Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pinnacle of 3D Blu Ray - Truly Stunning Images!
The front cover of this disc proudly displays a quote from a review that says : "The most fetching use of 3D technology since Avatar". But this is not an idle boast or exaggeration. There are some truly stunning images here and although there is some occasional use of computer-generated animation, these images are drawn from the real world.

We know from...
Published on 19 July 2012 by Bruce

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no subtitles
Very good film and 3d. Spoilt for me (because I'm deaf) by lack of subtitles! Perhaps I should have investigated more before purchase, but I ordered a while before it was released. LESSON LEARNED.
Published on 20 Aug 2012 by mwarr


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pinnacle of 3D Blu Ray - Truly Stunning Images!, 19 July 2012
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
The front cover of this disc proudly displays a quote from a review that says : "The most fetching use of 3D technology since Avatar". But this is not an idle boast or exaggeration. There are some truly stunning images here and although there is some occasional use of computer-generated animation, these images are drawn from the real world.

We know from previous nature documentaries that time-lapse photography can produce some incredible, unexpected images; as we see plants sped up until we see them moving almost like insects or animals. But what about time-lapse photography in incredibly high definition and in 3D. Does it get any better than this?

Well apart from that, this film pioneers new techniques in 3D Macro Photography, to show unbelievable detail in close-up of plants. We also see images from electron microscopes,of pollen grains magnified seven thousand times, in 3D. Further than that, special camera techniques are used to show how insects see plants in the ultra violet spectrum.

There is such extraordinary variety on show here, that you forget that the vast majority of this was shot in one place in England - the Royal Botanic Gardens at Kew. But this also gives a serious scientific focus to the films. For example, we see how a species of water lily was saved from extinction by the work done at Kew.

Of course we know that anything David Attenborough puts his name to, will have the utmost integrity in terms of scientific rigour and this is no different. It is not the BBC, but it is the same team who made Flying Monsters (Blu-ray 3D)[Region Free] and we have the same spectacular photography and attention to detail. Attenborough is keen to enthuse new generations with the miracles of evolution and conservation of life. He is also a big advocate of using 3D photography to give us new perspectives.

But even if you are not that interested in the subject and thought you didn't want another nature documentary, you cannot fail to be amazed at some of the images presented here - it is a visual spectacle of the highest order. It is also good value in that you get three and a half hours of material in this 2-disc package. Admittedly, 50 minutes is a "making of" documentary in 2D only. But considering some Blu Rays only last about 40-50 minutes in total, there is a huge amount more here, on which to feast your eyes.

It's also worth mentioning that the soundtrack is superb. The music is light and never gets in the way of the commentary - it sounds mostly like a chamber orchestra and adds to the atmosphere immensely in 5.1 Dolby surround. This is undoubtedly up there with the best that 3D TV has to offer - maybe the best so far and it is certainly a must-have purchase for anybody with a 3D TV. I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent BluRay, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
This is the best 3D BluRay I own. The quality of video clips and time lapses is stunning. I made many 3D pictures and videos in the last 8 years and was often disappointed by the quality (e.g. 3D window violation, vertical misalignment, exaggerated parallax) of some professional 3D BluRay products. However, "Kingdom of Plants in 3D" is one of the best product so far. Not only due to almost perfect 3D, but also due to extremely interesting subject. I never imagined that plants can be so interesting. :-)
Thank you, David Attenborough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
I got this to test out my new passive 3d tv. All the hyperbole in the other reviews is justified. It is an astounding piece of work, whether you like plants or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
Brilliant film. Stunned for whole length of film. Feels like looking through a window rather than watching a screen. Used Alienware 3d laptop with nvidia active shutter glasses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic...., 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
Super 3d... It is stunning... Never seen as good as this...super ,super ,super,super,super,really fantastick....l love it.. It is sugar for the flat screen....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning 3d, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
Absolutely stunning 3D. This is the best example of the capabilities of 3D that I've seen so far. Great depth , pop outs, picture overall 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning images and 3D graphics, fantastic documentary, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
David Attenborough is fantastic as always and if you have a 3D screen and want to experience a next generation documentary, this is the one.

The pictures are absolutely beautiful and stunning and so are the 3D effects. Also the content was very enticing, I can't wait for another David Attenborough 3D documentary.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Approach and great use of 3D, 18 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
I really enjoyed this series when it came out on TV. Now I can watch it in 3D it's even better. Makes really good use of the 3D effect without overwhelming you with unnecessary pop-out effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A disc to show off your 3D TV, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Michael Smith (Southend-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
David Attenborough's nature programmes are always worth watching. This one has some truly spectacular 3D qualities and surprising images of plants. You can actually learn something from "Kingdom of Plants". I think this disc would be a good example to show to your friends to convince them that a 3D TV is worth buying. I am sure that I will watch these programmes again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most beautiful thing ever to grace your TV screen, 16 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
When it comes to trying to capture the aesthetic glories of nature, 3D technology really is in a league of its own. You are essentially experiencing the world as you would in person here, only now that world and its beauty are expanded in size and altered in time. In this way you can witness familiar natural wonders in totally new ways, coming to better understand the lives of the amazing entities we call plants and finding much joy in so doing.

This really is a fantastic and enriching (full screen!) 3D bluray. If you have the kit then it's a vital purchase, absolutely one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D)
Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D) by David Attenborough (Blu-ray - 2012)
£14.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews