policemen. Of note one of the new policemen works within Hathaway, and she is DS Lizzie Maddox. She is superb, and quite a match with Hathaway. They make a good team.

This seems to be a more down to earth series. Hathaway has his own ways and Lewis is trying to figure out where he fits in. I liked this a great deal.

Recommended. prisrob 1022-14
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
I have just completed all the Morse and Lewis DVDs over the course of the past 12 months and tonight I feel bereft that I no longer will come home to new exploits by them. Over the course of the 33 episodes of Morse and the 7 series of Lewis I have grown to love the characters like my own friends or family to the extent that it feels rather like the morning after a particularly good retirement of a very close workmate.
The stories were consistently of a very high standard, especially in the initial days when Colin Dexter was writing, I always like to look out for his cameo appearances in both series! Rather like a big-brother keeping an eye on things!
The difference with police series like Lewis - and Morse - from the run of the mill cop dramas, was the quality of their characters which showed that policing the darker sides of the human condition does not necessarily lead to insensitivity. Morse loved his music, Hathaway his God and Lewis his family first , but also had a genuine affection for Morse and developed an almost parental protection of James by the end of the series.
Rarely did the plots become overly fantastical or the denouements too unrealistic, but set against the natural 'stage' of Oxford colleges and countryside, and the wonderful music of the classical composers especially Mozart, and Barrington Phelong's title scores, there could have been a saccharine quality which would have turned all to farce, but the strength of cast and writing together makes for an enduringly excellent televisual treat. I cannot recommend these DVDs highly enough.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At last, the seventh, and sadly possibly the last, series of Lewis, for my money the best crime drama on telly at the moment.

In three leisurely investigations Lewis and Hathaway investigate murders in Oxford by strolling round and interviewing a roster of well known British character actors whilst admiring the scenery and dodging the dropping bodies. What the series lacks in pace it more than makes up for in charm. Once again the backbone of the series is the chemistry between Whatley and Fox as Lewis and Hathaway, they are a real joy to watch as they wander around the dreaming spires. There is a feeling of finality with the series, with the ongoing will they/won't they question between Lewis and Hobson finally resolved, and much talk of resignations and retirement in the third episode. I would be sad to see this finish, given the improvement in script quality over the somewhat incomprehensible series 6 I feel there is life in the old detective yet.

There are three episodes on 2 discs. Originally broadcast as two parters, each adventure has been edited into one ninety minute episode for DVD release.

All in all 5 stars for this release of top quality crime drama.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
The press reviews of Lewis liked it and they were not spouting nonsense. This is a class act. The production is 'cranked up' from Morse reaching a quality 'high' and having Kevin Whatley continue a character begun in Morse makes the central character a much more smoothly worked personality than may otherwise have been. All rough edges worn away during Morse. He has also a very good screen rapport with other characters (especially Laurence Fox and Claire Holman). With the writing being 'darker' than Morse, more directly dealing with social evils the whole is classier and more gripping than the older series,(which remains a classic in its own right). Tempus fugits, however, and Robbie Lewis is of retirement age and must go the way of all good coppers, sad to say. As a 'spin off' Lewis is a cut above most and can stand on its own terms and deserves to. It is regretful that this is the last series as new Lewises have been top of my must see list from the beginning. As Hathaway is going too any further 'spin offs' are out of the question and it would in any case be difficult to achieve this continuum quality twice. So RIP Lewis/Morse I'll miss you. Thank God for DVDs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)