Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story for children of all ages
Just because a book is identified as being suitable for children, it doesn't meaning that it can't be read by adults. I loved this book as a young girl, and have enjoyed it just as much as a more mature mum and grandma! Give it a try, you won't be sorry.
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by Avid reader

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed .....
Children of the New Forest was a childhood favourite and a must for kindle. However I have found it really hard going as it is very disjointed in places, with punctuation missing or badly interpreted. Sentences are broken up over two or sometimes three lines making the reading quite difficult. Doesn't flow and a disgrace to a lovely children's classic.
Published 19 months ago by Jazz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story for children of all ages, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Avid reader "Janet" (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just because a book is identified as being suitable for children, it doesn't meaning that it can't be read by adults. I loved this book as a young girl, and have enjoyed it just as much as a more mature mum and grandma! Give it a try, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I give the book 5 stars but........, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of the New Forest (Kindle Edition)
whoever changed it to digital format should be sent back to school! It took me ages to read as there were so many typo's, formatting issues and my greatest bug bear of all time,
American spelling!

Anyway, apart from that rant, this book is really exciting. It revolves around the orphaned children of a Cavalier during the British Civil War who are taken in by an old retainer under the guise of being his grandchildren.

I wish I had owned this book as a child as I would have loved it and I know that my friends and myself would have played 'pretend' with it.

The way the author describes the way old Jacob teaches Edward and Humphrey to stalk deer and other woodsmans tasks is beautifully detailed as is the subterfuge when they are older and Jacob has died. Edward yearns to join the 'King in Waiting' King Charles II and eventually does but they are routed during a battle and the King leaves the field. Edward returns home to the cottage in the woods and takes up his job as secretary to the Intendant once more. The Intendant finally finds out who the children are and buys their burnt out house for him but not before Edward has gone overseas. So he leaves Patience, the Intendants daughter heartbroken after being unkind to her.

Apart from the myriad of typo's this was a heartwarming book and I really hope Amazon can get it sorted out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless classic, 12 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this when I was ...oh about 8 or 9 ?? I remember getting gripped by it and thought I would have a go again on my trusty Kindle.
It was just a good now as it was then, a timeless classic of a tale, well worth a read in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed ....., 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of the New Forest (Kindle Edition)
Children of the New Forest was a childhood favourite and a must for kindle. However I have found it really hard going as it is very disjointed in places, with punctuation missing or badly interpreted. Sentences are broken up over two or sometimes three lines making the reading quite difficult. Doesn't flow and a disgrace to a lovely children's classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of the New Forest (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book full of twists I would rate it 10/10 and I would recommend this book to lots of other people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic tale, 8 Feb 2013
By 
E. sinclair-house (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of the New Forest (Kindle Edition)
an enduring tale of survival and self help, as relevant today as when it was written. It offers an insight into the acceptance of class and sexual inequality which we would question today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 30 Dec 2011
By 
Amanda Hall (Co. Durham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book as a child. This time around found the writing style a little 'old fashioned' (of course it is) . Despite thi, soon got into the stry again and enjoyed it just as much as I did when I was reading it for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 1 Nov 2011
What a wonderful book. Surely a film score in waiting. The niaive style of writing makes the book a joy to read, up there with George Henty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 24 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read about the children of a cavalier who fell in a civil war battle left in the care of an old family retainer and their relationship with a roundhead officer and his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story of 4 young siblings from a noble Cavalier ..., 13 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs.Simone Burrows (Winsford, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children of the New Forest (Kindle Edition)
A children's book that needs to be re-classified and adopted by all ages. A wonderful story of 4 young siblings from a noble Cavalier family, saved from their burning home by a faithful former retainer and growing up under his tutelage as children of the New Forest. The skills they learn set them on a path of recovering their inheritance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Children of the New Forest
The Children of the New Forest by Frederick Marryat
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews