Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2015
I wanted to get my head around some quality literature ahead of the British Election, and this didn't disappoint. Although the language is of the time, and taking in to account there have probably been some changes in our constitution since Bagehot penned this, I found it has already lowered my ignorance of how our finely balanced mesh of powers influence, govern and reign over us to make Britain the place it is today.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
A classic masterwork on the strengths of the British (otherwise "English") constitution, it is still relevant today, because although a week is a long time in politics, a century is a short time in history. Alternative constitutions come in for criticism, notably the American and other presidential-style governments are revealed in all their weaknesses. For any one who has not read it, a delight is in store.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
This is but the latest addition to the extensive free range of classic texts available in the Kindle bookstore. It has an important place in the narratives of constitutional history, having to its credit the emphasis on distinguishing between what Bagehot refers to as the dignified and the efficient, and the scholar and former Labour MP Richard Crossman said was the appearance and the reality. Of course, while £80 million was wasted turning the judicial committee of the House of Lords into an unelected, unrepresentative and unaccountable Supreme Court to remedy a harmless breach of the separation of powers, Bagehot still serves as the excuse for the most egregious breach of that doctrine, the presence of the executive in the legislature. He thought that was efficient; we see today that it simply facilitates the domination of Parliament by Ministers. So, still topical and still worth a read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Wonderful explanation of the constitution And British values which are still relevant in the 21st centiuru
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
One can see the parellels with what has gone on in the past, with the current government. It puts right misconceptions about upper and lower houses. Allembers of the current parliament shoul be mae to read it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Useful and interesting but as the constitution may be said to evolve by precedent, and this being published as it was in the 1860s, one would need further reading to get the full picture.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
heavy going
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)