Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, original and unique - Attenborough at his best!
This is a David Attenborough series with a difference - it's not made by the BBC, and it was on Sky TV. That might make you think it would not be as good as Sir David's BBC work, but I actually enjoyed it more than most of the recent BBC series. The filming is at least as good if not better, but this has a better pace of storytelling than most - really makes it...
Published on 12 April 2013 by John M

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom of Plants
Nice series, entertaining.
A pity that the English (vernacular) names of plants only was referred to in narrative. Would have been nice to have COMMON= Latin names added, maybe even as a subtitle.
Published 14 months ago by C.M. Palmberg-Lerche


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, original and unique - Attenborough at his best!, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
This is a David Attenborough series with a difference - it's not made by the BBC, and it was on Sky TV. That might make you think it would not be as good as Sir David's BBC work, but I actually enjoyed it more than most of the recent BBC series. The filming is at least as good if not better, but this has a better pace of storytelling than most - really makes it compulsive viewing. Also, amazing techniques that make plants really come to life through time lapse, slow motion and even infra red and ultra violet filming so you can see how plants look from a bee's viewpoint (they see in ultra violet!).

The makers have been really clever. They were able to capture the most amazing sequences - like plants that flower only once every 7 years - because they worked with Kew Gardens, whose experts evidently can pinpoint rare phenomena like this and tell the film makers exactly when to see these special events. So although most of the filming is done in Kew Gardens, you get a whole world of plants from the very exotic to the home grown - 90% of the world's plants are represented at Kew.

There is also a wonderful back-bone story to the series, taking you through how plants evolved over millenia, how they live and survive and thrive in the weirdest places, the secrets behind plant lives and even stories about the relationship between plants, insects, animals and humans. It has a huge sweep and of course David Attenborough is there to guide you through everything. I especially enjoyed the tale about the orchids and their huge variety and specialised adaptations - and also the carnivourous plants. There is a beautiful sequence about bats and cacti that is simply stunning.

There are great extras including a making of which is fascinating, and in the package there is information about Kew Gardens and an incredible app.

I thoroughly enjoyed this and also have the blue ray with the 3D version - which is even more amazing! It really gets you inside the plants and gives amazing almost psychedelic effects in 3D.

Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still great in 2D, 26 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
Not seen the 3D version (still not made the jump to a 3D TV) but the 2D DVD version is brilliant. Attenborough's still got all the enthusiasm, passion and knowledge for his subject that he's always had, and the fact that (if you live in London) you can go and see all this incredible stuff for yourself at Kew Gardens is amazing.

A worthy addition to one of the greatest bodies of TV work ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fantastic and Spectacular!, 27 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
Once again David Attenborough hit the pot. I have all his DVDs -I am proud to be among the millions of his fans. But I wondered this time if I could still learn something new from the subject of plants, which he has already dealt marvelously in his latest masterpiece "Life". And I was not disappointed. It is really an enchanting and truly original voyage in the world of plants. David, you're great! Thanks for giving us these precious gifts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weirds me out, 16 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
David Attenborough takes us on a journey through the wonderful world of plants, fungi and insects. In the process, he makes an extended pitch for the Kew Botanical Gardens in London! Almost made me go visit the place. Meet meat-eating plants, aphids procreating through virgin birth, a flower that only blooms for two days every seventh year (and smells like a carcass!), and parasitical fungi brain-washing ants. Or how about a burning bush that literally sets fire to itself? As always, the world (and, I suppose, Kew) turns out to be more "weirded out" than we thought, and perhaps more strange than we would like! I mean, imagine that among all these bizarre creatures, there was one which eventually gave rise to...David Attenborough. Now, *that's* scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 21 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
This review is of the 2D DVD

Watching and listening to David Attenborough at work is like settling down wrapped in a particularly warm, soft and luxurious bathrobe as his words draw you in to yet another stunning documentary - this time with a difference. Following two one off 3D collaborations with Sky TV, this is his first series in similar vein. Running over three 50 minute episodes in HD quality, here time lapse photography is used to capture the world of many rare species of plant life entirely within Kew Gardens. We discover that 90% of the world's plant life exists in one form or another at Kew and are drawn in in wonderment as the symbiotic relationship that exists between some times just one species of plant and insect - or animal - is revealed.

I am a long term fan of Mr Attenborough's work, owning many of his box sets but feared that a series for Sky would somehow dilute his core strengths as a presenter. Anyone thinking along similar lines can play those fears as this is every bit the equal of his BBC Series in terms of content and in fact is superior thanks to simply stunning picture quality. A natural follow up to his earlier "The Private Life Of Plants", on the strength of this I will be exploring his subsequent Sky Series as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attenborough rules!, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
The best Natural History maker we have, highly entertaining, beautiful, breathtaking nature scenes, and so skillfully narrated, I never tire of seeing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom of Plants, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
David Attenborough has a unique way of looking at the living world.
These films are brilliant and beyond compare - is that enough words?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom of plants, 28 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this series
The plants were amazing and as usual David attenborough makes the perfect commentator
I would recommend this product to anyone who loves to see how flowers grow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing viewing experience!, 16 May 2012
By 
Dr KDS (Weinheim, Bergstrasse) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
I had the pleasure and honor to see the preview in London in 3D and it was an amazing viewing experience indeed. Sir David is such a gifted presenter and narrator and always find something new and unheard of to show and talk about. Mice eating Nepentes pitcher plants were even new to me. Kew gardens is a wonderful place to visit and this great series surely shows it as its best!

Dr Klaus Schmitt uvir.eu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid DVD, 10 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very engaging work for those who, like me, do not know that much about the plant kingdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom of Plants [DVD]
Kingdom of Plants [DVD] by David Attenborough (DVD - 2012)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews