Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Stories of an Antiquarian Part 2
I found this collection even better than part one. Although I had read a few of the stories most were new to me. Barchester Pews was one of the favorites it was very detailed the characters were believable and the storylines could have happened to anyone. They were not scary or creepy but just an enjoyable read.
Published on 30 Jun 2012 by G. Burlinson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable
Another set of enthralling stories that leave you guessing. I wouldn't say they were frightening; more intriguing than anything else. A little clunky in places and hard going but not to the detriment of the overall aesthetic. Oh and be ready to brush up on your Latin from time to time!
Published 18 months ago by C. S. Bancroft


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Stories of an Antiquity part 2, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories (Kindle Edition)
Similar to part 1 it is interesting what the 19th and early 20th century people were interested in ghosts and legends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of ghost stories, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories (Kindle Edition)
Having seen several screen adaptations of M R James on television, I always wanted to read the stories myself and this free volume provided the perfect opportunity. They are all very good with some of them genuinely chilling. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was my choice and it is well made - Delivered before the expected date - and well packaged - Nothing else I can say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scary Stories, 7 Jan 2014
By 
G. Worsfold "whitecat" (East Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories (Kindle Edition)
Classic ghost stories, just right for a dark winter's night! Very handy for your Kindle. If you are a ghost story fan don't hesitate, you will love these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best ghost stories ever, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories (Kindle Edition)
A re-read of these stories still gets you looking over your shoulder. MR James must be the best writer of ghost stories. Don't read last thing at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More excellent stories, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories (Kindle Edition)
This is just as good as the Part 1 book, with the recently televised Tractate Middoth included. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories. M.R. (Montague Rhodes) James, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories (Kindle Edition)
These tales, by a true master of suspense, are gripping stuff and real page-turners from beginning to end.
In my opinion, M.R. James is Britains answer to Edgar Alan Poe, and rightly deserves all credit for these finely crafted ghost stories. I'm delighted to add them to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who wouldn't be delighted to find the public domain list of FREE classic literature. This is fantastic. All the titles I've always wanted to read and for free - this is my kind of kindle heaven. I love the way they arrive on your kindle, they're so quick, it's like magic. Thank you public domain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories (Kindle Edition)
The best ghost stories that I've ever read. Perfect in length and interesting to read the older style English. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2 More Ghost Stories M.R James, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant started to read it as soon as it arrived on my kindle. Short stories can be so useful and these are spooky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Stories of an Antiquary Part 2: More Ghost Stories
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews