Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
Marcus Aurelius was a follower of Stoicism who wrote down his own interpretation in his meditations which are as relevant today as they must have been when they were written.
It is hard sometimes to recall that his 'Meditations' were written over two thousand years ago yet he speaks in a voice totally pertinent to today.His life was hard and he had his share of...
Published 13 months ago by Girl Archer

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I needed to see what Marcus Aurelius was all about
This was quite hard going for someone as un educated as me. There were some great nuggets in here, but I suspect, if like me, you wanted to get a taste of this obviously great and insightful man, there must be a better way. I'm not trying to put anyone off reading this - the fault lies with me the reader and not the text. If your are better equipped than me, then go for...
Published 8 months ago by Kevin UK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
Marcus Aurelius was a follower of Stoicism who wrote down his own interpretation in his meditations which are as relevant today as they must have been when they were written.
It is hard sometimes to recall that his 'Meditations' were written over two thousand years ago yet he speaks in a voice totally pertinent to today.His life was hard and he had his share of suffering but he tells us in so many words just to 'get on with it'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I needed something inspiring and hopeful, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
At the same time as reading the meditations I also read Frankl's "Man's search for meaning" hoping to find inspiration in both books. But to my own surprise I did take much more from the meditations that have been written about 2000 years ago than from Frankl's reiteration of his and other people's holocaust survival. Somehow Marc Aurel has managed to come to many conclusions that are extremely applicable to our "modern" day and age. His meditations show his mindset to be that of a very peaceful and intelligent man, whom I would have been very glad to know. I don't shy away of saying that he is a perfect role model of what I once hope to be: someone who has come to terms with life, death and the inexplicability of his universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marcus Aurelius, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Chris Branch (Newbury Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
A most unusual combination a Spiritual Warrior.
•"Adapt yourself to the things among which your lot has been cast and love sincerely the fellow creatures with whom destiny has ordained that you shall live."
- Marcus Aurelius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stoicism - a valuable guide for our volatile times., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
A short and thought-provoking book that places little strain on the Kindle's batteries, while enlightening us all on how to stay strong in the face of constant change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
Just an excellent book. I had the hard back edition a few years ago but wanted a copy for my Kindle. Set some time aside to read this, but it is really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try a meditation per day!, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
The Meditations are well worth looking at, one each day. They are short and vary in their force, but a hard-hitting one stands out against its seemingly less significant neighbours.
Yes, I'm happier when reading the translation by Maxwell Staniforth in my beautifully bound Folio edition of 2002.
But the Kindle version has some clear advantages. It can sit in my pocket when I'm travelling and can be accessed alongside other downloaded classics from Kindle. And this version cost me nothing, (once I'd got my Kindle notebook).
This particular translation has many C19th style phrases as XXXIX in Book IV 'let it be thy perpetual meditation how many physicians...are dead and gone themselves...thus must thou consider how man's life is but for a very moment of time and so depart meek and contented: even as a ripe olive falling should praise the ground that bare her, and give thanks to the tree that begat her.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I needed to see what Marcus Aurelius was all about, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
This was quite hard going for someone as un educated as me. There were some great nuggets in here, but I suspect, if like me, you wanted to get a taste of this obviously great and insightful man, there must be a better way. I'm not trying to put anyone off reading this - the fault lies with me the reader and not the text. If your are better equipped than me, then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless wisdom, 20 July 2013
By 
Seeker "Seeker" (Thames Ditton, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
This is such a treasure, written by a Roman Emperor who served most of his career on the front line and was a Stoic.
Such humility and intensly deep observations.
We can all learn from this on a daily basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
The philosophical ideas are food for thought and provide a springboard to modify ones own approach to life.

It's interesting to ponder how a Marcus Aurelius Prime Minister would benefit the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meditations (Kindle Edition)
Good for your own inspirational journey to remain positive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meditations
Meditations by Marcus Aurelius
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews