Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Milton at his best!
How can I possibly comment on this classic? Ithought that, for such a reasonable prrice, the book was well produced and I enjoed re-reading a favourite from schooldays. This is a readable, imaginitive version of the biblical story of the rise and fall of Satan. Very rich poetry, painting vivd pictures.
Published 20 months ago by Margaret Weavers

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good easter story
A fresh summarry of the passion featuring satans further attempts to stitch up uz hoomans, yahda yahda yahhda yahhda ok.
Published 8 months ago by byrd5d


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Milton at his best!, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How can I possibly comment on this classic? Ithought that, for such a reasonable prrice, the book was well produced and I enjoed re-reading a favourite from schooldays. This is a readable, imaginitive version of the biblical story of the rise and fall of Satan. Very rich poetry, painting vivd pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Lost and Paradise Regained (Collins Classics) John Milton, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paradise Lost and Paradise Regained, written by John Milton, is an amazing poem that talks about the Genesis story of Adam and Eve. I highly advise buyers to buy this edition from Amazon because it is a huge classic that has such a low price! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Using the muscularity and beauty of the English language to describe the Fall of Man and his salvation, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Lost and Paradise Regained (Collins Classics) (Kindle Edition)
I hadn't dipped into Milton since school days and was again enchanted by the depth and range of language and imagery which chracterises this epic poetry. Perhaps the combinaton of his strong faith, his blindness and his daughter's devotion helped MIlton to depict the scenes of the Fall of Man and his salvation in such rich colours to achieve the pinnacle of the u se of the English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read, 31 May 2014
By 
Emmabemma (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always meant to read this and the little I have mastered so far is wonderful but it is a bit like academic study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an olde favourite!, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always wanted a copy of Milton's poems and this is a good one. Simply set out, I can browse or immerse myself at will. Service was good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but not the easiest, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book if you are a fan of 17th Century verse.

Not the easiest book to read but once you get into it you get submerged in Milton's world and the issues he tackles.

Highly recommended for anyone who thinks they can handle it, but do some research first so you know what you're letting yourself in for - it's not a 'commuting' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tip top, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Lost and Paradise Regained (Collins Classics) (Kindle Edition)
well worth reading although not for the faint hearted because its very intense so more like a reference book but makes interesting reading just have lots of patience to be read in stages as the book says its a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 18 Oct 2014
Collin's classics are exactly famous for great covers, but one shouldn't judge it by that I suppose. The book is fantastic, although weirdly narrow- but the proem style fits anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Lost and Paradise Regained (Collins Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Not read yet, it was one of the '20 books you must read'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars paradise found?, 11 Nov 2014
By 
Mrs. V. Saunders "Viz" (Chichester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good price good delivery time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews