Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SLASH - APOCALYPTIC LOVE
When Slash released his debut solo album in 2010 it featured a wide and diverse selection of artists from the like of Ozzy to Fergie, Lemmy to Adam Levine as well as spots for Nicole Scherzinger, it was an album that worked well and featured a standout track in "By The Sword" sung by Andrew Stockdale of Wolfmother. The album also featured two songs by Alter Bridge...
Published on 21 May 2012 by nin/ja77

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flashy Stuff but lacks something
Don't get me wrong this is good music,but from a Man of Slash's calibre I expect something else.
I cannot quite put my finger on what is missing,The guitar playing is spectacular as you would expect the singing is great but it just does not go together for some reason.
The songs lack identity and it seems more of a showcase for individual performances than as a...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by G. Cunningham


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SLASH - APOCALYPTIC LOVE, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Slash released his debut solo album in 2010 it featured a wide and diverse selection of artists from the like of Ozzy to Fergie, Lemmy to Adam Levine as well as spots for Nicole Scherzinger, it was an album that worked well and featured a standout track in "By The Sword" sung by Andrew Stockdale of Wolfmother. The album also featured two songs by Alter Bridge frontman Myles Kennedy who would also go on to front Slash's group for his world tour during which he would sing songs from Slash's former bands as well as tracks from the album, so every night Kennedy would be filling the shoes of Axl Rose, Scott Weiland, Andrew Stockdale, Ian Astbury and Chris Cornell it was a job that he performed admiringly as his voice handled all the different ranges. So for Slash's second album Kennedy performs all the tracks, it seems like a natural progression and a working relationship has been built up by the two men.

The album itself "Apocalyptic Love" is a rock fuelled funk filled adrenaline rush of old school rock and roll and it's clear from the outset that the album has one intention and that's to rock, it's an album full of great riffs such as the opening song the title track "Apocalyptic Love" with its funk driven riff that has Myles Kennedy using his full vocal range to drive the song on and features a great sing along chorus. "One Last Thrill" starts out with a scream in the background before Kennedy delivers the lyrics at 100 miles rate; it's a great piece of punk rock. It shows Kennedy has many different styles of vocals. It's also topped off by a trademark Slash solo. There's some great drumming and bass playing from Brent Fitz and Todd kerns on the song "Standing In The Sun", both Fitz and Kerns are part of slash's live band.

The song "Anastasia" starts out with a gentle flamenco style acoustic guitar (think end of double talkin' jive) before kicking into a "Sweet Child O' Mine" riff and changes again and features a great solo from slash as well as Kennedy going from low to high with his vocal. "Bad Rain" has a pure rock swagger about it with its pounding drums and a grooving riff. The first single "You're A Lie" is a good indication of the album with its killer chorus and sleek guitar playing, it shows how much the Slash and Myles Kennedy partnership has grown.

Just like Slash's debut solo album "Apocalyptic Love" comes as a special collector's edition packed along with a special edition of Classic Rock magazine, it contains a pin badge, poster and interviews with all band members, more importantly it comes with two bonus tracks including the Aerosmithesque "Carolina" as well as "Crazy Life".

Slash seems to have found his perfect frontman foil in Myles Kennedy and "Apocalyptic Love" is an unashamedly full blown rock album, one that owes much to Slash's 70's rock influences. It will be interesting to see where they go from here as the they continue to gel even more, Slash has stated in recent interviews that making the album was the most fun he's had in a long time and listening to the album its clear to hear the chemistry that they have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential Album for all fans of great music, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew the collaboration of Slash with Myles Kennedy would result in an incredible album (just listen to 'Back from Cali' and 'Starlight' from Slash's last CD) But the end result is so far beyond expectations.
Its EPIC.
The riffs, the huge chorus's, beautiful lyrics and that voice of Myles's serve up one hell of a listening experience.
All the incredients for the perfect album are present. The rythmn section in Brent Fitz and Todd Kerns provide the perfect backbone.
Slash's guitar genius was made for Myles's vocal beauty.

This isn't just for Slash / Alter Bridge fans, its for fans of great rock music.

Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It rocks like a slug of Jack Daniels in a Hollywood strip bar, 26 May 2012
Others have rightly been comparing and contrasting this record to the previous Slash and Friends which was, of course, an entertaining collaboration with many of Slash's heroes, all of whom brought something of themselves to the mix, and the result was a kaleidoscope of hard rock melodies and lyrical styles.

On the other hand, this one sticks to a tried and tested formula and is one axe wielding, gun toting, mean hombre of a record. It's how 21st century rock'n'roll should sound: it doesn't need any further reinventions thanks. Derivative in places? Of course. Why not? I hear Guns'n'Roses, Aerosmith and The Cult in these songs. Slash has always been the sort of artist who makes no bones about his influences, especially his personal guitar heroes. And yet, when I listen to the sheer variety of riffs on this record, there are still new twists and turns that you simply don't hear much from Slash's peers in the hard rock metal sphere.

And Myles Kennedy sounds like he means it here. His voice is punkier and it's got a snarl with attitude behind it, quite different from his Alterbridge material which often has a much more earnest and reflective post grunge vibe about it. But then hanging around with Slash on the road for three years would do that to a man.

