Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Worth getting if you are a sherlock holmes fan and want to read all the old stories by Arthur Conan Doyle.
Published 8 months ago by Fum

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars HLB the story, not HLB the collection
This rating is not for the content of the book, which as a Doyle fan I rate highly, but for the fact that it is falsly described as 'His Last Bow' the collection consisting of seven short stories, whereas it is actually just the individual story titled His Last Bow. This would not be a problem except the description says it lasts 198 pages. This is clearly misleading...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars HLB the story, not HLB the collection, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
This rating is not for the content of the book, which as a Doyle fan I rate highly, but for the fact that it is falsly described as 'His Last Bow' the collection consisting of seven short stories, whereas it is actually just the individual story titled His Last Bow. This would not be a problem except the description says it lasts 198 pages. This is clearly misleading. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but lacking, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Although well written (yet short) with all the quality you would expect from Conan Doyle it doesn't feel like Sherlock Holmes.

There is no detective work or genius it almost feels like the last scene of a larger book, like I've skipped to the end.

Can't argue at the price though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Worth getting if you are a sherlock holmes fan and want to read all the old stories by Arthur Conan Doyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Arthur Conan Doyle - His Last Bow | Review, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Here, we have a collection of eight classic short stories featuring the world-renowned investigator Sherlock Holmes and his faithful chronicler, Dr. John Watson M.D. I'm quite the fan of Sir Arthur's short stories, because each one is as good as a novel and they're the perfect length to read on the bus, in the bath or before going to bed.

Here, you'll discover severed human ears, strange diseases and even Holmes' brother Mycroft, a man who possesses the same unique mental talents but who has a completely different personality. Mycroft is many Holmes fans' favourite character, and with good reason - he's also not featured in much of Conan Doyle's work, so you should leap at the chance to meet him while you can. It's said of Mycroft that "all other men are specialists, but his specialism is omniscience".

While this is one of Conan Doyle's later Holmes books, the beauty of it is that you can read in any order and still enjoy the series. This short story collection is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Sherlock!, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I can't believe I'm nearing the end of Sherlock's adventures. I'm not quite sure what I'm going to read afterwards that will match this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book. If only modern books were as well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good bye to a past world, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Short classic SH bringing his time line to a close
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 2 Dec 2014
By 
CharlieB "Charlimoo" (Toronto, CA/Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
As amazing as all the Sherlock books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Get It., 15 April 2014
By 
Mr. Gfm Abrahams (Chatham KENT UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I have all the original recorded programs on VHS. Tidied up and on DVD this looks great, and brings wonderful memories. THIS DVD IS A DELIGHT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back for more, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Not for me but purchased as my wife loves anything Sherlock and I'm sure she would rate it very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

His Last Bow (Sherlock Holmes series Book 8)
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews