Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars16
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2015
Considering the date of writing and now reading this story in 2015 it is spookily accurate, such as the telephote (television) , a system that sounds like the internet and calculators. Contrasted with things that have not happened such as the highly processed food and advertising in the sky/clouds and then things that are quite funny that the average age of a man is increased to 52 and there is still no. cure for nasal catarrh. The only down side is that it does not read like a Jules Verne but it might have been an off day. It is a brilliant story however with lots more than I mention here. Proper science fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
An interesting concept of a day in the life of a particular media biased individual. Considering how long ago this story was written it's a surprisingly good effort at predicting what technology may have developed into, although some aspects we have already achieved and gone beyond.
This short story whilst probably not being one of Jules's better efforts is still an interesting read.....well worth the half day I spent reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
This short story starts with a note as to this initially being credited to Jules Verne only later believed to be by his son Michel. Whomever wrote it the story is classic Verne (Jules or Michel) and offers a look at the far future from a point in our own history. I found it immensely interesting and a fascinating read. Only wished it had continued longer. For free you can't really go wrong, recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
I was dissapointed with this book. It is a very short book, purporting to be a day in the life of a newspaper Baron in the year 2889.
Although it tries to predict the technology that will be around then, it fails to have the convincing flow that one expects from a Jules Verne novel. It should be consigned to the scrapheap of history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
This is a fascinating glimpse into what Jules Verne thought the future would be like. I think it shows that extrapolating from the present was difficult even then, no wonder that many sci fi writers today go for the far future. I think that it is well worth reading for curiosity's sake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
A very unusual book, but one that duplicates some of the things which are happening in the current years were country's want country's and people want to get to the moon. THE only downside is that there is no real story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
I was curious about this book so took advantage of free SF Kindle offer. It was OK. Not great science fiction and not bad either. I am pleased that I read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
As Verne goes, tedious. His other works are far better. I am struggling for ten more words - if you benjoy Verne, worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
I normally like the work of Jules Verne. However, I found this was far too waffly and I couldn't continue with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
had been printed wrongly - large gap at the bottom and several lines of text missing from the top so unreadable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)