There are very few fillers on the album, though the ballads are, in my view, probably the weakest tracks. Nonetheless, there are potential classics galore which will no doubt feature in Slash's live set for years: the title track, "One Last Thrill" (if you like Velvet Revolver's albums you'll love this), "Anastasia" (it stomps like mid 80s Aerosmith and the guitar solo is a speed trip), "We Will Roam" (probably the strongest chorus on the album), "Bad Rain" (you can tell Slash listens to AC/DC) and "Shots Fired" (a rock'n'roll metal gallop).

Classic metal release of the year so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Slash, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Imagine if Guns N' Roses had continued in its original form: this album is essentially that. Myles Kennedy is a very capable if more refined alternative to Axl Rose. It's almost impossible to avoid making reference to or comparison with Guns N' Roses album Appetite for Destruction because this seems to be such a natural successor, and for hard rock fans at least, surely praise does not come much higher than that. It may not quite have the raw 'wow' factor but it is a more developed and polished product. There is no doubt that Slash is on absolutely top form here - you only have to listen to 'Anastasia' to see that - what an amazing performance! Only time will tell if this becomes one of the great rock albums. It certainly deserves success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best thing Slash has done since leaving THAT band..., 31 Dec 2012
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apocalyptic Love (Audio CD)
I have to admit that I haven't been the biggest fan of Slash since he departed from Guns 'n' Roses. His talent is indisputable, but the vehicles for it (Slash's Snakepit, Velvet Revolver) haven't been anything other than merely above average at best. His collaborations album was hit and miss, but showed a lot of promise, so I gave this new album a go. Quite simply, I believe that Apocalyptic Love is the best thing that Slash has put his name to since departing from Guns 'n' Roses nearly two decades ago. Having a superb singer like Alter Bridge's Myles Kennedy on board is a massive bonus as Slash has someone who can really give his work the vocal power it deserves. My favourite track, by far, is Anastasia. It's a real show stopper which, even on the first preview of the album, demands your immediate attention and appreciation. Other highlights include No More Heroes, We Will Roam and Far and Away, but the sum of this album is greater than its individual parts - it's quite simply a top class, good old-fashioned rock album. Nothing more, nothing less. Enjoy it for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flashy Stuff but lacks something, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't get me wrong this is good music,but from a Man of Slash's calibre I expect something else.
I cannot quite put my finger on what is missing,The guitar playing is spectacular as you would expect the singing is great but it just does not go together for some reason.
The songs lack identity and it seems more of a showcase for individual performances than as a Masterpiece of an album that it should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong stuff, 1 Sep 2012
This review is from: Apocalyptic Love (Audio CD)
This is a very good album that finds Slash and Myles Kennedy in good form. The album screams "classic rock" with every song. The guitar playing is excellent as you would expect from Slash and Myles gives the vocals the direction that was somehow missing from Slash's last album. However, drummer and bass player deserve a mention as they seem to hold everything together like glue. Highlights for me are One Last Thrill, No More Heroes and Not For Me. Styles vary from ACDC to Nirvana but is still very much a Slash album. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Apocalyptic-ally Love this Album!!!!, 23 May 2012
By 
M. Westfallen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must agree totally with the previous reviewers, this is a Fantastic album from Slash; who I have followed since his Guns`N`Roses days. Who can forget that Awesome intro to "Sweet Child O Mine"?

Apocalyptic Love delivers a wide range of tracks from Old Skool "Proper" Rock; taking inspiration from the well known rock groups from the 80`s & 90`s, to classic Rock Love songs, such as "November Rain".

Many of the tracks have a feel that they are follow-up songs to previous tracks in Slash`s past; "Anastasia" for example has a slight feel to me of "My Michelle" and other tracks give off the same aura; which as far as I`m concerned is no bad thing.

There are also quite a few Guitar Solo sections from Slash for the "Slash" purists amonst us. Although that said, Myles Kennedy & Co do a fantastic job of adding the vocal side to Slash`s genius.

I`m glad I opted for the FanPack as it has a great magazine which features fantastic glossy pictures and in-depth interviews with Slash & Myles Kennedy, although how long before I lose the pin-badge is anyones guess.

If I have any quibbles with this album it is that on some tracks the words are very quiet and you need to re-crank the volume knob up a notch. Also when I uploaded it onto my computer there were no Track Listings & Album Info and I had to type them in myself(I know I have a hard-life!!).

Okay back to Crankin up and Rockin` with my Air Guitar!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't blow my mind, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apocalyptic Love (MP3 Download)
I'd been meaning to buy this album for a very long time as I knew there were some very good songs on.

As you'd expect, it's once again a fine example of true rock, and I personally feel that Slash's music is the closest definition to what real rock is.

My one concern with this album is that, although there are some really great tracks such as Halo, Anastasia, Apocalyptic Love, One Last Thrill and You're a Lie, I felt that the rest of the songs were just kind of a bit average, so maybe I was a tiny bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much much better than you might expect, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apocalyptic Love (Audio CD)
I wasn't really expecting much from this album but boy was I wrong! It is fantastic! Far better than any of the Velvet revolver stuff and definitely the best thing Slash has been involved in since Appetite. Really catchy tunes and riffs especially on the tracks No more heroes & Halo. Even if your no great fan of Slash this is an excellent album worthy of any rock collection, thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apocalyptic Love
Buy MP3 Album£9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews