Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Outstanding!
As a student mental health nurse I wanted to expand my knowledge about the history of Mental health. This book not only gives a personal account of life in an Asylum but the author goes a long way to explain, with great detail, the reasons and history of asylum life, medications, treatments and nurse attitudes. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in...
Published on 3 Sep 2012 by George

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book shines a light on an often forgotten part of our society.
This book cover's Stuart Townsend's career in mental health nursing. I've found it an interesting read especially the sections where he describes the change in hospital practices over the years. He makes the point that in the past the old style of nursing relied on strict routines which allowed paitents to be 'toileted', fed and washed like clock work, he stresses that...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Outstanding!, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
As a student mental health nurse I wanted to expand my knowledge about the history of Mental health. This book not only gives a personal account of life in an Asylum but the author goes a long way to explain, with great detail, the reasons and history of asylum life, medications, treatments and nurse attitudes. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in mental health (no matter how small) as it is an exciting, educating and deep account into the history of this largly misunderstood subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book shines a light on an often forgotten part of our society., 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
This book cover's Stuart Townsend's career in mental health nursing. I've found it an interesting read especially the sections where he describes the change in hospital practices over the years. He makes the point that in the past the old style of nursing relied on strict routines which allowed paitents to be 'toileted', fed and washed like clock work, he stresses that not once during his time were bedsores or the eldery being left in their own mess an issue compared with how wards are run these days. While the paitents may not have been dressed in their personal clothes they were given a high standard of care, today it could be argued that our obsession with 'individual' care has put more strain on staff and paitents alike. Also he does shine a light on the good changes that have been done within health and mental health care.
Throughout the book he introduces us to a range of paitents with differing mental health issues and he compassionately remembers them, he does not use this memoir in anyway to draw charactures of the mentally ill.
The book also covers alot about the changes in medications for mental illness and how this affected the hospitals themselves, as the medications became better the walls of the asylum came down and some patients could go and live in the community. Although his description of giving his first injection did make me more than a little queasy!
I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in why or how, in today's Britain, we have community care programmes instead of long term in-paitents, it explains alot about the inner works of modern mental health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling stuff - I wouldn't expect anything else!, 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
Excellent Stuart, as always through your training and now this book I was hooked from the start. Are you writing any more, I could be your biggest fan! The way you write conjured up the feeling that I was there, the added bonus is that I could hear your voice in my head which made it all the more real. Congratulations on an excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling insight into Asylum life, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
This book is a compelling insight into Asylum community life as seen through the eyes of the author.
You will 'meet' both patients and staff (names changed for anonymity), learn a little of their history, why they are in the Asylum and how they live. This is no documentary though and tales abound of the after-hours activities, usually centred around the Asylum social club and bar.
Tastefully written without breaching the privacy of patients, staff or the institution and written with hints of Billy Connolly'esque tales and penman ship.
If you like easy reading, medical history, general history, auto-biographies and many other genres take a look at the example pages and buy it!
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a piece of history, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
A good description of what people working for the mental health service in Britain had to face in the late seventy's and still often have to face today because some things haven't changed that much. The large hospitals might have disappeared but human nature hasn't changed that much, be it patients or the people caring for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brought back memories!, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read firstly if you have no idea what the old psychiatric hospitals were like, but if like me and you worked and lived in some, then it is a trip down memory lane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read, well written and humerous. Could totally relate to the goings on in the ward and staff club settings. Not to mention the "old assylum attendants" sensible approach to difficult situations and patients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating account and history of Mental Health Nursing, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
Interesting and sometimes sad account of mental health nursing through the last few decades.
Remember a few of the now controversial and discredited practices from my own training
Some of the characters are also familiar too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spell bound, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
I was genuinely sorry to finish this book . Stuart is a natural story teller and very compassionate nurse , in a field of nursing that needs compassion, understanding and love .
Please write about your experiences as a RMN .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars asylum bound, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asylum Bound (Kindle Edition)
compelling book very interesting and quite captivating well written and detailed would highly reccomend this especially people interested in this subject matter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asylum Bound
Asylum Bound by Stuart Townsend
£1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews