Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars85
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2013
It has been useful to me as a reference medium and told me about places that I already knew in greater depth. My one disappointment was the absence of street and area maps, showing their changes over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
An interesting history giving facts I didn't know. Also an interesting insight into the thoughts of people at the end of the 19th Century - the book is written in 1896. The illustrations however do not appear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Not easy to read - it's not recently written and the style of writing is a little antiquated but the detail is excellent and it throws up some fascinating facts about the way people lived in the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
As a Londoner I am always interested in the history of the place and this book seems well researched and easy to read. I am still reading and find this a good occasional dip in read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
London has a large great history about it . This book gives a concise history over time without going into great detail and so one can chose areas to go and investigate further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Interesting read enjoyed it.
short but very interesting.
love London history engaging facts.
wish there was more books on London history like this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
very interesting. Having grown up in the East End of London it was nice to know the history of places I remember. Great book for anyone of like childhood. five stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
A good informative book. I learned alot about the history and development of London that I didn't know. A good book for anyone interested in our capital city.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
The book and the index fefer to maps and illustrations.
Where are they? Not in the download copy
If anyone has a copy of them I would like to see them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Excellently written book that gives a lot of information especially about the early history. The later history seemed to have been rushed to finish the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)