Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book with some great moments
I have to admit that I saw the BBC mini-series before reading the book, I know, shame on me for not reading more, but the thing is that I decided to read it to check how good was the adaptation and found in the first place a good book to read, nice characters, some great literary moments and interesting use of dialogue, slang, northern accent that makes it an amazing...
Published on 31 Mar 2007 by AGDA

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book; but a very poor edition - full of errors
The story is excellent; a really enjoyable read and I would recommend it to Jane Austen fans, though it is set in the Victorian era. A cosseted country parson's daughter finds herself in a northern industrial town where the blunt speech and local customs are unfamiliar to her; and she decides to learn to understand and help her poorer neighbours, which sets her at odds...
Published on 23 July 2011 by Rearda


‹ Previous | 117 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse into a different era but too long, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North and South (Kindle Edition)
Very good for understanding social history but very tedious love story.More like a debate on social issues than a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars North and South by Gaskell, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North and South (Kindle Edition)
I haven't finished yet, but am absolutely absorbed... what a picture of the times. I'd give it more stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NORTH & SOUTH, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North and South (Kindle Edition)
After seeing the adaptation on tv the book was even better and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a period drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North and South (Kindle Edition)
Nice old fashioned romance with a strong female lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North and South (Kindle Edition)
Had to read this for uni. No idea why it's considered such a classic. The women are so pathetic it's impossible to read without gritting your teeth and the plot is slower than a dead snail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars north and south, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North and South (Kindle Edition)
this was not what I expected at all. I thought it was about America in days gone by that was once a series on tv- I was therefore disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent enough book, a bit heavy on the worker vs. master struggle of the time, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North and South (Kindle Edition)
in terms of content its an ok book.
there might be something wrong with it as a document though, my kindle threw up all kinds of issues while I was trying to read it and is now completley dead...and i didnt get to finish reading the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North and South (Kindle Edition)
I am looking forward to reading this book
I have high hopes it will be a good read like others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 Aug 2010
I have watched the film first and I liked it very much, so I decided to read a book. And I am not disappointed.

Very well written and great to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars north and south, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North and South (Kindle Edition)
A great book to read about a country torn in two and that special friendship between two friends. a great performance form the last patrick swazie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

North and South
North and South by Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews