Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dickens
Rereading things first read 55-60 years ago.
Happy memories.
Understanding a whole lot more second time around.
Still an incredible writer.
Published 24 months ago by E Woolf

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Blake - what more can you say?
I love his poems but don't love carting loads of books about so this Kindle edition is fab. I don't have a fancy one with colour and pictures but would advise trying to get the illustrated version if you do. I have the book of it and it has both his illustrated manuscript versions of the poems and a typed version alongside. He was a gifted artist and the artwork really...
Published 19 months ago by Dawn Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Blake - what more can you say?, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
I love his poems but don't love carting loads of books about so this Kindle edition is fab. I don't have a fancy one with colour and pictures but would advise trying to get the illustrated version if you do. I have the book of it and it has both his illustrated manuscript versions of the poems and a typed version alongside. He was a gifted artist and the artwork really does make a difference to how you read the poems.

This version's fine but get the illustrated if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dickens, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
Rereading things first read 55-60 years ago.
Happy memories.
Understanding a whole lot more second time around.
Still an incredible writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poems of William Blake, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
I bought this title for reading on my Kindle, having read the poems else-
where many years ago. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
Very refreshing to read such great writings, if you are looking for the perfect book to read while sitting in the sun by a flowing river, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy, simple poetry, 3 Aug. 2013
By 
Matthew Turner "loyalroyal" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
A great free download and selection of William Blake's poetry. Blake writes in a simple, straight from the heart manner. I hated poetry at school but, having a few of Blake's and Keats' works recently, I have come to appreciate these beautiful works. Blake is ideal for a poetry novice like me - not too complicated or use of difficult language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And did those feet in ancient time, in measured beat both scan and rhyme, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
William Blake is perhaps best remembered for the hymn "Jerusalem" - although strictly speaking it's not a hymn. This must make him arguably the most quoted poet England has ever produced in the sense that millions sing it every year on all sorts of diverse occasions from rugby matches to royal weddings. However he did write many other things (as well as being a highly original painter). This collection of his poems, which is free on kindle, is an excellent sample of his work. It does not contain Auguries of Innocence however which in my opinion contains some of his finest lines. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Think you have to love him, 23 Feb. 2015
By 
TH (Chichester, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
I'm not a huge Blake fan, but needed this for my university course. I think a lot is explained when you find out that Blake was a synaesthete (his senses were mixed up - you can feel days, or taste names that sort of thing).
I was particularly struck by finding out that he wanted each of his books to be a handmade work of art, so did the engraving and colouring himself (not that there is any in this version) - very child-like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
really lovely book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a freebie!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this ebook for my English degree course because we were studying Blake. This had all the poems I needed and more. I actually quite like Blake as a poet and so you can't really complain seen as though it was a free download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poems of William Blake (Kindle Edition)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poems of William Blake
Poems of William Blake by William Blake
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews