Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Special and General theories of Relativity in a concise nutshell
The booklet was written by an eminent scientist in 1920, using the style of language of that era, with some long sentences that science writers of the time were prone to use. Conveniently, some words used, e.g. "perihelion" can be looked up in the dictionary that is free with the Kindle.
It was written only a year after the first experimental confirmation of...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by Neil from Poole

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent introduction
I downloaded this for free, intending to educate myself a little further and perhaps learn some history about Einstein the man at the same time. It is a decent introduction to the man and the theory, although it was written nearly a hundred years ago and the language can prove to be something of a barrier. I had to look several scientific AND non-scientific words up in...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by kindler


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Special and General theories of Relativity in a concise nutshell, 4 Aug 2011
The booklet was written by an eminent scientist in 1920, using the style of language of that era, with some long sentences that science writers of the time were prone to use. Conveniently, some words used, e.g. "perihelion" can be looked up in the dictionary that is free with the Kindle.
It was written only a year after the first experimental confirmation of Einstein's theories of relativity and so when Lorentz wrote "If his theory is correct as it stands, there ought, in a gravitational field, to be a displacement of the lines of the spectrum towards the red. No such effect has been discovered" he should probably have added the word "yet". In the more than 90 years since the book was published, this movement of the spectral lines due to gravity has been confirmed.
The book introduces you to Einstein himself and some of the scientific questions of his time, Einstein's radically different approach to them, a summary of the predicted effects of relativity and then some of the experiments that had been performed to confirm them. Non-mathematicians can rest assured there is not a single equation in the book.
Those familiar with accurately plotting a position will be familiar with degrees (°), minutes (') and seconds (") of arc where 1 second of arc is one 3,600th of a degree and thus a VERY small angle. Seconds of arc are referred to several times, but one typo uses ' instead of ". However, it is obvious from the context that Lorentz meant these very tiny angles called seconds rather than minutes of arc. I don't feel this detracts from the book at all.
I read the book at a single sitting and since it now 8:30 p.m. and I haven't yet had dinner, in my opinion it makes a good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, 28 Dec 2010
By 
J. Cooper (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've ever wondered what Einstein's Theory of Relativity is all about, but have been unprepared to delve into wordy, in-depth, specialised tomes; then I would certainly recommend this short introduction prepared by `H.A. Lorentz'.

The science has been reduced to its bare bones and whilst certainly incisive and technical in its approach, is fairly accessible to the novice. Intellectually stimulating, this is a fascinating subject area which unites physics, gravity and the properties of light.

Einstein was a genius who worked on some of the most complex scientific problems of his age. This introduction is an excellent way to familiarise yourself with one of his crowning achievements without drowning in a sea of incomprehensible science!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent introduction, 5 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded this for free, intending to educate myself a little further and perhaps learn some history about Einstein the man at the same time. It is a decent introduction to the man and the theory, although it was written nearly a hundred years ago and the language can prove to be something of a barrier. I had to look several scientific AND non-scientific words up in the Kindle dictionary! It is quite wordy and there is an excessive amount of opinion in the narrative (a page may have 2 or 3 actual bits of information and the rest is phrasing and opinion). The subject matter itself is fairly easy to understand to an interested amateur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I need to read this again... and again..., 23 Oct 2010
It's been a good few years since I've read something that's taxed me. Stephen Hawking's book did the same to me. I downloaded this as it was free and I was trying out my new Kindle 3. However, I will read this again and again until I understand. One cannot quibble that this was one of the most defining moments in history (or physics).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars heavy going, 2 Jan 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not sure what I was going to get with this, but I thought it would perhaps be a little simpler to follow. It was a just a bit too heavy for a complete layman. I guess I should have realised that I can't pick up in one book what took years of education and research to come up with. I was looking to gain an understanding of what this was all about.

You have nothing to lose by ordering this at the current price of free of charge, so I would still recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 11 Dec 2012
By 
the walking man (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Einstein Theory of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book that covers the Einstein's relativity theory. It explains the theory in a 'relatively' simple way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 4 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This short book is very much a thumbnail sketch of The Theory of Relativity but still very interesting, nonetheless. It suffers from the rather verbose use of overlong sentences. This makes it a little difficult to follow in places as does the author's 'flowery' style of language. Still worth reading as it is very short so won't take long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great contemporary account of relativity, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting article/book written early 20th century about relativity, different from how we today perceive it but the core is the same. Interesting how the ether still was so strongly held to and now just an echo, just like science should be. Worth reading if interested in Einsteins relativity theory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Einstein Theory of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
Amazing, we need more books like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Einstein, 12 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Einstein Theory of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
I have been fascinated by science and physics for my whole life. I have enjoyed reading this book. Excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Einstein Theory of Relativity
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews